We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early check out”

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I hesitated to leave this review because of how lovely and helpful the staff were. But I rely on these reviews to make my own bookings and am disappointed to say the ones I read here let me down on this occasion. I think we may have potentially had one of the worst rooms and maybe that’s why.

Customer service was great. The whole family was polite, the breakfast was amazing. Location perfect. Our issue was the room. I’m pregnant, so we planned to spend some time in there and were not looking for a “base to crash” after a day/ night out, so comfort was important.

The room was cold (we slept with 3 blankets on at night) and the bathroom was freezing. The shower was powerless and barely passable as a shower at all (made worse by the bathroom temperature). The walls are thin (I heard the man next door snoring all night - after chatting away with his other half until midnight).

The worst issue for us was the bed. I got 3 hours sleep that night with the noise, temperature and ultimately the lumpy mattress. It seemed to be made out of memory foam, but as my fiancé put it “I’ve never lay on my side before, and my feet been up in the air not touching the bed”. There were dips and slopes in the strangest of places, which ultimately made for bad backs the next day (we’re in our 30’s and 40’s).

Ultimately we both agreed to come home a day early. Had I have not been pregnant, I might have had a few more glasses of wine in the evening, put some ear plugs in and another layer on and dealt with it, but that’s not my idea of a fun weekend away in honesty.

I’ve stayed in Ibis, other B&B’s and I get basic accommodation, but for this price in this location, I have to be honest and say the room fell short (and ultimately the stay is largely about the room....)

The next day we checked out a day early and I did wait to speak to Babaloe with our honest feedback, because she’d been so lovely, but she wasn’t there and we just wanted to hit the road. Ultimately after wasting £75, feeling tired and irritable and losing a day away on our mini-break because we were too shattered to enjoy it, it was probably for the best!




Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Just got back today from a 2 night stay. Would I go back there yes..room was spotless with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast choice is really good. We had the full English both mornings. Good quality sausage and bacon. Coffee was excellent. As for the host..what a lovely lady. Very welcoming. And always asked in the morning if we were ok. And was genuinely interested in what we were going to be doing with our day.
Thank you Babaloe. Sorry if I have spelt that wrong.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bevandylovegreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to see the Matlock Bath Illuminations and where not disappointed with any element of the stay whatsoever.

While a lot of comments mention the need for an update, that is true on some levels; however if you take the age of the property, heritage of the owners and the setting it is in the decor is more than suitable and in keeping.

The breakfast was fantastic with extra cereals / toast / juices as required along with 6 options for the main part of the breakfast.

The hosts were lovely and very accommodating to all dietary needs and were always willing to ensure our stay was as good as it could be.

If we head back up to Matlock, we would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarkeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

A 5 night stay proved to be a bit too long, as the B&B was not as good as we had hoped.
The surrounding area was why we were there so we were very happy with the location.
Steep stairs to a fairly small and 'need to be updated' room were an issue. Poor seating, and even poorer lighting made the stay tedious.
Parking was very tight, and although guests are provided with a paid spot in a nearby public carpark (when the available parks are full outside the B&B), security for the car is a bit lax.
Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was very average and i dont particularly like choosing what i want for my breakfast the evening before. The host was friendly. The location was very good and only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. The average rating is given because it wasnt particularly cheap to stay but it felt like the bare minimum was provided for the cost, so not particularly great value for the money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mcreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

we stayed in the river view room at back of hotel, although furniture dated and not a very dramatic river view more garden/shed view, the room and ensuite were of a very good size and the bed was very comfortable, and was a quiet room. All our requests were met when we needed assistance.Accomodation based in a lovely quiet area with parking. Fruit salad and fried breakfast were excellent. Good value , and good location for visiting Abraham Heights and River Illuminations

Room Tip: river view room very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed here for three nights in May, in a lovely room on the first floor. Well appointed, and great service. I am Gluten Free and our Hostess was very helpful. The breakfast was lovely, and very big! We even had parking available. Great stay, would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
413 reviews
2.4 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
372 reviews
0 km away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#6 of 54 in Matlock
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
455 reviews
0.8 km away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing