We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Birthday weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753 The main guest lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753
The main guest lounge
Superbly equipped large kitchen with additional seating
Master bedroom, with views over Knowleston gardens
Victorial style bathroom, ideal for relaxing after a day walking in the Peak District
Double en-suite room
Twin, en-suite bedroom
Individually designed twin bedroom
The 'old kitchen'  dating from the 17th century. Another lounge room, ideal to sit and chat...
Peak District - a stunning location throughout the year
A view of Bakewell bridge
The River Derwent
Hall Leys Park next to Derwent House
A View of Derbyshire
A country walk followed by lunch at the Eyre Arms?
Ladybower Dam
A welcoming stay awaits
Breakfast in bed?
Ladybower Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Birthday weekend”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you for a wonderful house to spend our weekend. Extended family of 11 on a celebration/birthday weekend. The house is superbly appointed, even down to fresh flowers everywhere. Spices etc there to use. Well equipped kitchen with everything you needed. Comfy bed and fluffy towels. Close to town for restaurants and park, and close to the major Peak District attractions. Even the weather was good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pleny fo space for everyone to sit at the table and large lounges.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house in a fabulous location”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our second time at Derwent House and I'm sure we'll be booking again. It's a lovely house in a lovely spot and is beautifully presented. Lots of space, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, a delightful park just outside and a short walk to shops and restaurants. Just what you need for a big get together - highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy H
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly Equipped and very well appointed”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Group of 12 adults plus 2 dogs stayed for a long weekend Friday to Monday. As we had planned to do our own catering rather than eat out we found this place perfectly well equipped with a seemingly endless supply of kitchen utensils, cooking and dining equipment. Huge dining table which seated all 12 of us. Beautifully appointed interior decor, well looked after and maintained. Three bedrooms have full ensuite facilities. Double room on the top floor has a toilet and a sink and we understand is to be fitted with a shower in the near future (we had this room and I've got to say it's the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in away from home). Only downside was that two of the rooms had no toilet or wash facilities so there was the occasional queue for the bathroom, which only has a bath, no shower cubicle. But, anyone can live with this for a couple of days. If you are a light sleeper and are in a room at the front of the house I would recommend earplugs, otherwise you're likely to get woken up by the church bell which is at the top of the cliff opposite.
This house has everything you could possibly need even down to dishcloths, washing up stuff in the kitchen and towels in your rooms.
The lounge is spacious and comfy too.
It is situated in a lovely quiet (apart from the church bell) spot overlooking the park; parking can be an issue as it's on the street and can get busy. But the website does warn of this and suggests alternatives.
Overall a great weekend walking with friends in Derbyshire, and we're definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed.
Liked least: The church bells in the middle of the night.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babsr105
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Derwent House has everything you could possibly need. It is superbly equipped throughout, very clean and extremely comfortable and warm. Very spacious too. We had five under fives with us and there was plenty of room for them to play and they loved exploring the house.

There is no back garden, just a courtyard but it really doesn't matter as the park is a just a stone's throw away. And we really liked that we could just walk to the shops or for something to eat (although we didn't actually sample the local cuisine on this occasion - next time).

We would definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all.
Liked least: I guess if I have to say something then it's the fact that you can't always park just outside. But parking in the cricket club really isn't an issue and we were always able to move our car back outside the house in the evening.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnkc201...
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Family Holiday/Reunion”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A substantial period house only a five minute riverside walk from the centre of Matlock. The owners have thought of virtually everything to make your stay very comfortable.....the large kitchen is comprehensively equipped, a "snug" room, next to the kitchen with a sofa and comfortable chairs and two cupboards full of a wide selection of games, maps and books, is a great area for the kids to play. Four double & two twin-bedded rooms, of varying sizes to suit a large family or groups of friends, are nicely furnished with quality fittings and very comfortable beds. We stayed for 6 days just after Christmas and into the New Year, and a nice touch was the ground floor rooms had been decorated with a big Christmas tree and tasteful decorations.
Snow lay on the ground outside, and it was bitterly cold for three days but the house was wonderfully warm with a very efficient central heating system and plenty of hot water.
We loved the location in old Matlock, with great walks along the riverside and around the town, or up past the church onto High Tor overlooking Matlock and the surrounding Derbyshire countryside. Only one disappointment and frustration...the WiFi system was incredibly slow...even for basic internet surfing or emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent, comprehensive facilities, close to Matlock Town
Liked least: Poor WiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spike495
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming Derwent House”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The house is absolutely charming and is perfect for a large group or family weekend. The fresh flowers in the downstairs reception rooms were beautiful and certainly added to the ambience of the property. Also an abundance of piping hot water was very much appreciated.

The location is excellent, quiet yet just a five minute stroll through the park into town. Matlock is also an ideal base for exploring Derbyshire. We actually bought tickets for Abraham Heights and Chatsworth from the owners which not only saved us money but made the entrance into both attractions much smoother. We walked straight from Derwent House to the cable car station for Abraham Heights which was a stunning walk with breathtaking views.

We would definitely recommend this property to any large groups. The owners are extremely attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Perfect - we look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is excellent - full of character. Perfect location.
Liked least: Nothing here - it was all good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rach23el
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Derwent House”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Derwent House is the perfect location for a gathering of extended family and easily takes twelve people. The house has everything you possibly need with lots of added extras from board games to a very well equipped kitchen we were delighted with our stay. The area is quiet and peaceful with a playground over the road which was excellent for the younger members of our family.
The owners are both kind and polite and willing help with any query.
A very memorable trip, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing