We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
127
28
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
28
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full english cheesy scrambled eggs view room biscuits single room within walking distance electric shower kit kat b and b river view seater sofa comfortable bed warm welcome good size close to town centre fruit salad tea making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 165 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Just got back today from a 2 night stay. Would I go back there yes..room was spotless with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast choice is really good. We had the full English both mornings. Good quality sausage and bacon. Coffee was excellent. As for the host..what a lovely lady. Very welcoming. And always asked in the morning if we were ok. And was genuinely interested in what we were going to be doing with our day.
Thank you Babaloe. Sorry if I have spelt that wrong.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bevandylovegreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to see the Matlock Bath Illuminations and where not disappointed with any element of the stay whatsoever.

While a lot of comments mention the need for an update, that is true on some levels; however if you take the age of the property, heritage of the owners and the setting it is in the decor is more than suitable and in keeping.

The breakfast was fantastic with extra cereals / toast / juices as required along with 6 options for the main part of the breakfast.

The hosts were lovely and very accommodating to all dietary needs and were always willing to ensure our stay was as good as it could be.

If we head back up to Matlock, we would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarkeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

A 5 night stay proved to be a bit too long, as the B&B was not as good as we had hoped.
The surrounding area was why we were there so we were very happy with the location.
Steep stairs to a fairly small and 'need to be updated' room were an issue. Poor seating, and even poorer lighting made the stay tedious.
Parking was very tight, and although guests are provided with a paid spot in a nearby public carpark (when the available parks are full outside the B&B), security for the car is a bit lax.
Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was very average and i dont particularly like choosing what i want for my breakfast the evening before. The host was friendly. The location was very good and only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. The average rating is given because it wasnt particularly cheap to stay but it felt like the bare minimum was provided for the cost, so not particularly great value for the money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mcreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

we stayed in the river view room at back of hotel, although furniture dated and not a very dramatic river view more garden/shed view, the room and ensuite were of a very good size and the bed was very comfortable, and was a quiet room. All our requests were met when we needed assistance.Accomodation based in a lovely quiet area with parking. Fruit salad and fried breakfast were excellent. Good value , and good location for visiting Abraham Heights and River Illuminations

Room Tip: river view room very good
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews