We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin style at affordable prices”
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Old Deanery has old fashioned courtesy and old fashioned linen sheets. It also has style. Style in furnishings, style in its cuisine and if ever a hotel deserved a Michelin star it is this one. Describing itself as a 'Restaurant with Rooms' allows a smile. But when the bill is presented in the morning the smile radiates. At £25 per head for two courses at dinner and £105 b&b for a room fit for the eclesiastical heirarchy, with a bath that could house the whole Chapter, I have never experienced such grace and imagination at this price in an English hotel. The chef creates dishes from locally sourced ingredients and presents them beautifully. My Rose Veal was cooked to just the right side of pink and a bottle of light,crisp Rose complimented it perfectly. My wife's Sea Bass, caught off the North Yorkshire Coast, was served on a bed of samphire and set off with Cod cheeks. Breakfast was sumptuous with locally made butter, home made bread and fresh eggs allowing a choice of smoked salmon or smoked haddock also. Brake's Brothers were excommunicated a long time ago. This restuarant has earned its accolades.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking Ripon Cathedral, it adds to the sense of place.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Well, thank you for your evident enjoyment and for your praise of the value for money of this quality of food. I have total confidence in the chefs but it would take a lot more investment in time, money and extras, such as canapes, extra courses and all the paraphernalia associated with accolades, for us to be awarded something that prestigious. I may have to settle for pleasing 80% of my guests most of the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for The Old Deanery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Old Deanery whilst on the Way of the Roses coast to coast cycle ride this weekend. The hotel was an absolute delight, a perfect location right en route and overlooking the Cathedral.

The rooms were beautiful - we had three in our party and all were fantastic. Room 4 (I think) has a huge bath and cathedral views. Molton Brown toiletries and fluffy white dressing gowns were a real treat too.

The food was delicious and exceptional value. We'll certainly be back to enjoy their Sunday lunch menu again.

Overall the service was exceptional, beds comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms, amazing food and wonderful location - we couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the cathedral have lovely views but be aware that the clock chimes!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

The Way of the Roses cycle route is a real winner for Ripon and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves here. That free drink is a nod to your fortitude!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped as part of the Way of the Roses cycle ride - 30 seconds off route and a free round of drinks as you are doing the ride.

Beautiful building and great rooms. 3 course Sunday supper was unbelievable value - couldn't recommend it enough.

Service was friendly and efficient. Would happily stay again - and might just go back for the food alone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Owner at The Old Deanery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Room 3 overlooks the Cathedral as well as 1 and 5. One reviewer said it adds to the sense of place but we do have ear plugs for those who find the clock a problem! Anyway, I am delighted your party enjoyed the food and I hope we shall see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for the weekend with a large group of friends and family, food over the weekend was excellent,cannot fault it at all,as was the quality of beer on tap.

Staff all very friendly and helpful, when minors issues were pointed out in the room and planning for the wedding,they were all sorted very very quickly.

Only disappointment was the bed being uncomfortable with blankets and very hard.
The owners could do so much more business if the marketing was sharpend up, with new more prominant signs outside the Hotel and next to the Catherdral

Room Tip: Front rooms have view of catherdal but noise of the bells!! Back rooms view of the garden and quiet...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ustwoJnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Family and pet dog stayed at the Old Deanery for 1 night. Large quiet family room on top floor oak beamed with big shower room. Liked the extras, dressing gowns, Moulton Brown toiletries water bottles and tea making facilities. Room was spotless 10/10 for cleaner, in fact whole hotel is immaculately clean and tidy. Modern fresh design throughout hotel, must have been done up recently. Our room faced the Cathedral which is all lit up at night and the chimes don't effect you at all so fantastic view. There was always a friendly member of staff at hand, we did make a couple of request which were kindly fulfilled no problem. Information was provided to help us on our short trip with directions and a suggestion to see the horn blower at 9pm turned out to be an enjoyable experience. We stayed for Dinner and my husband said it was the best cheesecake he had ever had. Nicely presented too! Breakfast was wonderful, the works, Continental and English breakfast, quality produce used as well. The hotel is in an ideal location leaving your car at the hotel, only takes a minute and your at the shopping area. Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay and very much hope to do it all again sometime. Regards The Grant Family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, but did see a couple of other rooms as doors were open and they looked nice too...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinegirl1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is a fabulous little hotel situated right next to the magnificent Ripon Cathedral. The food is excellent (dinner and breakfast) with friendly and efficient service which was hard to fault. If you plan staying in Ripon this is the place to be. Please note a limited number of bedrooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here as a group of 6 adults. We will start with the room - fantastic - clean and a beautiful bathroom complete with the Moulton and Brown goodies for she who must be obeyed. The first brush with food also impressed - pots of tea and scones which were lovely and taken in the very comfortable bar area.

Onto dinner - simply exceptional. The hoggat was fantastic (and comes replete with an explanation for all you townies by the very helpful waiter) as was the steak . The duck starter was amazing and the scallops and yorkshire parkin is stilla talking point. The rhubarb dessert ( with the rhubarb schnapps of course) was so good all of us had it. Great wine list (not that pricey for the type of place) and even decent pint of black sheep ale for us proper beer drinkers.

A brief stroll around the catheral in the moonlight followed- there are some lovely pictures to be had. A comfy nights sleep was followed by a perfectly weighted ( on the portion front) breakfast with plenty of variety, even kippers for the masochists out there.

All told a splendid stay with exceptional food in a lovely hotel with great staff and a friendly owner. Why stay elsewhere?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotterhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.7 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
781 reviews
13.3 km away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
836 reviews
9.2 km away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
665 reviews
18.1 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Address: Old Deanery Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $168 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your way up the traditional 17th century oak staircase to find 11 bespoke en suite bedrooms, all with their own individual charm and character. With lovely views from both sides of the hotel and all the modern amenities in your room, you are guaranteed a peaceful and restful stay with us. Dog & child friendly, you don't have to leave anyone at home while you explore the stunning Yorkshire Dales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing