We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Atmospheric, charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Atmospheric, charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Old Deanery 23/24 January 2012. a cobbled street away from the heart of Ripon. The room, was large and clean. Spent a few happy hours sat by the roaring open fire in the bar/lounge whilst it poured with rain outside!. Had two evening meals in the restaurant one of which in the window overlooking the fog swirling around the cathedral- quite magical. The food was lovely although same menu for both nights. Staff more than happy to change the vegetarian course when asked. Breakfast- fantastic quality. The best thing about this hotel is the lovely two young lads- front of house. Both very pleasant and chatty- a credit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hehe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
A very late response sorry. That's Ben, now my assistant manager, and Brett. They are a few of the reasons why I may be able to take a holiday! Thanks so much for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    79
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
71
231
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just returned from a night at "The Old Deanery" and would like to thank all the staff for a lovely night away. I agree with other reviews re the hotel requiring an update however this in no way spoilt our stay. We stayed in room 9 room (an attic room) and could quite happily have stayed there for a week. It was a fab big room with lots of character and charm with an equally big beautiful bathroom. The room was very clean with plenty of plugs and a spot light which was very useful for putting makeup on. The hotel has wifi which I'm not sure they advertise. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. A great small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon72Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you very much indeed for your compliments and for your understanding. Painting starts on December 18th on the smaller staircase side and the rest will be tackled when we are closed from the first to the ninth of january for a week of change! It is lovely with the Xmas tree and the log fires now and I hope you both have a very happy Christmas. I hoped that you would recommend it to a friend though!! Best regards, Linda (Owner/Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Enjoyed a night on the second floor with great view of the Cathedral. Quite spooky with it comming up to Haloween, listening to the Owl hooting at night clock chiming on the hour.
The Dinner was amazing as was the breakfast. The staff were chatty and helpful. Only complaint was that the bed was a bit lumpy and could do with a new matress..thats all. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
It was good to hear your comments about our food and my staff. Forgive the bed which has now disappeared. I replaced the bed and mattress - yesterday! I know I should spend a night in each bed to check them out so I'll do that as soon as possible. Many thanks. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed over at the Old Deanery following a gourmet dinner evening with wines. Our room was spacious with a four poster bed, and although some modern furniture had been introduced, including a flat screen TV, it was still old fashioned with wooden shutters at the windows instead of curtains! The bathroom was quaint, but the water was hot, the towels fluffy and the shower was good so no complaints. Wish there had been duvets on the bed instead of blankets, though. The corridors outside the bedrooms are in need of a makeover - plain magnolia walls, chipped paintwork and no paintings or decorations. All the floors are uneven (bit like being in a crazy house when walking upstairs) but this adds to the charm. The food was excellent, including the gourmet dinner & breakfast next morning. The young staff were courteous and helpful - they even brought the large screen TV out of the conference room and installed it in the bar so we could watch the rugby. And although our room was opposite the cathedral, I certainly didn't hear any chimes during the night (but perhaps that had something to do with the Bordeaux we had consumed!) We are now on the mailing list and will certainly stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CugsyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We attended the Bordeaux dinner as well and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The corridors are awaiting a makeover in January and then we shall add some art work! Your preference for duvets has been noted. there is a huge debate going on; some people say how glad they are that we have sheets and blankets. I am keeping tally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Sunday Lunch at The Old Deanery is not to be missed, the food is fantastic with a
very good choice and perfectly presented.
The staff are attentive and very friendly but professional at all times.A real treat
without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We really enjoy Sunday lunch service as well, because its a very relaxed friendly day. The beef is great but I am glad you appreciated the choice. You can have it in the garden in the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Excellent value, friendly and helpful, great room even in the attic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Good value at this hotel right next to the Cathedral in the centre of Ripon. Not luxurious but very nice indeed with a modern bathroom and a very comfortable bed. we were there for the Music festival and the staff were keen to make sure that we dined in time to get to the concert which meant we dined alone except for the concert soloist who was also a guest.
Breakfast very good and freshly cooked to order. Would stay again.
Slight down -side, we would have liked a snack when we returned from the concert as we had dined early but no food was available as it was after 9pm

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thanks for your compliments and apologies for the lack of out of dining hours food. We are discussing what we can do to provide that bit better service in this area. Many people want to go to the Cathedral and we should be able to provide a lae or early supper. More later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
18.1 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,359 reviews
13.3 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Property: The Old Deanery
Address: Old Deanery Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Deanery is a laid back and lovely old building, dating from 1625, full of character, located right next to the magnificent Ripon Cathedral. Inside it is stylish and comfortable. A warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and very good food is what you can expect to find in this small hotel run by the owner, Linda, and her superb team of the finest home grown Yorkshire staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity.ca and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing