We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking time Chris!”

Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Outdoor adventure activities for the whole family. Canoe River Trips and flat water canoe adventures. Underground caving adventure. 80ft abseiling. Please check out the website for more information.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 2 sons aged 12 and 14 had a fantastic mornings climb at Windgather rocks on Good Friday.Many thanks to Chris for his help,humour ,encouragement and patience.The boys had different levels of experience but Chris managed to get the best out of both of them.Would also highly recommend the Miller s Dale abseil which we did 13 months ago.Again,with patience and encouragement,both boys really enjoyed the abseiling though one had been very scared initially! Looking forward to some canoeing sometime soon

Thank helenary2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"millers dale"
in 3 reviews
"abseiling"
in 9 reviews
"canoeing"
in 5 reviews
"encouragement"
in 2 reviews
"abilities"
in 2 reviews
"diving"
in 4 reviews
"bridge"
in 5 reviews
"instructor"
in 3 reviews
"session"
in 2 reviews
"instructions"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great experience. Purchased this for my son's 10th birthday and my 43rd. Chris was a really good guide, very knowledgeable and gave us all the encouragement we needed. If you sign up for this expect to get wet.

Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Manager at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review It is appreciated.
Cheers Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an absolutely awesome time with my two boys, 10 and 12, in the Carlswalk Cave system. Chris was the ultimate professional right from the start. We met at 1.30 and he kitted us out with everything we needed for the adventure. He first took us on a couple of shorter routes so he could assess our abilities and before we knew it we were inside the main cave slithering through the tightest of gaps and wading through muddy water! It was absolutely fantastic. At several points we were treated to some history and geography of the area, all pitched at a level all three of us could understand.
I wanted to take my boys on an exciting afternoon challenge and was certainly not disappointed!
Chris was exceptional and provided one the best activities I have taken my boys on. Absolutely no hesitation recommending Chris for your next adventure/ challenge!
Thank you!

Thank Carolynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review it is appreciated.
Really pleased you all enjoyed yourselves.
Thanks
Chris A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Chris Adkin is a true professional.
Caving was excited a little scary but such an absolutely brilliant experience a definate must! See you again soon Chris x

Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Many thanks for your review it is appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Having used Chris previously for other activities, it was a no-brainer to return and use his outstanding knowledge and expertise for another day of action filled outdoor adventure.

We started in the morning with Caving, using the Carlswark Caving System. His knowledge of the caves and the geology was impressive to listen to, and he made every effort to explain things along the way. There was no pressure to do anything you were not happy with, and Chris made sure he understood your abilities before continuing on some of the harder and tighter routes. Chris takes plenty of pictures to allow you to reflect on the fun of the day.

The Abseiling was greatly amplified with the snow backdrop on this February day. We lowered ourselves from Millers Dale Bridge, with complete trust in Chris with his calm and reassuring teaching and instruction. Within the hour, nerves had passed and we couldn’t get back on the ropes quick enough to go again.

Chris is an excellent guide, funny and all round perfect guy. Very well organised and communication was excellent.

Don’t hesitate to use him for your outdoor activities, you wont be dissapointed. Already looking at dates to come back!

Thank Chris_Green17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your glowing report on your trip with Peaks and Paddles - it is very much appreciated.
Really pleased you both enjoyed yourselves.
Great to hear your booking in again for some more action later in the year - canoeing and mining.
Look forward to seeing you then too.

Cheers
Chris A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing