We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best self catering accommodation we...”
other travellers have booked this property
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location
Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Sitting Room with dining area, Free WiFi, SKY TV, DVD player
Spacious and comfortable sitting room with DVD player with a selection of CD's and books
Well equipped kitchen with adjustable height sink and hob for wheelchair users
View the sunset over Cnoc an Oir - The Hill of Gold
Bedroom 1 - En-suite and luxury King size bed
Bedroom 2 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 2 - Ensuite
Bedroom 3 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 3 - En-suite also suitable for guests with disabilities
Join in a session in the local pubs - Bring your own instruments! A visit to John B's pub is a must!
We know a wee bit about music and dancing!
Listowel Golf Club - 2 minutes from here and the world famous Ballybunion Golf Links is 15 minutes
Fishing on the local River Feale - 2 minutes away
This is your ideal base for day trips throughout Kerry, Cork, Clare & Limerick.
From your home, you can day trip to Killarney and it's Lakes, Dingle and The Ring of Kerry
Kerry Airport is about 35 minutes from here and Shannon Airport is about 70 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Listowel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Dennis M
Birchington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best self catering accommodation we have ever been to in many years of travel.”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Immaculately clean, comfortable luxurious accommodation. It has everything you could ever want and if it hasn't I'm quite sure the owners John & Betty would get it for you.

John is also a great host who will help you with anything you need to know about the area.

We had a wonderful five days there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms and comfortable beds
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainM...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly a home away from home with a large dose of warmth and Irish humor.”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment we arrived and John and Betty said to us "Welcome Home", we were totally in love with this home. It was extremely well appointed and the perfect size for two very tall college aged men and my husband and I. The kitchen was complete with very nice pots and pans, dishes and mixing bowls: everything my chef husband needed to cook. The local stores were inexpensive and close by so that we could eat most of our meals at home. The beds were comfortable and warm. Listowel was a sweet little town with a fabulous bar John B Keane's. The town is worthwhile a visit just to go to that pub! We spent a couple of fabulous nights there with the son of John B Keane, Billy who now owns the place. It was easy to do some marvellous day trips from there. The ferry was only 16 KM away which takes you right to the other side where the Cliffs of Moher are an hours drive. We did the Ring of Kerry in a day, the Dingle Penninsula in a day, Killarney National Park on another day and some other small day trips. John generously gave us lots of maps and travel information and was a great source of historical information as well. Words cannot express our gratitude and good fortune in finding this place. We will be back! You will not be disappointed if you and your family rent this place. It was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was well made, well appointed and very clean.
Liked least: I liked it all. I suppose Listowel didn't have that much of a music scene...That I would have liked.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonyC4
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Lovely house with lovely host in a lovely place!”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I really have to say thank you to John and Betty, they gave us a wonderful holiday for the stay! Specially for my dog ToTo. Very appreciated for allowed us to bring ToTo with us. A big big house with well decorations and facilities, very comfy and clean, I still missing the comfy bed. All shop and restaurants is just around the house. And John is a great host, even brought us around the town and the hermitage pub!!!

We will go again to meet you, John!
Pony

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela C
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Kerry”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is amazing! Large, clean, well furnished and equiped. I was with my husband and my parents and we all loved to stay there!! The house fits a large family with confort. More than that, John and his wife Betty are great hosts!! They made everything to make our vacation in Kerry something very special, starting from the warm wellcome in our arrival!! Once in Kerry again, I´d definitively stay there!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself. It was the best one I´ve ever rented.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard J...
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A+++ Accommodations”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This IS the Rolls Royce of self-catering properties. Every amenity is included, from shopping bags to night lights to cable TV. And if you could think of something you needed, I'm sure John and Betty would get it for you. They were wonderful hosts who made us feel like family (Be sure to ask Betty about her hand-made knitted items - They are beautiful).

The home is beautifully decorated, and is located within walking distance of downtown Listowel. It is well-suited for any size group, large or small. We will surely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms/friendly hosts
Liked least: Going home!!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
datItalia...
2 reviews
“Awesome Stay in Derry House Lisowel :)”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We we're so amazed with the kindness and professionalism of the owners, not to mention the accommodation was possibly the cleanest most comfortable self catering we had ever stayed in. We have already said we will return this time next year, as we attended the Listowel Military Weekend. if you're in Listowel this is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Dromore, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly excellent host and place to stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a long weekend break at Derry House and it was excellent. The house is in a very quiet location, on the edge of town. The property is immaculate with the owners making every effort to provide everything you could possibly need. It was warm, spacious and very comfortable. We really did feel at home. John was there to greet us and made us feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely wants to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The town of Listowel is typically Irish, warm and friendly people. The pubs are great! A great base to explore far and wide. We give this property and its owners five stars and recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing