We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ashdale Guest House(Matlock Bath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barringtons(Darley Dale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barton House(Matlock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
33
11
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
11
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily gatheringwell equipped kitchenbeautiful housesurrounding areapeak districtlollyjugpubtoiletwalks
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 52 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Lea hall recently to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. A beautiful house, exquisitely decorated in a lovely setting. We received a very warm welcome from Lolly and Steve, had fantastic breakfasts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would totally recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We went for the luxury and stayed in the chocolate room, good views and great bath.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This friendly B&B style hotel looked fantastic on the website and we were not disappointed. The house is stunning and the value for money exceptional. The charm of the place outweighs the fact that the rooms are not what you would get from a 5* boutique hotel but that said, Lea Hall never claims to be one and for the price it is one of the best places I have visited. The Breakfast was excellent and the hosts were friendly and efficient.

I can imagine that the place could be a little noisy if you had inconsiderate guests but the overall feel was very special.

The local pub does reasonable food and is cosy and has good beer. I think British visitors and overseas tourists would find Lea hall to be a real authentic old country house steeped in history and charm.

Highly recommended from a seasoned traveler !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We only had a short stay and if I'd have known it was so nice I would have booked a couple more days. The staff where not only very helpful with local knowledge but where very interested
in the history of the property they where working in, which was nice to get a little background information on such a historical building, it really gives you a sence of stepping back in time with a lot of original features still in place.
The food was very good and the rooms where very well kitted out.
We would recommend a stay and we would go back

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALLAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a lovely two night stay at Lea Hall and would recommend it to other couples looking for a romantic break in a fantastic loaction in the middle of the derbyshire dales. Breakfast is great and the setting around one long table is great for meeting other guests and sharing your experiences together. The rooms are lovely and you have everything that you need. The Jug and Glass pub is a 10 minute walk down the road and is a lovely village pub with good food and real ale. Would definetly go back : ))

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unclebazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is about as different as you can get form the standard chain hotel. It is historic and charming. Yes it creaks, yes ots floors slope but what you get is the chnace to stay in a place most of us only ever dram of being able to stay at.

I was the only guest the nught i stayed and so it very special. You can have nealry anything you want for breakfast all freashly preapred for you from the best of local ingredients. I was also luckenough to get a room upgrade.

the only down side was the lack of internet and th epoor mobile reception.

Room Tip: not all rooms ahve baths so check
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews