We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Family Canoeing on Derwent

A fantastic morning with Chris canoeing down the Derwent. Chris covered all safety aspects before... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
lee s
,
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
via mobile
Canoeing down the Derwent .

2 adults and 4 teenagers took 3 canadian canoes down the river Derwent for a few hours under the... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
542frankm542
,
Grantham, United Kingdom
Read all 25 reviews
  
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millers dale fantastic morning abseiling canoeing encouragement techniques diving bridge instructor abilities derwent expert session
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 25 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Great experience. Purchased this for my son's 10th birthday and my 43rd. Chris was a really good guide, very knowledgeable and gave us all the encouragement we needed. If you sign up for this expect to get wet.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Manager at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Many thanks for your review It is appreciated.
Cheers Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Had an absolutely awesome time with my two boys, 10 and 12, in the Carlswalk Cave system. Chris was the ultimate professional right from the start. We met at 1.30 and he kitted us out with everything we needed for the adventure. He first took us on a couple of shorter routes so he could assess our abilities and before we knew it we were inside the main cave slithering through the tightest of gaps and wading through muddy water! It was absolutely fantastic. At several points we were treated to some history and geography of the area, all pitched at a level all three of us could understand.
I wanted to take my boys on an exciting afternoon challenge and was certainly not disappointed!
Chris was exceptional and provided one the best activities I have taken my boys on. Absolutely no hesitation recommending Chris for your next adventure/ challenge!
Thank you!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Carolynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Many thanks for your review it is appreciated.
Really pleased you all enjoyed yourselves.
Thanks
Chris A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Chris Adkin is a true professional.
Caving was excited a little scary but such an absolutely brilliant experience a definate must! See you again soon Chris x

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Many thanks for your review it is appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

Having used Chris previously for other activities, it was a no-brainer to return and use his outstanding knowledge and expertise for another day of action filled outdoor adventure.

We started in the morning with Caving, using the Carlswark Caving System. His knowledge of the caves and the geology was impressive to listen to, and he made every effort to explain things along the way. There was no pressure to do anything you were not happy with, and Chris made sure he understood your abilities before continuing on some of the harder and tighter routes. Chris takes plenty of pictures to allow you to reflect on the fun of the day.

The Abseiling was greatly amplified with the snow backdrop on this February day. We lowered ourselves from Millers Dale Bridge, with complete trust in Chris with his calm and reassuring teaching and instruction. Within the hour, nerves had passed and we couldn’t get back on the ropes quick enough to go again.

Chris is an excellent guide, funny and all round perfect guy. Very well organised and communication was excellent.

Don’t hesitate to use him for your outdoor activities, you wont be dissapointed. Already looking at dates to come back!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Chris_Green17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your glowing report on your trip with Peaks and Paddles - it is very much appreciated.
Really pleased you both enjoyed yourselves.
Great to hear your booking in again for some more action later in the year - canoeing and mining.
Look forward to seeing you then too.

Cheers
Chris A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

An excellent morning abseiling with Chris. He is everything you need in an outdoor guide: safe and calm, with a great sense of humour. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, Owner at Peaks and Paddles Outdoor Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Many thanks for your review.
Very pleased you have enjoyed your experience.
Thanks Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews