We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding House in a Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753 The main guest lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753
The main guest lounge
Superbly equipped large kitchen with additional seating
Master bedroom, with views over Knowleston gardens
Victorial style bathroom, ideal for relaxing after a day walking in the Peak District
Double en-suite room
Twin, en-suite bedroom
Individually designed twin bedroom
The 'old kitchen'  dating from the 17th century. Another lounge room, ideal to sit and chat...
Peak District - a stunning location throughout the year
A view of Bakewell bridge
The River Derwent
Hall Leys Park next to Derwent House
A View of Derbyshire
A country walk followed by lunch at the Eyre Arms?
Ladybower Dam
A welcoming stay awaits
Breakfast in bed?
Ladybower Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding House in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

What a beautiful house, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a stay. Damien (the owner) is very friendly and is happy to assist throughout, from placing the booking and during the stay. We stayed for a long wkend and the location next to the lovely Hall Leys Park was brilliant. Would highly recommend a stay in this amazing house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail, beautiful fresh flowers in every room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Atmospheric historic house - great for a big group”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I booked Derwent House to share my 60th birthday with family and friends. Very impressed with the house and the service in booking. Loved the big kitchen, the range of bedrooms, the cosy front room. The position was great too - very near both the town and for walks. The park next door was good too. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A warm convenient, historic house.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastc family venue”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Extremely friendly host, nothing was too much trouble. Everything you would need was included in the property which was immaculate and cosy. We met up with close family for a 60th birthday celebration and will definately return. The house was in a great location for nice walks and friendly pubs even though we were quite happy to stay in with all the house facilities and the large dining table. Bedrooms and associated bathrooms were well equipped and immaculately decorated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Keep this a secret!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Please don't all go at once otherwise we won't be able to get a room! This house is brilliant for a family stay. We were 12 of mixed ages and the house works in so many ways. It the most extensively equipped house you could wish to stay in. Rooms are lovely and cosy, bathrooms excellent, the kitchen most cooks would take home with them. We felt very much at "home" and there were many thoughtful products left for us when we arrived, not just milk and butter but a lovely cake and chocolates for the children too. We will be back! First class, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was of the highest quality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa b
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect location!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at Derwent House in a group of 10 and we miss it already! The house is stunning and stylish with a huge and very well equipped kitchen. Nearly all the rooms have en suites and they are each individually decorated to a very high standard. The dining room was perfect for us all to sit down together and the owners even let us use their gas BBQ on one night which was a lovely touch. The location is great and very easy to wander around Matlock, we also went for a walk to Derwent Valleymand vusited Bakewell. We are already planning our next stay so would definitely recommend staying here for a big group of friends or family getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amazing kitchen and beautiful decor
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant house, elegant, comfortable and yet still homely.”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The owners of the house made us feel very welcome and were happy to answer any of our questions about the area. The house is in a peaceful location opposite a park. Step inside and you are in for a treat. The house is beautifully furnished and provides everything you need for a comfortable stay. The attention to detail is amazing from beautiful flowers to fluffy towels and a well equiped kitchen. We have stayed in many locations in the UK but this house will be difficult to beat! Finally Matlock and the surrounding area is a haven for those who like walking. The choice of walks is endless from gentle rolling countryside to rugged hills. Derwent house is a brilliant place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was spectacularly comfortable and welcoming.
Liked least: There is only a small court yard garden but the park is opposite
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenB...
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect for Family get-together”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

August 2011 was our 2nd visit to Derwent House and we are booked in again for October 2012. This is a perfect location for us meet up as a family and the accommodation is superb. plenty of room, beautifully decorated and the the fact that you can book self-catering accommodation for a long weekend is such a bonus. The house is in a lovely area and the children enjoyed the 'Splishy-spashy' park next door. We didn't eat out as the dining facilities in the house are second to none and we loved sitting around the dining table. Before discovering Derwent House we had our annual reunion in the various parts of the UK in which we live-not again, it's Matlock every year from now on!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing