We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A+++ Accommodations”
other travellers have booked this property
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location
Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Sitting Room with dining area, Free WiFi, SKY TV, DVD player
Spacious and comfortable sitting room with DVD player with a selection of CD's and books
Well equipped kitchen with adjustable height sink and hob for wheelchair users
View the sunset over Cnoc an Oir - The Hill of Gold
Bedroom 1 - En-suite and luxury King size bed
Bedroom 2 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 2 - Ensuite
Bedroom 3 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 3 - En-suite also suitable for guests with disabilities
Join in a session in the local pubs - Bring your own instruments! A visit to John B's pub is a must!
We know a wee bit about music and dancing!
Listowel Golf Club - 2 minutes from here and the world famous Ballybunion Golf Links is 15 minutes
Fishing on the local River Feale - 2 minutes away
This is your ideal base for day trips throughout Kerry, Cork, Clare & Limerick.
From your home, you can day trip to Killarney and it's Lakes, Dingle and The Ring of Kerry
Kerry Airport is about 35 minutes from here and Shannon Airport is about 70 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Listowel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Gerard J...
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A+++ Accommodations”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This IS the Rolls Royce of self-catering properties. Every amenity is included, from shopping bags to night lights to cable TV. And if you could think of something you needed, I'm sure John and Betty would get it for you. They were wonderful hosts who made us feel like family (Be sure to ask Betty about her hand-made knitted items - They are beautiful).

The home is beautifully decorated, and is located within walking distance of downtown Listowel. It is well-suited for any size group, large or small. We will surely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms/friendly hosts
Liked least: Going home!!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
datItalia...
2 reviews
“Awesome Stay in Derry House Lisowel :)”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We we're so amazed with the kindness and professionalism of the owners, not to mention the accommodation was possibly the cleanest most comfortable self catering we had ever stayed in. We have already said we will return this time next year, as we attended the Listowel Military Weekend. if you're in Listowel this is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Dromore, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly excellent host and place to stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a long weekend break at Derry House and it was excellent. The house is in a very quiet location, on the edge of town. The property is immaculate with the owners making every effort to provide everything you could possibly need. It was warm, spacious and very comfortable. We really did feel at home. John was there to greet us and made us feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely wants to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The town of Listowel is typically Irish, warm and friendly people. The pubs are great! A great base to explore far and wide. We give this property and its owners five stars and recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noellemf
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“If you are planning on visiting Listowel this is the place to stay. Gorgeous.”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Such a beautiful house - everything you could possibly want for a comfortable relaxed stay with large bright rooms, beautifully furnished. The most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, it was so difficult to get out of them!
The house is walking distance from town in a lovely quiet area with plenty of outdoor space.
Arrived late evening with hubby and three smallies, John met us at the door with a lovely warm welcome, and he had the heating on and the kettle boiled - could not ask for a nicer start to our stay!
We were able to totally relax for the whole weekend, I cannot remember being so comfortable on a weekend away. If you are going to be in Listowel I would definitely highly recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds - dangerously comfortable!
Liked least: Could not fault either the house, the service or the stay. Fantastic.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassjr
Newburgh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at Derry House could not have been more wonderful - the perfect place for our Christmas vacation.”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

John and Betty's hospitality was extended well before our arrival. They sent emails with site-seeing suggestions, arranged for a Christmas tree, and facilitated the ordering of our Christmas ham. Upon arrival at Derry House, we were welcomed like old friends. John and Betty were always available to answer our questions, share a chat, or join us for pints. Even their faithful canine companions, Misty and Tiny, came over for some getting to know you time - largely because John knew how much I was missing my own dog. One of the favorite parts of our stay for my son (age 19) and his friend (age 21) was their adventures with John.
The house itself was lovely and neat as a pin - very thoughtfully equipped and decorated. It was homey and comfortable throughout and we always referred to it as returning "home" when we were out and about. The beds were heavenly and there was always plenty of hot water.
I cannot say enough about the kindness and thoughtfulness of John and Betty. They made us feel like treasured guests in their lovely home. We have only been gone a week and I am already thinking about my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterStra...
Strabane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Hosts and Super Loaction”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Booked in to go to family wedding in Listowel. Due to unforeseen circumstances at last minute my wife and I could not travel but rest my family did. They were met with Betty and John and stated that they were the nicest people you could meet and nothing was too much to do. They even drove my family into the reception in 2 cars so they didn`t have to get taxis. This level of service would be unheard of in a large hotel. The house was lovely and spotlessly clean. The rooms are large and spacey and the house is only one mile away from the lovely town of Listowel. Once again thanks for all your help and kindness and hopefully we will return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fanastic service
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francelee
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

John and Betty are incredible hosts, who went above and beyond to accommodate us at very short notice. They were extremely friendly and hospitable; providing us with a thorough tour of the house and a "welcome tray" filled with biscuits, tea, and coffee. The house is incredibly homey, making it a true "home away from home". We enjoyed our stay at their beautiful home, and our only regret is not staying longer! Oh yeah -- and the beds were heavenly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing