We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant flat & location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Macgither
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant flat & location”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The flat was walking distance to town.The flat was bigger than in the pictures. It also had board games and some toys. It was very thoughtful to leave chocolates and champagne for new year & the Christmas tree was still up. We had a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious flat
Liked least: Windows where a little drafty in lounge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great New Year at 8 Tawney House and that you enjoyed the chocolates and champagne! We hope to have you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian D
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A well located apartment, clean, tidy and comfortable. The hosts made us very welcome with little touches of a pint of milk and box of chocolates. Although the parking area tended to get busy in the early morning we were not affected as spent the days out visiting Dovedale, The Heights of Abraham, Carsington Water and Crichton. There are steps which you need to climb to gain access so possibly not suitable for all. There is a lovely well maintained park just 5 minutes walk which leads you into Matlock centre. We would certainly consider visiting this apartment again in the future. It suited the 3 of us well.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterbu...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than exceeded expectations”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at this property. Key collection arrangements were most efficient and we entered a warm, clean, comfortably most welcoming apartment- exactly as shown in the photos. The position was excellent- just minutes away from the park and the town centre shops. There was no problem at all with noise despite celebrations for the Victorian Christmas weekend. being in full swing. The double glazing in the main bedroom was excellent and there was no evidence of the noisy air vents mentioned in some other reviews. We never met the owner showed us in and both he and the people we met from other apartments were all most friendly. Matlock and the surrounding area have much to recommend them and this apartment is a great base from which to explore.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“AWFUL - Not recommended”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Well where shall I start. Firstly the place is nothing like the photos, it looks clean and well kept but thay certainly wasnt the case. As for hairs in the bathroom, that has got to be one of my biggest gripes with places - especially for the amount we paid to stay here, id have expected more.
To be honest from day one it was a bad experience, the lady owner was a nightmare I didnt stop getting in touch with me and visiting. I came here for a 2week vacation with my fiance - that certainly isnt what I got.
All that being said, matlock is a nice place, but Id stay somewhere else in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place
Liked least: The owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterN888
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

What a wonderful apartment in a great location. After a stressful journey on Christmas Eve we arrived at this super clean apartment with a bottle of sparkling wine and luxury chocolates to greet us, even a bottle of milk in the fridge
The apartment is very well equipped to the highest standard and there are lots of extras there to make you feel at home.
The area is steeped in history so lots of things to see and do. Check out the guest commentary book as there are some great tips for eating out etc in there.
It was our first Christmas away from home in 25 years and they had put up a tree to make it feel homely, the stay turned out to be a very enjoyable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the apartment
Liked least: Mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing