We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal lovely place ”
Review of Moja

Moja
Ranked #23 of 151 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Finest Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine. Offering A Restaurant & Takeaway Service. A New Concept Of Bring Your Own Alcohol In!
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

I visited sat 20th jan with 3 freinds . I arrived before my freinds and although they were running very late i didnt feel pushed or awkward and appreciated the staffs patience greatly while i held the table alone.

The restaurant isn't licensed so you are encouraged to bring your own alcohol. And reminded so when you book

We all orderd poppadums and pickle tray and then had a curry main. A rice and we shared 2 nan breads between 4 of us and had a side of Bombay potatoes

I had the exotica curry (mix chick.prawn.lamb) in a gorgeous sauce so tasty and not hot. And i had mushroom rice and Peshawari nan. There was so much filling in the nan it was the best ive had Ever !!

All my freinds commented how tasty their currys were. A korma. A jalfrezi and special from the menu but i cant remeber what the 4 the was called sorry. murgh something. And my freind advised it was utterly delicious

The staff were attentive filled our glasses with out bought in wine and beers. We had table water.

Lovely clean restaurant. Didnt feel rushed and it came to £70 which i thought was good for a very good meal for 4 .

Highly recommended. Many thanks we will be back !!!

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank pudcake1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed H, Manager at Moja, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you very much, your custom is very much appreciated and we would be more than delighted to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2018

Called in after being out all day, I had the chicken dupiaza, really large meal, so much I couldn’t eat it all. Always a lovely curry at the Moja, very attentive staff and great service.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed H, Manager at Moja, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you very much, your custom is very much appreciated and we would be more than delighted to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Took my grandchildren tonight 4/1 what a lovely welcome superb food so tasty Exotica was so good, chicken, lamb and prawns in medium sauce. Children had tikka and biriani Lovely started too recommended the naan garlic with cheese yummy. Well done Moja, staff exceptional

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank patbI8577ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed H, Manager at Moja, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you very much, your custom is very much appreciated and we would be more than delighted to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We went in on a snowy December Sunday evening and were the only ones in. No problem with service. Food was a mixed bag, some very good and tasty, some ok and some mmmm! No alcohol but I think you do get stung for soft drinks. Probably better sticking with take aways.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed H, Manager at Moja, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you very much, your custom is very much appreciated and we would be more than delighted to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

We went to Moja on Saturday night about 5 pm after reading the billboard outside the restaurant saying special early menu for £12.95 until 6.30 pm. Four of us went into the restaurant and we were welcomed. We were given menus straight away and we enquiried about the early menu and were told that they didn’t do it any longer and the board had to be altered! We were a bit taken aback as they were advertising an offer that they weren’t offering once we were seated inside the restaurant. Anyway we ordered from the main menu poppadoms with spices and we each had a curry with rice and naan bread. The food was excellent and the staff were good too that’s why I’ve given them 5 stars. Disappointed with the way we were drawn into the restaurant by false advertising! Anyway it didn’t spoil our evening and the food was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed H, Manager at Moja, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you very much, your custom is very much appreciated and we would be more than delighted to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moja also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Moja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing