We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Sugar mill Tower - 3 levels of decks, a private plunge pool, surrounded by lush gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sugar mill Tower - 3 levels of decks, a private plunge pool, surrounded by lush gardens
The view from the Look Out Hanging chairs at the Look Out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Sugar mill Tower - 3 levels of decks, a private plunge pool, surrounded by lush gardens
The view from the Look Out
Hanging chairs at the Look Out
Kitchen with Breakfast Bar
Breakfast bar in kitchen
Main terrace
Overlooking the Bay from the bedroom middle level
The very romantic master bedroom, a round room with four-poster bed
Al fresco Dining
The master bedroom, ensuite
The master bedroom, ensuite
Second bedroom, ensuite
The little beach by the dock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Riett825
East Moriches, New York
1 review
“The Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Tower is absolutely beautiful with stunning views and lovely outdoor living space. If you are looking for a vacation close enough to everything but far enough from the touristy areas look no further. I can not say enough about this place.
The view were spectacular!
We swam (snorkeled) from the dock, used the paddle boards and were picked up right at the dock for our dives. Can not ask for better than that...
The Tower has it's own plunge pool to enjoy, have a drink and take in the views.
The staff keeps everything very clean and the grounds are just beautiful.
We enjoyed having a car to explore the Island but it is certainly not needed.
Sarah and Donal our hosts were great. They are willing to help with anything you need. (car rental).
They are such a warm and inviting couple and quite interesting too!
We thoroughly enjoyed talking about all their travels.
Grenada is such a great country, the people are warm and friendly and it is such a beautiful Island to explore.
We can not recommend a better place to stay than The Sugar Mill Tower and hope to return soon.
Thank you again Sarah and Donal

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuwaitMjh
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upper class accomadation, perfectly nestled in luscious grounds, perfect!”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Gosh, what a find! The perfect secret escape for two. High quality interior, such a beautiful, quirky building. The Sugar Mill is outside luxurious living at its best. Views which can't help but create a smile, each and every time you gaze at them, endlessly! ( I promise you will! ) The mill offers space and style; you can relax, read on one of the many verandas, take a walk in the tropical gardens, meander down to the jetty, or simply laze around your private pool.

The hosts provided just the right balance of attentiveness and privacy. Thank you Sarah and Donnell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique quirkiness of the Tower, the serenity of the location and wonderful views.
Liked least: Leaving it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattjj276...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, highly recommended”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for a week in April 2016, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and that continued for the whole week.

The tower is set into the hillside down from the main house (which is also amazing, with a fantastic infinity pool looking over the bay)

It is well decorated, has everything you could want and its own plunge pool. There is also a private jetty for the property which is perfect to swim from.

The whole experience from start to finish was perfect and this was in no small part due to Sarah and Donal who are the perfect hosts. They are always available to help but also invisible if you want them to be.

We hired a car for a couple of days from Ray (Parkeys car rental) who came and sorted everything out at our breakfast table, this is the way to hire a car! He sorted everything out and brought the car to us. He is a lovely man and worth using.

The views are amazing and there are quite a few local restaurants of varying styles within a 15 min walk although a car is very useful. If you don't mind a walk its not too far and we used the local bus service to get into St Georges for $EC2.50 per person which was an experience.
We also used the kayaks to go for lunch in Prickly Bay Marina a couple of times instead of walking down the road.
Sarah and Donal were the icing on the cake and also went out shopping for us before we arrived so the fridge was well stocked.

Overall this was a wonderful holiday, the estate and gardens are beautiful, full of birds and iguanas, the views are great, people amazing and I would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, views and the people
Liked least: Nothing it was amazing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you, Matt, for the glowing and helpful review. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again in Grenada.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily A...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect. Simply perfect.”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My fiance and I stayed in the Tower January 2016. He's now my husband! We decided to exchange our vows on this property because it was so beautiful, romantic, and private. We had a simple ceremony with just the 2 of us. We both feel like we chose the PERFECT place. The staff and property manager, Treva, couldn't of been more gracious. We truly felt like VIPs. It was a treat to be in such good hands. We are beyond grateful to have found this place and to of met all the staff and exchange fun stories. We even had a private chef dinner out under the gazebo after exchanging our vows. The meal, table setting, service was top notch! Sushi, Surf and Turf (the chef caught our lobster!!), champagne, and even a decadent chocolate wedding cake! I had so many pinch me moments. Upon request, we arrived at the Tower to a gorgeous flower arrangement and fresh fruit basket, food/wine/beer stocked in the fridge. Our bed had flowers on it too! It made a long travel day disappear into a distant memory.

The property is very well loved by a gardner. There are flowers and greenery everywhere - it's paradise! The Tower was our very own romantic and private getaway. So close to the water and very comfortable. I was so relaxed and giddy with complete contentment. We spent a lot of time just hanging out on the lower deck, reading, talking, and noshing. There were kayaks and SUPs (stand up paddle boards) on the property that we took paddling around the bay. We even kayaked to our massage appt at Calabash Spa. I just loved that. We had our own plunge pool that we took full advantage of - loved dipping at night to cool down before bed. We also used the infinity pool up at the main house. One evening we shared a bottle of white wine while we watched the sunset looking out over the edge of the pool. Pure joy! If you don't stay here I guarantee you are making a mistake. My parents 50th wedding anniversary is this year and I now know the perfect gift. I can't wait for our own anniversaries to start rolling around as this will be a place that we come back too for as long as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you, Emily, for choosing The Sugar Mill Tower. It was a delight to host you. Everyone on staff sends their greetings and well-wishes. We will never forget your beautiful wedding. You and Scott were completely delightful. We look forward to meeting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janelumle...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic hideaway tower overlooking the Caribbean Sea”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We chose Sugar Mill Tower because we wanted something really different, having been to Grenada several times before, mostly in resorts. The mill is just charming and full of character. It is very private, quiet, homely, and set right by the sea so you can hear the waves at night. Many features make it really special: there are attractive aged wooden floors throughout and a wonderfully romantic round bedroom occupied by a huge vintage style four poster bed. There is also a second double bedroom with its own bathroom, so plenty of room for four adults in comfort.

The middle deck offers wonderful views across Prickly Bay and there is a look out at the top of the tower with dining table and chairs; just perfect for a cocktail whilst watching the Caribbean sun sinking over the horizon.

The lower deck is an inside-outside sitting area (so no front wall facing seaward) with sofas, attractive floor lamps, rugs and a dining table and chairs. Adjacent is the kitchen with breakfast bar although we generally chose to eat outside. The pool is small, but enough for a cooling dip and to accommodate my blow-up pool lounger.

We do suggest the use of a hire car although there are some restaurants and bars within a bit of a walk.. We used the car rental company Parkeys suggested by the property manager and they were first class with a decent 4x4 featuring good tyres and a full windscreen washer bottle, which is not always the case in the Caribbean! Petrol stations are numerous and there is plenty of parking at the tiower, but note there are about 40 steps from the parking area down to the tower entrance.

Lance Aux Epines (pronounced Lance Epeen) is a very upmarket peninsula in the South-East of the island with many luxurious villas. It is a very "happening" place if you want some distractions from just relaxing at home, eg there is live music and food every Friday night at the local yacht marina which is frequented by locals and ex-pats. There are also five other restaurants/bars reasonably close by which open on various nights of the week.

The capital St George's is about 10 - 15 minutes' drive away. There is a mini market at the yacht marina although we generally drove to the IGA big supermarket about 10 minutes away which stocks most things you need including quite a lot of imported (and therefore expensive) goods. But note that fresh milk and real orange juice often runs out early so it's good to buy when you see it.

We were recommended by the property manager to the local dive company Scubatech and went on a whale watching trip and were lucky enough to see not one school but two. An amazing day.

The tower is set in the glorious grounds of a large Colonial-style house and the gardens are immaculately maintained with a profusion of flowers, so there was always some for the breakfast table each morning. There were also huge green iguanas in the garden which were a delight to watch. Just like having your own TV wildlife show on tap!

We made use of the kayaks and paddled round the bay. There is also a minuscule beach in the grounds (depending on low water) and a long dock with a shady hut halfway which was nice for a lunchtime drink or watching the sun go down. There is a huge pale golden sand beach at Grand Anse, near the big supermarket shopping complex, which stretches for a mile and a smaller beach at Lance Aux Epines although no facilities unless you go to the hotel next door. Lots of other beaches all over the island.

We found there were too few shaded areas at the tower but the owners are looking into installing a sail shade which will make a huge improvement.

Lastly but very importantly, the property is exceptionally managed to very high standards by the American manager Treva and her team. Nothing was too much trouble and she gave us lots of advice that helped us get the most out of our stay. A very professional, knowledgeable and charming host.

We cannot recommend Grenada highly enough: it's people are warm and friendly, we have always felt safe even in town and driving around in pretty remote countryside, and the community is very vibrant. It's the nearest place to paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, garden, ambience
Liked least: Lack of shade (will be sorted) and trees blocking view of sea from ground floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honestrev...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing spot in Prickly Bay, quirky, comfortable and interesting”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon and loved it. The tower overlooks beautiful Prickly bay, and offers a really original alternative to hotel accommodation, is comfortable and accessible with an amazing view.
The tower is part of Lance Aux Epines House, a large villa, and therefore if there are people styaing there too, you will notice their presence, but we did not find this invasive.
The pool is small but perfect for a quick dip, and you can swim off the dock which has steps.
The villa host was extremely helpful and arranged everything from groceries to car hire to turtle watching for us.
The location is brilliant, although you do need a car (we found driving in Grenada fine, just keep your wits about you!), 5 minutes to the shops, 5 minutes to Grand Anse beach, and a quick drive to a few excellent restaurants, including the Calabash which we also Kayaked to.
The tower is located in a beautiful garden, we saw iguanas roaming around, amazing birds, the only thing was the mosquitos which were pretty bad but that was the same everywhere on the island and was more to do with the time of year.
We had a gorgeous meal cooked for us on our arrival night, and also did some cooking ourselves - there is a BBQ to use, and the kitchen is fine.
The tower is not 5* luxury, but it is so charming that it didn't matter to us.
We would highly recommend this to people who are looking for something really original, a little on the rustic side and a little bit off the tourist track.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing wonderful holiday”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in February 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We have visited The Sugar Mill twice and have found it to be an enchanting lovely place. The mill is very comfortable and the views are wonderful.
Samina family and Josie the dog just add that special touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing