We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little place for a break”

Review of Bumble Bee Barn

Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden
Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Kitchen with belfast sink and washing machine
Fabulous View from Bumble Bee Patio
Kitchen showing Alpha Cooker/Boiler
Kitchen showing entrance to Sitting/Dining Room
Dining Area
Garden and Pond View
King Post Truss in Sitting/Dining Room
Double Bedroom with touch on bedside lamps
Free-range chickens - lovely eggs for you!
Bumble Bee Barn from lower garden
West wall with name plate
Nearby Chatsworth House
Garden and pond
Yucca flowering in the garden
Bumble Bee from garden
Fireplace
Bumble Bee Barn Sitting/Dining Room
Freddy & Ginger at the bottom of the garden
Bumble Bee from the courtyard
Part of the lush garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
samidesig...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for a break”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely weekend staying at Bumble Bee Barn, secluded, spacious and well equipped. The huge bed was super comfy and excellent shower. Loved the old style cooker in the kitchen.

Peak District was a beautiful area to explore and we wish we had booked a few more days as there is so much to see!

Only little problem we had was running out of toilet roll, maybe placing a spare in the bathroom cabinet would be useful as we didn't want to disturb you.

Thanks very much,
Sami and Ollie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and lovely area. The bathroom cupboard is now kept well stocked with loo roll!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam68481...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a really lovely weekend stay here, the cottage was in such a great location and beautifully presented , would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you very much Laura. Just sorry I didn't meet you as I was away myself this weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nienkehol...
Haren, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holidays in beautiful garden'”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful stay in beautiful, well- equipped cottage. The views were even more beautiful than the pictures. Two weeks was not enough to see the beautiful surroundings - location was fascinating, we would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The location and the garden.
Liked least: Wifi access was not great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithbrad...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a lovely place”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A lovely place to stay, I love gardening and it was lovely to stroll around in the evening and morning, we have now come home with ideas and our pond is already under way, I could live there quite easily. I went there feeling stressed and came away feeling very laid back, we will be staying again, thank you Cherry,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and glad it inspired you. Would love to hear about your new pond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariley200...
Warwickshire, U.K
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cosy home from home”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We recently returned from our stay at Bumble Bee Barn which we stayed at for 18 days. The cottage is spacious and cosy and is a well equipped home from home. As we were working at the nearby Chatsworth Xmas market it was nice to come in and be able to have home cooked food in relaxing surroundings. Cherry the owner is very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The barn is situated on a tiny lane and although parking a car is not a problem we had a large long wheel base van and this proved to be very tricky as the access is through two gates and reversing the van when we arrived back in the dark was rather challenging.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidaypi...
london
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secluded and Delightful”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Barn.We were fairly lucky with the weather which meant we could sit outside and look over the lovely flowered garden onto the adjoining field.There 2 Geese and chickens wandered in freedom and was nice seeing Cherry feeding and looking after them in the evenings.Eggs were available at a small cost and pretty tasty for our breakfast and finding Chatsworth Farm shop not too far off we had some delightful breakfasts.
Cherry kept the outside bird feeder pretty well supplied and we occasionally added to this so we could watch the Blue tits ,Robins and some other wild birds happy feeding away just outside the French doors.I found a spot just outside the side door to padlock my 2 bikes to the shed threading through the handle so a pretty secure place out of sight.
Though the hill is pretty steep I managed to get out directly from the Barn on the road bike and there are some delightful villages to visit locally.
The place is quite small and the bathroom a tad on the tiny size - the wifi is a bit Naff. so don't expect fast downloads or good reception but other than those few niggles we really enjoyed this lovely little hide away and hope to be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet seclusion though some slight electrical noise outside but when inside it was almost silent
Liked least: wifi and small bathroom - double bed against wall made it hard to get out without disturbing your partner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweepSout...
south yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful bumble bee barn”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a lovely relaxing 2 night break in Sept, a treat for our anniversary. The barn was just what we required, a place to relax and recharge our batteries. Kitchen was very well equipped with a stove that was so easy to cook on.
The lounge was very comfortable with a georgous stone fireplace.Bathroom was lovely and luxurious with quality fittings. The pretty bedroom was the best place to access the WiFi.
Best of all was admiring the beautiful garden / valley view whilst watching the abundant bird life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing