We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for a big group to get together”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom F
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a big group to get together”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fab time at Thornleigh for a 30th birthday celebration. The large kitchen is a great asset for the house, and is fab for playing games etc. The kitchen had all the utensils one could need!

All of the bedrooms are a good size, although you won't be spending much time in them as the hot tub and games room are great fun. The hot tub kept its heat well in November.

The house is really well located for Matlock, and there is a small co op nearby if you need to stock up on more food and drink. The owners were really helpful in providing instructions on where to park additional cars nearby for free.

The only thing which I think would improve the house is a slight reduction in the amount of laminated rules and instructions everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsNJF
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A thoroughly perfect house for a wonderful group celebration.

The location is very central which obviously has it's benefits too. A lovely stroll away from matlock centre and the beautiful park.

As for the comments about the noise levels, don't be put off. As long as you respect the requests of the owners (no outdoor hot tubbing and partying after 11pm!) you'll be fine! We had 3 nights here and were up drinking and talking in the kitchen past 11pm but just didn't have music blaring etc. We saw our neighbour when leaving and she was very polite and didn't mention any concerns.

The bedrooms are all of a very high standard and the en suites came in very handy for 12 female guests!

The kitchen was the general communal room with a fantastic large table to allow all 12 of us to dine together.

The hot tub is an extra luxurious touch (along with the sauna and pool table in the basement). It didn't matter that it was October when we were using it due to the stylish but functional over head cover. Perfect!

Finally, I really want to comment on how Mark and Rachel went above and beyond in assisting me with planning our weekend. It was a hen do for a very special friend and from my initial enquiries about booking, Mark and Rachel did everything they could to ensure the weekend was a hit. And it certainly was! From advice regarding activities, to allowing me early entry to dress the house, and to organising postage of a docking station I forgot, I really couldn't have asked for any more. Thank you so much.

I look forward to thinking of my next excuse for a return visit to Thornleigh!
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleT...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous house to share with friends”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have just returned from the most amazing hen weekend. The accommodation was absolutely brilliant for what we were looking for. The house is beautifully decorated, clean and very homely with everything you could hope for.. The kitchen was awesome and definitely the focal point. Great hot tub too. Very well located for a little wander into town with some nice pubs and restaurants plus lovely little shops. The only negative is the noise restriction, the house is attached and therefore the neighbours don't really like singing! When on a hen do - this will happen! Fact! This was the only downside.
I would definitely recommend :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and feel.
Liked least: Noise restriction.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thanks for the lovely review--glad you enjoyed your stay
Mark and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauilamb
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unsuitable for people who enjoy conversations”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The main problem with Thornleigh it is a semi and attached to another property; this is not the way it is advertised and none of the photographs indicate this to be the case. It is advertised as suitable for large groups and hen parties which is one of the main reasons we booked it, above others, despite the premium cost of £500 per night.

We were a hen party of 11, and respected the rule of being out of the garden and hot tub by 11 pm - in fact the second and third nights we didn't even go in the garden or hot tub at all. The kitchen though - which is beautiful and the heart of the home, and where we envisaged spending most of our time - is attached to the internal wall of the next house and apparently all conversation and music can be heard through the whole of next door. I feel for the neighbour - it must be a nightmare having a 'party house' arrive every weekend, and there is clearly an ongoing battle between this family and the owner - evidenced by the large signs up in the house stating 'We have had several complaints about noise from our neighbours... Please SHUSH!...the police station is down the road and will be called if noise is excessive...' etc. Not exactly the most welcoming of messages!

So after a complaint from the neighbour the first night, we moved from the kitchen the following night at 10 PM (after we had eaten) at which point the music - which wasn't excessive, just background - was turned off and we went to the living room which is on the side without neighbours. This was a big compromise on our parts as we wanted to be in the spacious kitchen where there was seating for us all. However, regardless of this, the owner then got in touch saying the neighbour has complained about music in the garden at midnight - it really wasn't warm enough for garden antics! - and that it was so loud it could be heard in every room. This simply wasn't the case and to us seemed like a clear demonstration of the ongoing war between these two people, which we were stuck in the middle of.

I am pregnant so can say with confident there was NO excessive noise or music AT ALL after 10 PM - we were actually playing Charades in the living room as it was the quietest game we knew!

I feel the owner's unwillingness to be clear when advertising about the house being attached to another (saying 'we have neighbours' is completely different), led to us booking somewhere that just wasn't suitable for purpose. We are mid-30s women, some of us not drinking - it really was not a wild weekend. However like most groups of friends, we wanted to talk and laugh into the evening, and this apparently is not acceptable at Thornleigh.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments, Please note our response below to another guest in the same party. We always reflect on our guests feedback on tripadvisor and our visitors book--comments taken from our guest book as below;
Feb 2015 "Amazing girly weekend away at Thorneligh, 11 girls for a 40th birthday celebration- we all thought the house was perfect". March 2015 "We all had a fantastic weekend away for a 30th birthday,good company and a great house to relax in". hen-do "the house is amazing, fab house for a large group". April 2015 "A fabulous 3 days at Thornleigh wifes 60th. wonderful facilities can't fault anything".April 2015 hen weekend" had a fab weekend at Thornleigh would definately recommend".May 2015 "I am so in love with this house, the hot tub the sauna, the kitchen table- perfect location, a hen do to remember". June 2015 "A great house for my hen weekend, everyone had a brilliant time. June 2015 "We had such a great time on my hen weekend and loved spending time in the big kitchen, would definately recommend".July 2015 hen weekend "The house was amazing everybody loved the hot tub and big dining area perfect location".July 2015 "The girls loved the hot tub and the kitchen was an amazing social space and we spent most of our time in it".July 2015 "Wonderful weekend with my 13 lovely hens, had great meals around the huge kitchen table, thank you for a great time". "kitchen table fab for sitting round" the hens."Thank you so much for a brilliant stay, rooms lovely hot tub so much fun, kitchen living room for socialising and catching up, a weekend to remember". August 2015 "What a fantastic week celebrating a 60th birthday,wonderful house with everything we needed and more, thank you".September 2015 "Thornleigh triumphs again, a joy to be here".Sept 2015 30th birthday celebrations "enjoyed spending time with my close friends, great house great atmosphere, sad to be leaving.."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wedge10ra...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great if you're holding a mime workshop.”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Thornleigh for a friend's Hen Weekend and, as previous reviewers have stated, the house is beautiful. It's in a great location, close to the town and within easy distance of a number of lovely walks. The kitchen is superbly well equipped and we all found the beds to be very comfortable. The hot tub is a great feature too.

However, this is a property that is advertised as being ideal for a Hen parties and large groups, it does, after all, sleep 12-13 people. With this in mind, the restriction on noise & the way in which this is dealt with is inappropriate. We all totally respected that we were in a residential area (with the posters & warnings EVERYWHERE we could hardly forget) and genuinely do not feel that we were excessively loud. On the first evening at just gone midnight we had a visit from the neighbour to complain of the noise. There were 4 of us in the kitchen. We respectfully turned the music down & even offered our numbers in order to avoid him having to come back out. This was rather abruptly refused. It must be frustrating for the neighbour as I can only imagine this happens quite frequently, but it put a bit of a damper on the evening and the Hen was quite upset. With this in mind we decided to spend the 2nd evening in the lounge as this provided a bit more separation from next door. We literally had dinner and then went & played games. By 11pm the Hen had received an email & a voicemail telling us in no uncertain terms to turn it down and that this "wasn't what Thornleigh was about". Understandably, this impacted on our evening considerably and we literally ended up crowded into the downstairs bedroom whispering to each other! It was ridiculous and ruined our evening.

When they say no noise after 11 they really mean it, I just can't see how groups of 12-13, even families, can literally make no noise. If you sit in the large, sociable kitchen expect a visit or a telling off. We really weren't having an all night rave. We're all grown ups and we had pregnant women amongst our party who swore that we really weren't excessive. We were indoors by 1030/1100pm on both nights & music off by 1030pm on the 2nd night. All I can say is that the house, whilst lovely, is inappropriately advertised.

If you want to sit, talk, play board games or listen to some music after about 10pm...find somewhere else.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house & hot tub
Liked least: Ridiculous rules - 2 pages on recycling!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for the feedback. We have had many successful hen parties, reunions and family gatherings at Thornleigh over the last 7 years. This is reflected by the 18 5* reviews which precede this one. We do not feel that we are inappropriately advertising the property and the following paragraph is prominently placed on the booking page of our website:
"Please note that Thornleigh house is in a residential area with neighbours and is not suitable for bookings wishing to have late or all night parties."
A complaint from our neighbour is in fact rare.He indicated that this party were playing unacceptably loud music until 12.15am in both the garden and indoors, heard throughout every room in his house and repeated on both nights despite his requests. After 7 years of being fully booked with 70% hen parties, we have never requested guests to be silent but just to respect their environment within the centre of a residential area. The guests who followed this booking commented " Thornleigh triumphs again" in the guest book and were a repeat booking of a family gathering who we are sure socialised appropriately throughout the house and into the late evenings like most of our guests do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy153
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Do Location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Twelve Hens and one Bride to be arrived at Thornleigh House and were wowed by how lovely the house was. It is a beautiful house with so much space. We had a fantastically pampered weekend. We've never seen a rental house with such a well equipped kitchen. The Kitchen/dining room area was a great space and where we spent most of our time all gathered around the huge table. The hot tub was just a lovely luxury and the games room a lot of fun. The beds were so comfortable and the house was extremely clean. We couldn't have asked for more.
We also had a nice time walking around Matlock food festival and finding hidden gems in all of the antique shops. We had the perfect relaxing hen do for our bride.
We all said we'd definitely stay again and recommend to others. Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge kitchen/dinner and the hot tub.
Liked least: Parking was limited for such a big house due to 1 hour road limits but a car park isn't far away and a reasonable price
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo G
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning house in a stunning location - didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I booked Thornleigh for my hen do, as I was looking for something a little different to the usual city break. Matlock Bath is one of my favourite places to visit, and as we are only a 40 minute drive away, Matlock was an ideal choice to give a balance between the countryside and a town.
Thornleigh was an amazing find, and I felt blessed that it was available! Rachel and Mark answered any queries beforehand and Mark even gave me a heads up that there had been more enquiries for the same weekend - so I gave my hens a nudge and the decision was made.
We arrived a little early and I text to ask if we could store our chilled food which was no problem as the house was ready. Parking is limited (3 cars max) and a little tight if you are a nervy driver! But ample street parking was available just around the corner.
When I entered the house I was like a child at Christmas! It's just the sort of house I'd love to live in. Very spacious, tastefully decorated in keeping with the feel of the area. (Mark and Rachel, I love the drawers and the bird hanging in the living room!) 6 great sized bedrooms, which most can be split into singles or had as doubles. The beds were so very comfortable! The linen etc made you feel like a home away from home - one of the girls wanted to check out the matresses she liked them so much but forgot!
The hot tub and sauna are fantastic additions to really make the house a holiday home as opposed to a normal home away from home! A couple of games of pool were also enjoyed!
We had a lovely bbq on the Friday (take your coals), went to the farm park Saturday day and Vivas Saturday night (great food and 10% discount for staying at Thornleigh), and a few of us (that weren't too hungover) walked to Matlock Bath Sunday before a large roast cooked at the house!
Tips for travellers - don't pack your kitchen sink (like I did), there are hairdryers, irons, all kitchen utensils etc. Don't be too frightened about the welcome pack and booking terms - I was, but we enjoyed late nights up drinking - just be respectful (according to one of my hens, my late night rendition of 'like a virgin' was borderline in this respect). In the garden we kept the noise down, and did adhere to all hot tub 'rules'. Also, although there are quite a few reviews from hens, the property is also ideal for families - loads of toys and games etc for kids.
5* all round, I'm already trying to convince us to take our other halves back with us next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$699
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing