We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for excellent holiday in Peak...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
M S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for excellent holiday in Peak District”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very comfortable, well equipped, and great location for walking, touring, visiting nearby Chatsworth, or just chilling out. Nearby owners ensure guests are welcome. Delightful place for either a short break or longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you enjoyed The Barn @ The Old Bakery, and the facilities we offer. Equally we are pleased to read that you were able to appreciate that our property offers an excellent base to explore the delights of The Peak District National Park, whether it be walking or visiting Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall or the numerous National Trust Properties. We hope to see you, and perhaps the rest of your family, again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loobyloo1...
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the lovely Peak District”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just got back from a wonderful 3 night stay in the Barn. It really is a perfect place to relax and unwind. We both loved the accommodation which really has been converted with great care and taste.
This is a perfect base to explore the wonderful Peaks. We never tire of visiting this area and being based at the Barn has allowed us to explore even further into the High Peak area.
Ken and Carole are both very friendly hosts and even though they live in the house opposite they certainly leave you alone unless you need their help or advice. Really nice thoughtful touches too with the lovely welcome pack (including a bottle of Chardonnay).
We have enjoyed our latest visit to the Peak District so much this time that we have been talking seriously about making plans to move up there in a few years - that's how much we love it.
We would HIGHLY recommend a stay at the Barn. You really would be hard pushed to find anything better. We will most definitely be back!!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The excellent quality of the accommodation and the location.
Liked least: A bit of a funny thing to say but the bed is really creaky. A tiny negative though when compared to everything else the Barn has to offer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review, it really is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that The Barn @ The Old Bakery, met with your high standards. And, that you were able to walk from the door to explore the beautiful Peak District National Park White Peak. Equally, as you write, The Barn @ The Old Bakery offers a base to "nip up into" the Dark Peak to explore some "bigger hills".
We are really pleased to here that you have been so impressed by the area, which is fantastic, that you feel you now want to move here permanently.
There is'nt a day goes by, without me saying to Carol, "I love living here"!
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect little place to stay for walking, with picturesque walks from the back door. It had everything you would need and was lovely and clean. The owners are very friendly and there was plenty of information on Walks, cycling and other activities. Definatly somewhere I would stay again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Barn @ The Old Bakery, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and equally that you explored the Peak District National Park, from the back door of our property.
We hope that you will return to continue your exploration of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetsybi...
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Its brilliant at the Bakery”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Youlgrave excellent centre for walks in Lathkill and Bradford Dale. Three pubs, the Farmyard Inn excellent on pie night but I think their portions cater for giants. The Barn has all those useful extras provided by the friendly knowledgeable hosts; tissues, tea, coffee milk, kitchen foil, even flour. Well stocked butchers shop next door. Very clean and comfortable. Only problem is entrance very narrow and difficult for large cars. We parked safely on Church Street 100 yards away and so avoided adding to the gouges in the entrance brick work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and sleeping above an old MG
Liked least: Nightmare entrance for large cars
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.It is much appreciated.
As you have found, The Barn @ The Old Bakery is ideally placed to walk from the door to explore the wonderful Bradford and Lathkill dales. it is also an excellent base to explore the wider Peak District National Park.
We are blessed with three pubs in the village serving good quality home cooked food. The Butchers shop provides an excellent service to our guests, with any of those forgotten extras. Our hospitality pack is designed to welcome our guests to the property.
The entrance into the communal yard, is narrow if you have a large car. But we get our large 4 x 4 through quite easily without incident. Equally as you have found there is ample very safe parking on Church Street and Main Street.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patnmo
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, warm, spotless, great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just the place for a perfect break. Great location for exploring the Peak District. The Barn is very clean and tidy in a peaceful village. Well equipt and modern. Helpful owners. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your high standards. You rightly point out that the accommodation offers an excellent base, from which to explore the beautiful Peak District national Park. The village is a friendly place with 3 excellent pubs and two good shops catering for our guests needs. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTHONY G
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Class accomodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This property is in a great location being in a small village with 3 great pubs(we ate at the Farmyard Inn which was top class). There are numerous places to visit nearby, we loved visiting Eyam, Bolsover Castle and Hardwick Hall as well as visiting the Food Festival in Bakewell. The surrounding countryside is stunning, this is the first time we have visited the Peak District and were knocked over by how beautiful it is. The property is very comfortable, the owners have put a lot of thought into making their guests feel at home, it has everything a couple would need. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peace & Quiet, location.
Liked least: The shower was a bit of a damp squib
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that your first visit to the Peak District National Park was one that left you wanting more. It's a great place to live and has so much to offer our guests. You obviously enjoyed the National Trust properties within the area, which really are 'Top Draw' properties. We were glad to hear that you managed to see the Food Festival in Bakewell.
The Barn @ The Old Bakery has been furnished to ensure our guests have a relaxed 'home from home experience' and leave refreshed. We hope to see you again, when you continue your exploration of the Peak Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thejacks0...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering cottage in great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights from Easter Sunday in this delightful self-catering cottage in the pretty village of Youlgreave. The cottage is really well equipped and is cosy and warm. Plenty of hot water, comfy bed and great view of the stars at night as an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery comfortable, warm and to your liking.
We have tried to ensure that our guests are made welcome and feel 'at home' in the accommodation.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing