We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation, great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Views from the rear garden,there is also a small village recreation area to the right
Chatsworth house and park land
We've got beautiful walks from Devonshire Cottage along the river to Chatsworth Bridge
Chatsworth House & beautiful gardens to walk around,get lost in the maze,picnic on the lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
feedmybon...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, great location!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked this cottage because we were working at a local event and wanted somewhere cosy and comfortable to stay while we were away.

Booking was easy, and the proprietor was very helpful and prompt in responding to my enquiries. The cottage itself was lovely - really well appointed, and such a fantastic location.

I would very happily stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Perfect - You will not want to leave”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I don't often write reviews, but enjoyed this beautiful cottage so much I had to spread the word. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and the views from the back garden are breathtaking. It really is picture perfect...... like you see in the story books or in films. I loved the way this cottage is decorated. It is so warm and cosy and everything was immaculately clean and furnished to such a high standard. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it with me. It is perfectly located with a lovely country pub just footsteps away. The owner, Marlene, was lovely..... she couldn't do enough for us and her local knowledge helped us make the most out of our stay. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine.... which I thought was a really nice touch. If you are considering booking this place - just do it!! I promise you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back. Thanks Marlene for a wonderful holiday we will never forget

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way this cottage makes you feel instantly relaxed and at home
Liked least: Not being able to fit the bed through the door ;0)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely cottage very cosy and warm. The standard of decor and furnishings was to a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean and everything was there that was needed. Very nice garden with sitting out area. I would recommend the Devonshire Arms just across the road the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. I will definitely be adding this cottage to my favourites list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cottage and the area
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I booked this cottage as a surprise for my girlfriend for her birthday and we were definitely not disappointed. A beautiful cottage full of character and very well presented throughout giving it a cosy feel. As a special touch, Marlene the owner, had bought us a bottle of champagne and flowers and card for my girlfriend. A very personal touch, which was gratefully received. The village itself is beautiful with the Devonshire Arms a stones throw away and the Old Smithy Tea Room perfect for breakfast. We will certainly return to the cottage again, hopefully in the summer as it's one of the best short breaks we have had. Thank you Marlene.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing by the log burner on a winters evening
Liked least: Having to go home, this is our dream home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5* accommmodation Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Excellent accommodation very clean and furnished to high standard, private garden to rear with stunning views, parking space for one car, very close to pub and shop. when we arrived heating was already on so it was warm and welcoming , complimentary bottle of wine on arrival, Ideal location for walkers, 5 mins by car through chatsworth estate to Bakewell, Devonshire Arms pub directly across road excellent food. Both bedrooms spacious and exceptionally clean and well furnished, spacious bathroom living room and dining room. We would recommend this holiday cottage to anyone and will be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brill1232...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“location,location,location”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

what a great find this holiday home is...... the furniture is to a excellent standard...... all the bedding matches through out...... the cleanliness is to a excellent standard..... there is nothing at all to fault this holiday home......I have stayed in a lot of holiday homes which have all been rated 5star but this holiday home beats them by far....... fantastic location.... fantastic holiday let.... there is nothing else to say.... FAB,FAB,FAB,FAB......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole furnishing and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing everything was 5star
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheviecat
australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Devonshire Cottage - Pretty Perfect!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Pretty stone cottage situated in the charming village of Beeley within the Peak District - and a hop, step and jump away from the Chatsworth Estate. Marlene has done a superb job of renovating the cottage, which is tastefully decorated and has everything you require when staying in a holiday house. She was also a wonderful host, answering any questions we had, suggesting eateries (even booking us into the pub opposite) and things to do, and providing excellent instructions on how to get there and how to get into cottage (very important!). We inadvertently left some stuff behind and Marlene kindly and trustingly allowed us entry (without her presence) the following day to retrieve items. We would definitely recommend cottage and would not hesitate in returning. Thanks so much, Marlene! Regards, Cathy, Kevin, Melita & Nell (Sydney, Australia)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming decoration of cottage, the look of it and it's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing