We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Trevor M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great comfortable cottage”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Youlgreave is a lovely village with lots of walks from the door. The Barn @ The Old Bakery is a very comfortable, cosy, clean cottage with everything you need. It is one of the best we have stayed in and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the village and the walks straight from the door.
We are equally pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your high standards. Thank you also for leaving our property so clean and tidy. That was very much appreciated. Thank you.
We have tried to furnish and keep the property, as we ourselves would like. This is obviously meeting with gratitude from our guests.
We hope to see you in the future, so that you may continue your exploration of the wonderful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the excellent reviews that this cottage has received are fully justified.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

During the past 50 years my wife and I have stayed many times in Youlgreave and the surrounding area but The Barn is the best accommodation we have enjoyed to date. Compact, comfortable and cosy it was the perfect base for a very relaxing holiday. The car parking is tight but the other users are considerate and careful so it is not a problem. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't use it again until we left a week later as there were enough walks from the cottage to make a car redundant.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found the cottage met with your high standards. We are pleased that you managed to 'unwind and relax'.
The Barn at The Old Bakery is a perfect place, as you recognised, to be able to walk from the door into the wonderful Peak District National Park.
Thank you for leaving our property so clean and tidy, that was very much appreciated.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskardog5...
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like our own home in the Peaks”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautifully maintained and with some wonderful homely touches that helped us simply relax into our long weekend.

The Barn is perfectly located in a quiet yet well-serviced village (3 decent pubs!). The sound of summoning bells from St George's echoing over the dales on Sunday morning added another dimension to the picture-perfect experience.

Lovely, welcoming hosts and a fantastic stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found that The Barn at The Old Bakery met with your high standards. We have strived to create a property that we would be happy and comfortable to stay in.
The village, as you recognise, is serviced by 3 good pubs serving home cooked food and good hand pumped ales. The church, in the village 'All Saints' has a welcoming peal every Tuesday evening, when bell ringing practice takes place and then on Sunday morning for the local service. Guests at The Barn are welcomed to join either of these practices, as any extra help is always encouraged!
We hope that you will return to The Barn at The Old Bakery, in order to continue to explore the The wonderful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely apartment in a lovely village in a lovely part of the country”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great apartment perfect for 2 , easy walking to 3 good pubs , within easy reach of larger towns but still out of the way , beautiful walking country , the owners Ken and Carol were very nice people, you should try it .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed The Barn at The Old Bakery. We have tried to create an apartment that we ourselves would be happy to stay in. The Barn at The Old Bakery, as you recognise offers a great place to walk from the door into the wonderful Peak District National Park.
We are blessed with 3 good pubs in the village and two great shops, so our guests are well catered for. We hope that you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
2 reviews
“Immaculate, well appointed accommodation”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I would thoroughly recommend The Barn. The interior was lovely and clean and the village of Youlgreave is in beautiful countryside. There are lots of walks directly from the barn. We walked into Bakewell which took about an hour and caught the bus back. Ken had also provided lots of maps and booklets of the surrounding area which we found really useful. All in all, we had a lovely few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to your liking.
We hope that you will return to continue your exploration of the wonderful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geri T
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just enjoyed a wonderful four-day stay at The Barn @ The Old Bakery, Youlgrave. It is extremely well-appointed with first-rate facilities. The attention to detail and the welcome from Ken and Carol was wonderful. Quiet location and so convenient to many places of interest: Chatsworth House & Garden, Cromford Mill, Bakewell, Buxton etc. So many varied walks can start from Youlgrave including into Bradford and Lathkill Dales, Haddon Hall, Stanton in Peak etc. We ate at The Farmyard pub every night - just a very short walk away - what a varied menu and quality food. We found it very easy to relax here, gained much from the visit and will certain come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you managed to relax and unwind at The Barn @ The Old Bakery. We aim to help our guests enjoy a 'home from home' experience.
Walking from the door to explore the delightful Peak District National Park is wonderful.
Youlgrave is blessed with 3 great pubs and two (soon to be) well stocked shops as well as a bakery.
We would welcome you to return at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0ckchick...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for walking and pubs!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Barn is located in the centre of the village, ideal for walking and near to all 3 village pubs (very important). It has everything you need including essentials such as tea, coffee, milk and wine and is very nicely furnished and above all, very clean and warm. The proprietors, Ken and Carol were very welcoming. We would highly recommend staying here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that The Barn @ The Old Bakery provided all that you required to unwind, relax and explore the Peak District National Park.
We would happily welcome you both back to stay in our property for you continue your exploration of the Derbyshire Dales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing