We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house for a group of friends.”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rljcrljc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous house for a group of friends.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a fantastic weekend in this lovely house with five other couples. Centrally located in Matlock so perfect for shops, restaurants etc but also great walks straight from the door. An easy walk by the river to Matlock Bath and The Heights of Abraham. We didn't use our cars at all. Had a lovely meal at Thailand No 1 on Saturday night - we booked 3 weeks in advance and were glad we did as they were turning people away all night. All the rooms were clean and spacious, the only downside would be the singles on the second floor having to go downstairs to use the toilet and bathroom. The hot tub and games room were brilliant and we have never stayed anywhere with such a well equipped kitchen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
1 review
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed as a family get together to celebrate New Year.. The house caters for everything..Nice fun had playng Pool or Table Tennis in the games room,Nice relaxation took place in the hot tub, Loved cooking in a massive Kitchen...Large table so great for a feast....Fantastic Location...Matlock has everything you need so we never had to drive anywhere..We used the bus or train as its right there at the ready for you..Shops pubs restaurants etc all in Matlock..Loved going for a run each morning along the river... It was still very Christmassy everywhere ...The local people are very friendly and always willing to help if you needed directions to anywhere...Matlock Baths is a 30 min walk away with nice views along the way so keep your Camera close by...I would recommend this to anyone who would like a family/close friends break..I bet it's just as nice in the summer time too...We didn't want to leave so you know it must be worth a stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArranWake...
Wakefield UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab weekend had by all!”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thornleigh House was the perfect venue for our girls weekend away. When I first booked the house, I was concerned after reading other reviews about complaints over noise, especially for 12 loud girls who don't get out much! I had no reason to worry. So long as you adhere to the rules of being out of the hot tub and keeping the noise levels inside at a reasonable volume after 11pm, it's fine.

The house is well equipped with everything you need and the hot tub was enjoyed by all throughout the stay. It's in the centre of Matlock with all the shops, bars and amenities just a short walk away.

We used Strand Fine Catering to provide a in house fine dining service on Saturday night and I would strongly recommend the company.

A fab weekend was had by all and I would highly recommend the venue.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennlittl...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A group of 10 girls stayed here for a long weekend for a hen do and we were all absolutely delighted with the house and found the price extremely reasonable. Check in is from 3pm and check out at 10am.

Location firstly is excellent for Matlock town and is within very short walking distance (and Bakewell is a 15 minute drive). We drove to Bakewell and rented bikes to cycle the Monsal trail, which is well worth it.

The house is absolutely gorgeous, clean and very spacious. We all loved the fantastic, well equipped kitchen which had everything you might possibly require (including shot glasses, plenty of cups, plates, cutlery, pots, pans etc!) and the owners even left us a lovely welcome package! There are 6 bedrooms spread over 3 floors and most have en-suites. Everything is well decorated and maintained to a high standard. This really was a great base for a hen do weekend.

We throughly enjoyed the hot tub too and spent much of our weekend relaxing there.

We also recommend eating at Stones restaurant - lovely food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire118...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for big groups”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the best time at Thornleigh during our family reunion. It was really well equipped and clean (I am very pedantic about cleanliness). It felt like a home without feeling like you were in someone else's house.

The kitchen was fabulous, the 12 of us spent most of the weekend all sat round the table catching up and when we did go out it was so central everything was easy to get to.

I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhawkswor...
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thornleigh was lovely to stay at for my future daughter in laws hen party every one had a great time kitchen was great for everyone to get together and had a lovely meal at Viva Italian
All the young ones really enjoyed the hot tub and we booked a visit from the visiting spa which was fantastic and relaxing

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect house for Hen Weekend or trip away with family and friends”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I booked to stay at Thornleigh almost a year before our planned visit after falling in love with the place via the pitctures on the website. I had searched and searched for a place that met the requirements stipulated by my best friend for her hen weekend (she wanted a group of 13, in a nice house, with a hot tub and a wood burner). I think I eventually found Thornleigh via one of the hen party websites. I contacted the owners and they got back to me promptly to confirm availability. They were also on hand in the months leading up to our visit to answer any questions or queries we had (regarding parking, check in etc). At one point, I had a little wobble following reading some reviews on trip advisor, but the owners were able to put my mind at rest and even offered to let us stay at one of their other properties if we felt that Thornleigh wouldn't be right for us. In the end, I decided to stick with my original decision and stay at Thornleigh and I am really glad I did. I was organising this hen weekend on my own which was a huge responsibility but in choosing to stay at Thornleigh, we couldn't fail to have a wonderful time. it is situated right in the centre if Matlock, 1-2 mins walk for the high street where there are shops, restaurants and bars as well as some nice places to walk.
We arrived on Friday at 2pm (the owners had been really amenable and allowed us to check in an hour early) and we were so impressed with what we found. the house was really cold when we arrived but soon warmed up once the heating was on. we decoarted it with bunting, banners, confetti and pictures which we stuck up all over the house.
The house is extremely spacious, all the rooms are beautifully decorated and we were able to chose to have single beds in most rooms which was great.
The kitchen is a real asset and is spacious and fully equipped with every kitchen utensil you could imagine. there is a lovely big fridge freezer and I made the mistake of bringing two bags of ice, but this wasn't necessary as the freezer was already full of ice!
The living room is nice and spacious and the only downside I found was that the sofas are plasticy leather and not very comfortable for lounging around on, but this was a minor aside and in no way took away from the charm and cozy feel of the house as a whole.
The hot tub was the main highlight of the weekend for us and we had such a fabulous time on the friday evening enjoying it. Such a luxury!
During the weekend, we had a lovely lunch at Stones restaurant in Matlock who offer a discount for guests staying at Thornleigh. We also did a champagne and fizz tasting with Ingrid and Chris from Peak Wine which I would highly recommend (you will taste some beautiful wines and also learn a lot!) and we had a lovely relaxing treatment with My Personal Sanctuary who came to the house on the Sunday and did massages, facials and pedicures which were truly divine. On the Sunday night we ordered an Indian takeaway from the Shalimar and it was the best curry I've ever had. We were so sad to leave on the Monday morning and my friend the bride to be, whose hen weekend it was, said it was one of the best weekends of her life.
I just want to address some of the comments made below by others as I lost a lot of sleep over whether this was the right place for our hen weekend. There are a lot of rules/signs around as well as the booking terms and conditions that request guests to be respectful with regarding to noise and to remember that Thornleigh is in a residential area. Not only is it in a residential area, it is a semi detached house. We adhered to the rules of not going in the hot tub after 11pm (we were out by 10pm every night) and no one was in the garden after 11pm, aside from perhaps popping out for a cigarette. we also ensured that we kept the noise down in the kitchen after 11pm as the kitchen is directly joined to the house next door. However, we were by no means silent after this time, we still had music on in the living room and were talking and enjoying each other's company and going up and down the stairs. I fully expected that the neighbours would come round and complain having read the reviews below and I was all geared up to apologise profusely and instructed the group to quieted down, but they didn't come round and complaint. Not once. So I assume they either couldn't hear us or are much more tolerant that the reviews below have made them out to be. What I am trying to say is, PLEASE do not let these comments worry you or put you off. I felt so much responsibility in organising this weekend and was genuinely worried and upset by the reviews, but they were completely unfounded. We couldn't have asked for a better house for our weekend or better hosts.
The only things I would recommend to the owners for next time is that they perhaps but hand soap in the bathrooms and in the kitchen, that was literally the only thing that was lacking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hot tub
Liked least: not being able to be in the hot tub after 11pm
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing