We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great find!!”
Review of Black Cat Cafe

Black Cat Cafe
Ranked #40 of 152 Restaurants in Matlock
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Great little cafe. You feel welcome as soon as you walk in. Food and atmosphere is brilliant. Would highly recommend a visit

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank caraanderson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

My husband spotted this cafe as we were having a stroll around Matlock. What a lovely little cafe. The owner was very friendly and even told of a local place that was worth a visit. Found the place spotlessly clean. We just had a cup of tea and a scone. Both were very nice. The only reason I didn’t give it a rating of five is because the teapot didn’t quite have enough in it for two mugs and because they don’t cook in a back room you do come out smelling of chips. Saying that it won’t put me off going again

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank tracey50b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

The Black Cat cafe is Nestled in a lovely little courtyard, Where a great breakfast & warm welcome awaits you.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Misty_8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

We were holding a reunion of friends after 42 years and we’re struggling to find a cafe that could accommodate 8. The owner of the Black Cat couldn’t have been more welcoming, taking 8 sets of photos and allowing us to linger over his wholesome food. As a result we returned three times over the course of our stay. Go in. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

Place needs some tlc. Toilets smell of damp n the place smells of fried food. We sat outside and enjoyed a lovely latte.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank wren76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Cafe also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to Black Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing