We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top Class accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ANTHONY G
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Class accomodation”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This property is in a great location being in a small village with 3 great pubs(we ate at the Farmyard Inn which was top class). There are numerous places to visit nearby, we loved visiting Eyam, Bolsover Castle and Hardwick Hall as well as visiting the Food Festival in Bakewell. The surrounding countryside is stunning, this is the first time we have visited the Peak District and were knocked over by how beautiful it is. The property is very comfortable, the owners have put a lot of thought into making their guests feel at home, it has everything a couple would need. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peace & Quiet, location.
Liked least: The shower was a bit of a damp squib
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that your first visit to the Peak District National Park was one that left you wanting more. It's a great place to live and has so much to offer our guests. You obviously enjoyed the National Trust properties within the area, which really are 'Top Draw' properties. We were glad to hear that you managed to see the Food Festival in Bakewell.
The Barn @ The Old Bakery has been furnished to ensure our guests have a relaxed 'home from home experience' and leave refreshed. We hope to see you again, when you continue your exploration of the Peak Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thejacks0...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering cottage in great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights from Easter Sunday in this delightful self-catering cottage in the pretty village of Youlgreave. The cottage is really well equipped and is cosy and warm. Plenty of hot water, comfy bed and great view of the stars at night as an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery comfortable, warm and to your liking.
We have tried to ensure that our guests are made welcome and feel 'at home' in the accommodation.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dottom21
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely stay in a delightful little cottage”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the Barn in the last week of March and had a lovely time in this delightful little cottage which was well equipped with all amenities,exceptionally clean and furnished to a high standard. The village of Youlgrave is interesting and there are many walks in the area which are available from the doorstep and highlighted in a book of walks along with an Ordinance Survey map at the cottage. There are also lots of places to visit nearby including Bakewell,Chatsworth House and Matlock to name a few and the proprietors are good with details of things to see and do in the area. There is an excellent Butcher/Baker in the village and three good pubs that all serve food The only issue for us was that there was nowhere to get daily papers as the Post Office orders them on a weekly basis!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery. We have tried to ensure that our guests expectations are met, if not exceeded. As you point out the accommodation offers walking from the door into the beautiful Peak District National Park.
The village of Youlgrave offers all the amenities our guests require, 3 pubs serving home cooked food, Our Village Butcher famed for his pies as well as a great range of provisions. The Post Office, acts as a general store and Newsagent.
We hope to see you again, in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwgogirl
lincs
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great location.”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in the self catering "Barn at the Old Bakery". Well equipped and comfortable the accommodation is in a good central location in Youlgreave. The hosts Ken and Carol send out a very comprehensive confirmation email detailing all that is provided for you including tea,coffee, biscuits and a bottle of wine on arrival as well as info re the local area. One of the best weve stayed in. We would recommend and would return. Cannot fault at all.

Would also recommend The Farmyard Inn in Youlgeave for their meals and ambience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Barn @ The Old Bakery, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to hear and read, that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyd003
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfinished business - in the bag!”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our second visit to The Barn at the Old Bakery was just as lovely as the first time. Nice to see the standards are still high. Everything you need for a home-from-home stay. Ken and Carole are lovely hosts and happy to leave you to it or advise on local amenities/walks etc., really nice people. They provide everything you need, from iron/ironing board, hairdryer, washing up stuff, towels, shower gel, loo roll etc. tea, coffee, milk and a welcoming bottle of wine (thank you!), even some books on local walks and an OS map. There are plenty of books and DVDs if you chose to just veg out in the evenings too.
There are 3 pubs in the village but the best is the Farmyard Inn for atmosphere and food, be sure to book a table though. It's only a couple of minutes walk from The Barn (turn righ out of the driveway and follow the main road). The locals are very friendly and they don't mind you going in in your walking gear (as long as your boots aren't too muddy).
I'm glad we found The Barn and would definitely stay here again if we visit Youlgreave. I wish it was my place!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your second stay at The Barn @ The Old Bakery, it is much appreciated. Firstly we thank you for leaving our property in a clean and tidy state, it was a pleasure to have you staying again. We have tried, in developing the property, to imagine what we would like or need as guests staying there, so we are pleased to read that we are meeting expectations of our guests.
We are pleased to read that you continued to explore further the area on foot, from the door. The Barn @ The Old Bakery is a great place to use as a base to venture into the White Peak area of the Peak District Bational Park.
We are blessed with two shops and three pubs within the village all offering something for our guests, within a few minutes walk of the property.
We hope that you will return, in the future to explore further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The accommodation is well well equipped with everything you could possibly need! It was also spotlessly clean and in a brilliant location for walking and visiting sites, like Bakewell, Matlock and Eyam. I would highly recommend and would without a doubt visit again! Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that the accommodation lived up to your requirements. We have tried to ensure that The Barn @ The Old Bakery provides a 'home from home' experience for our guests. As you rightly point out the property provides an ideal base to explore the local towns, yet equally provides a great base to walk from the door of the property into the wonderful Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect! Clean, cosy, comfortable and a great location for walking.”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely fantastic week staying at the The Barn @ The Old Bakery. The flat was so nice and cosy, spotlessly clean and in a lovely location for some great walks. Ken and Carol were greats hosts, very helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic time exploring the beautiful Peak District and definitely want to come back and explore some more! The Barn is in a great location for walks straight out the door, and close to Bakewell to get your fix of tasty tarts!

Would recommend to anyone - could not have asked for more from a holiday apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that The Barn @ The Old Bakery exceeded your expectations. This makes us feel proud, as this is what we aim for.
Walking from the door of The Barn @ The Old Bakery, offers a wealth of possibilities to explore the beautiful Derbyshire Dales Countryside of the Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing