We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place to stay”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BE2314
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Thornleigh recently for a friends hen weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it.

There were 8 of us and we had plenty of space; there is easily enough room for 7 couples and most rooms have extra space for put up beds if needed. 4 out of 6 bedrooms had en suite facilities.

All of the bedrooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the beds were very comfy. The kitchen is fully equipped, all utensils provided and there is also a dishwasher.

The hot tub was enjoyed by us all; it is a large hot tub and the 8 of us fitted in comfortably.

The owners recommended spa treatments through 'my personal sanctuary'; we booked a therapist and the treatments were very good.

The house is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Matlock where there are plenty of restaurants, bars, boutique shops and antique shops. We also walked further down the road to Matlock Bath and the Heights of Abraham.

Matlock and Matlock Bath rail stations are both within walking distance.

There are plenty of activities locally for families. Equally it is a nice part of the country for a relaxing weekend away.

The only downside to Thornleigh is that the parking is very limited; there is room for two large cars or 3 small cars.

Would definitely recommend for family gatherings, special birthdays and occasions, group holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a great location in Matlock”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here on a hen do and it was prefect. The house has everything you need and all the rooms are lovely. The lounge and dinning room/ kitchen are great spaces were you can easily sit 12+ people. There is a slight lack on parking but there are pay for car parks close by.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
521heathe...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect venue for our family celebration of my husband's 70th birthday.”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thornleigh House is a lovely house perfectly equipped for 13 guests - everything was provided down to the last chopping board and corkscrew. We wanted for nothing. A hamper was also waiting for us on arrival containing little luxuries like wine, fresh coffee and sweets and chocolates for the children among other things. The house is beautifully decorated and we all felt at home. The games room was well used by the children and the hot tub was very welcome after a busy day in Matlock and surrounding area.

Thornleigh House is situated in the heart of Matlock and there are many shops, bars and
restaurants within easy walking distance. The Railway Station is very close by.

One day we will make a return visit we hope! The owners were very helpful and replied to any queries very quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely big family kitchen
Liked least: Parking was tight in the front of the property but there was on street parking close by.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
665Glenys
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good accommodation centrally located”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay in Matlock. Thornleigh House is spacious and has an excellent kitchen; 4 of the bedrooms are en suite and are very attractive; however, the two remaining rooms share a bathroom and these have single beds. One of these rooms was more suitable for children, and as we were a group of adults this was a little disappointing. So be warned that 2 of your party might be a bit miffed! As we were the organisers we took the room and didn't mind as we were there to celebrate a family wedding.

Overall a very well stocked house suitable for a family group. We appreciated the welcome pack and liked the games room. Sadly we didn't have enough time to use it. Perhaps next time ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big kitchen
Liked least: One bedroom disappointed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda559
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous house! Perfect for our family celebration.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

From finding the property to booking it was easy and efficient. The owners were very professional and helpful.
Thornleigh was just what we were after. Large enough to accommodate us all. The kitchen was well equipped and perfect for everyone to gather around the table for meals.
On the Friday night we went to the Italian restaurant "Viva's", with lovely staff and the meal was wonderful.
All in all we had a fabulous and memorable weekend. I would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni_kii_8
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely property, wonderful location”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at this property for a Hen Party in Feb 2014.

The property is adorable and was an adequate size for the 13 of us that stayed. The rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes, with a mixture of double and single beds in each. There is a nice living area with a TV that we utilised on the day we left. The kitchen is wonderful and became the hub of the weekend (there was coffee and tea left by the owner which was a lovely touch) as it is so large, with a lovely country feel.

The hot-tub is a lovely touch (and utilised often) but don't bring your best costume (there is quite a bit of chlorine) and bring flip flops for the hop across the flags from the kitchen to the tub itself.

The only thing that was an issue was parking. We were all coming from different places and so there were quite a few cars to park. The drive fits around 3 cars on it, but the street has quite heavy parking restrictions (and the police station is on the corner of the street). We all managed to park but this did involve some walking as we had to park a few streets over.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: The parking issues
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty W
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Property”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Thorneligh the first weekend of November for my Hen weekend. I can not fault any aspect of the house - it is absolutely amazing and a truly luxurious venue. The welcome pack when we arrived was a lovely touch. We had to drag ourselves out of the hot tub and sauna. All rooms were presented and finished to a high standard and there was plenty of space for 13 of us in the house. The owners were also really accomodating and were great at recommending restaurants and activites in the local area. We had a local beauty salon come to the house to provide us with spa treatements as well as a very fun knicker making class. Would also definitely recommend Stones Restaurant, a very short walk away, for a gorgeous meal by the river. I am already looking for another excuse to stay here for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing