We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
34
11
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
11
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate roomfridge spacefamily gatheringwell equipped kitchenbeautiful housesurrounding areapeak districtlollypropertyjugpubtoiletwalks
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 53 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We hired Lea Hall for our wedding party in August. We were married in nearby Matlock and our weekend was everything we hoped it would be made all the more special by staying in such a fabulous venue. The house was intriguing and enchanting and our guests were thrilled to be staying in such a unique house. Chequers catering company supplied a fabulous wedding meal and I would highly recommend them if you fancy a night away from the kitchen. Lea hall is a fabulous venue surrounded by beautiful countryside and perfect for a special get together with those you love and we hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We held our joint 40th's here and celebrated in perfect style. It was a real delight seeing our guests faces as they wandered around choosing their bedrooms, each one stunning. The dining table was set out for us when we arrived which was a really nice touch, of the housekeeper Lolly. She was there when we needed her at the start to show us what was what, but after that ,we had the run of the house. Being youthful 40 year olds we partied til the early hours , and there was nobody there to complain about any noise! There is plenty of kitchen equipment as we had friends bring hot food to serve between us all, and my other half loved cooking in such a spacious kitchen . Cannot recommend this place enough if you want a lovely setting for a special party get it booked now

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, but some only have baths, so if you want a standing shower only check the room plans first
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ignore the photograph of the hall, you must venture indoors to appreciate the charm and charactor of this wonderful old manor house. We stayed just 2 nights bed and breakfast (and what a breakfast)! no need to eat for the rest of the day! We stayed in the 'Chocolate' room! A large spacious room with a super size bed and a fantastic ensuite bathroom. Each bedroom in the house has its own theme and unique in its own way. Don't book if you are looking for modern surroundings, this place is definately for those of us who appreciate and enjoy something just that bit different. Thanks to Lolly & Steve you looked after us well. See you again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Georgian part but quite honestly we would have been happy in any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I visited Lea Hall with my adult daughter, as she lives in the North and I in the South, Matlock was the ideal area to meet.
It was dark when we were looking for the property, and did experience difficulty in finding it. It is not well lit, or signed when day light has disappeared. However, the welcome we received from the live in couple, was brilliant. Lolly was bright and chatty. Full of information and really did give us the feeling that nothing was any bother to her.
We were shown the library, which was freely available for guests use, and we delighted with the decor and atmosphere.
We were quite surprised at our room however. We were up at the top of the house, which was not an issue, but the first thing when you open the door, is the bathroom. You have to walk through it to get to the bedroom, which is a bit of an odd layout.
However, our attitude was that in such an old house, a quirky, and unexpected layout, was not a big issue.
We then found that we, like other reviewers, had just roof tiles to look at. I did feel that this should have been explained on booking.
The beds were brilliant, and the bed linen crisp and white. Towels were of good quality.
Tea and coffee making facilities, were good with sealed bottles of water to drink.

The next morning was when the tricky bit started. The bath, be it a roll top, has no shower attachment. Both my daughter and I had many problems washing our hair. She knelt in the bath and used a mug. I am quite fit, but considerably less agile and found it very difficult to wash my hair. When sitting in the bath in the middle of a large area , to see gaps in the door that leads to the landing and stairway, increased my sense of vulnerability. I was not entirely comfortable with it. There also needed to be somewhere to place bottles of shampoo or body wash while in the bath, it is sort of just abandoned in the middle of the space. Very strange, but also highly impractical.
Breakfast was a delight. Again, the hospitality just oozed charm. It is set in an old long room, that takes up most of the length of the back of the house. It was lovely to sit and chat with other guest, but the table was soooo long that those that wanted to be a little more private were able to . There was gentle music playing. And the preordered breakfast was delicious.
We had booked on a special offer, but wanted to stay and extra night, which was again given at the offer price. That was brilliant. It was all arranged through Lolly and Paul, simply and efficiently done.
During the day, our room was cleaned, and everything topped up. It was done to the standard of a good hotel.
I loved staying here, and have great memories. I would not stay in the same room though.
The view was a little of an issue, but the whole, bath, door, shower thing, I had been totally unprepared for and would not have booked had I known in advance.
So all in all a very mixed bag.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and shower.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give Lea a review, we understand your view or not as the case may be with the room you were allocated, we would have been happy to move you if it was at all possible, and always take note of any special requests for showers etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed as a large group at Lea Hall - using all of the bedrooms on a self-catering basis. We found that the kitchen was not what we expected - it is completely stainless steel - not quite the "beamed kitchen" we were expecting from the English Country cottages website description. It has plenty of fridge space but no storage at all for dry foods such as cereals, bread etc which you need for self-catering. The BBQ had no utensils provided - so we had to go and buy some. The living rooms were not big enough for us all to sit, much of the furniture had holes in, the rugs were worn through and had a musty smell. When we arrived the lights didn't work in one bedroom or bathroom and there was no hot water in the kitchen. There was a large crack in the dining room window which we worried would break. Rooms 4 and 5 have very low ceilings particularly by the toilet area - the bathroom for room 4 is not a separate room it is all in the same room and you have to be very supple to get into and out of the bath whilst remaining stooped because of the ceiling. The views from bedrooms 4 and 5 are simply of the roof. The tennis court is a joke - just some fencing around some patches of concrete which have grass growing up on all of the joints. It is very expensive for what it is - much higher than the equivalent B&B rate for self-catering. The owner was very rude when we raised our concerns, however Lolly was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank logted2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

We were not surprised to receive this review, despite viewing our property twice prior to arrival.
The reviewer whom had made the booking through a well-known agent, complained in writing to the agent before even taking up residence at the property.
At this point the reviewer was offered a full refund or relocation, which was refused, instead choosing to go ahead with the booking, to then again complain to our agent on departure, we are pleased to say the 1st (prior to arrival) and 2nd complaint were investigated fully by our Agent and Lea Hall still retains it’s 5* status as the issues were unfounded.
Lea Hall is a beautiful Grade 2* listed building which has been restored, decorated & furnished as it should be, fortunately not to the taste of the reviewer.
Our aim is for everyone who chooses to stay at Lea Hall to experience a true period manor house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews