We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Weekend”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
veeps_12
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I organised a weekend at Thornleigh as part of my friends Hen Party. The house was the perfect choice, catering for all our needs, including a hot tub in the garden!! The kitchen was ideal for a large group and provided everything for a fantastic dinner party atmosphere.

The rooms were spacious, with most also including en-suites and the beds were incredibly comfortable. I would definitely organise another weekend away at this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah200...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The perfect base for our party weekend. The interior, large socialable kitchen and hot tub were all we needed for a fabulous weekend. The highlight for me was dinner, dinks and lots of laughter around the table, having all my special girlies together. We will treasure very happy memories of our stay at Thornleigh forever. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D6583RSre...
Leicester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable house - fantastic hot tub”
Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I stayed at thornleigh with 11 friends for the weekend.
The house is beautiful and very comfortable. A lovely welcome pack of goodies - tea/coffee, crisps, chocolate was provided as well as a vase of flowers and a basket of logs for the fire.
The enormous kitchen is the heart of the house and is better stocked with equipment than we could ever have imagined. All the useful bits and pieces - washing up liquid etc, was waiting for us.
Not all the bedrooms are ensuite, but the house bathroom is lovely.
We arranged for Strand Catering and Heaven at home spa to come and pamper us during our stay and I would also recommend them wholeheartedly.
Even in March the hot tub was fab, and easy to operate
The house is in the heart of Matlock but still completely quiet and with good parking.
If you want a place for a group to stay with easy access to the peak district but close local amenities, I'd recommend it absolutely
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen and hot tub
Liked least: Lack of a proper shower in the house bathroom
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky b
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“stunning”
Reviewed January 25, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

we all had a fab and relaxing time the hot tub was great even in january the views were outstanding wish we could have stayed longer we are allready planning our next vist in the summer cant wait !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRLeam
COVENTRY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great house, lovely hot tub, perfect location!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Stayed here with a group of girls for the weekend and we could not have chosen a better place to stay - close to the lovely town and country side, luxurious rooms and tasteful decor, fantastic hot tub and cosy wood burner. Would recommend for large families and friend groups. The only down side is that there is only parking for three cars but we found on street parking a short walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub!
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We took a group of family and friends, ranging from 9months to 61yrs, to stay at Thornleigh for a long weekend to celebrate our retirement. It was perfect. The facilities are exceptional, with the sauna and hot tub being the icing on the cake. Every area was spotless (and believe me we scrutinise) and the decor is lovely. It easily catered for all ages; it had everything we could possibly need - the kitchen is unbelievably well equipped and a fantastic place to eat as a group. The bedrooms and bathrooms are also well stocked and very comfortable. The lounge was perfect for everybody to sit and chat and play games. We just didn't get time to use the tables in the games room so, even though we don't need an excuse, we can use this to say we will definitely have to come back even without a special occasion to celebrate.
We arranged a visiting 'pamper' company to spoil us, and a catering company to cook a meal for us one evening.
Thornleigh is simply fantastic and we couldn't fault it.
It is such a special place that to ignore the requests to be considerate (and it is a pity that the owners have even been forced to request consideration) to the neighbours would be totally unfair, so if you want to be noisy this isn't the place for you.
The only other word of advice is that there is no grass for little ones to play on in back courtyard - but we were fully aware of that before arriving so took some soft play tiles to lay on flagged area which worked perfectly.
Thank you to the owners for sharing your beautiful house and for trusting us with it - we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Twin room partially split by wall - one couple will be apart
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arosfa_ML...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely property in the heart of Matlock”
Reviewed September 27, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I stayed at Thornleigh in September 2011 as part of a group of 13 girls.

First impressions were excellent. There was a basket of local food items provided, along with home made chocolate brownies, which were delicious! All the bedrooms were nicely presented with towels and toiletries provided. Four of the rooms are en-suite, and there is a main bathroom with a roll-top bath. The large kitchen/diner was really well equipped. There was plenty of crockery and cutlery, as well as cooking equipment including a food processor and weighing scales. There was even a fondue set! We spent most of our time in this room as it was ideal for entertaining. The hot tub was a big favourite with everyone, and we all loved relaxing in it. There is a sauna in the basement, but we were so busy that we didn't get time to use it.

Being so close to the town centre meant that we were within easy walking distance of all the bars, shops, pubs and restaurants. There was plenty of choice of places to eat and drink, and the supermarket within walking distance of the house came in useful when we'd run out of wine. It is also within walking distance of the train and bus stations, making it handy for anyone arriving by public transport.

Thronleigh is in a residential area, and so the owners made it clear as part of the terms and conditions, and in the welcome pack, that noise late at night was unacceptable. This didn't spoil our enjoyment at all - we just made sure that we stayed inside late at night and kept all the doors and windows closed. However, if you're looking for a secluded property where you can have music blaring all night without disturbing the neighbours, this probably isn't the place for you.

I thought the property was ideal for a girly weekend away, and I'd definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub in the garden
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing