We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, comfortable & great value cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Feirm Cottage

Feirm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feirm Cottage
Cosy Sittingroom with log burning stove Double bedroom with a country view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Feirm Cottage
Cosy Sittingroom with log burning stove
Double bedroom with a country view
Nestling at the foothills
Kitchen cum dining room
Such variety of landscape & colour in one April Day near Feirm Cottage
Mountains and lakes of magical colour
Many magical colours of a March morning, dramatic sky,water mist,mountains, sunshine
Last of the winter snow capping Irelands highest mountain range,  Killarney lakes beneath
Lowlevel shower in en suite bathroom to a downstairs twin bedroom
Loughbrin and surrounds
Contrasting landscape of late Autumn
Local cheese at Kenmare Market
Loughbrin 30min walk
Examples of local Rock Art
Templenoe Pier
A woodland trail
I hope we can go soon, I am tired of waiting, fledgling swallows in the barn
Eco, fun filled nature trips, Kenmare
Valley near Feirm Cottage
Stay together and don't get lost
Mountains near Feirm  The Pocket
Kenmare estuary
Cows grazing in a multitude of colour
Blackwater River close to Feirm Cottage
Adjacent to Irelands Wild Atlantic Way
Award winning cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KameGalwa...
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable & great value cottage nestled in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a weekend climbing break of nearby Carrauntoohil with two others. Hugely cost effective and a more flexible option to booking three individual hotel rooms. Josephine (owner) was accommodating and respectful of our needs. House had three spacious and comfortable rooms with all mod cons provided. Would highly recommend for a visit to the beautiful scenery Kenmare provides. Also convenient for a trip to Killarney.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you sincerely for posting such a great review of your stay at Feirm Cottage.We are really delighted that you enjoyed your climbing break on Carrauntoohil and its surroundings. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the cottage and are happy that you were pleased with your time there.
Thank you & all the best,
Josephine and the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis B
Waterville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Countryside Cottage”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Another winner! With good directions from Josephine we found our way to this gem in the countryside. Super clean and cozy we enjoyed this wonderful cottage. Josephine was a delightful landlord, quick to respond to any questions. She gave us directions for a way home from our journey around the Ring of Kerry that led us to a beautiful mountain pass. One caution, if you are driving to Molls Gap from Kiillarney in the late afternoon you will meet many, many tour buses returning from their day's sightseeing. It makes for a very tense journey if you are not comfortable driving on the left on very narrow roads. After one time, we made sure to drive that route after the tour buses had returned. It is a beautiful ride.

I would stay at Feirm Cottage again in a heartbeat. It is exactly as it appears on the listing.

This is a rural property, you will not be walking to a store. For someone from the city, use to street addresses, the directions may sound vague, but they are right on and easy to follow. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: All was good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review of your recent visit to Feirm Cottage and also for passing on both your own tips and mine.It was a pleasure to meet you and your party. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and while there discovered the beauty the region has to offer.
Thank you and all the best.
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 May 2014
The O'Neill Family are very grateful that you have reviewed your stay at Feirm Cottage on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that your time spent here was an enjoyable experience and very much do hope that you get to make that return trip.
Thank you again,
Josephine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mamade4
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and cozy cottage in remote setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Josephine was very welcoming with fresh bread...and typical Irish hospitality. My son enjoyed stoking the fire and we enjoyed the views. If you want a place to get away from it all and have a good view of the countryside- this place is for you. The house is in excellent condition. The local Pub is just down the road.. so you can have your beer and basic supplies... It is close to the Ring of Kerry and Killarney national parks... Just get used to driving on very narrow roads !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: little hard to find at first
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you, we do appreciate you taking time to write a review of Feirm Cottage.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay was an enjoyable experience for all the family,matching peace and quite with convenient location for all that you wanted to do.
Thank you again, we hope you get a chance to make a return visit.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badbaddav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very cosy secluded cottage.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our two night stay here. Cottage is in a great, secluded location. Very quiet. You need a car. Owner is friendly and helpful. Cottage is well equipped. Kitchen is lovely, with dishwasher, loads of crockery etc. Stereo needs replacing though.

Lounge is nice and cosy, sits 5. Stove/fire is great. Hot water for bath must come from some sort of open tank as was a little green and contained a few bugs, as does the cottage, but hey this is the countryside! Water for shower was from mains and was fine.

bed was comfy. chickens came to the door, and once even came onto the cottage!

Would definitely return if n the area again. Good value, especially if with more people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy spot in peaceful location
Liked least: utility bill is extra
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
We really do appreciate your review, thank you.
It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed your short break and found the cottage quiet and peaceful.
Sorry about the bugs!!and bath water,I will make sure to keep a check on both in future. Meanwhile we hope you get a chance to make a return visit now that you know where we are.
Josephine and the O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and comfort of this rural setting
Liked least: Would be nice to have a few kitchen basics on arrival - salt, pepper, sugar, coffee, etc.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
We are truly grateful that you took the time to write a review of Feirm Cottage.Your comments and recommendations are much appreciated. They also confirm for us the characteristics of the cottage which we always hope make it an enjoyable experience for those who stay there.
Thank you again,
The O'Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy N
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well appointed and very comfortable cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay in this property during the early May bank holiday. The property is very well appointed and maintained to a very high standard. The 3 bedrooms are all a good size and the cozy lounge and well equipped kitchen make for a very comfortable stay. The location offers peace and quiet and some excellent views over the southern hills of the Macgillycuddy's Reeks. The cottage is around 40mins drive from Killarney, and 20mins from Kenmare or Sneem, and also offers very easy access to the Ring of Kerry, Kerry Way, Beara peninsula and gap of Dunloe. We found the owners to be friendly, welcoming and helpful and with good suggestions and advice on where to visit, eat, walking routes etc.

We found the cost of heating/electricity (charged via meter at 25 cents per unit electricity and 95 cents per unit of oil ) to be a little higher than expected. We also felt that lounge seating would be cramped if a party of 6 were staying.

Overall we would certainly recommend this cottage and thank the owners for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean and well-maintained
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2013
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments on Tripadvisor, they are much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with both the cottage and its location. On the cost of utilities unfortunately in addition to the basic unit rate for electricity there is vat and additional government taxes and similar for oil. However at Feirm Cottage we try and minimize those for our guests by using measures like low energy light bulbs and thermostatic controls on the radiators. We have been awarded Silver by the grading system of Green Tourism Scheme for this and other sustainable measures which we undertake to reduce our impact on the environment. On the size of the lounge for 6 people,we do draw that particular feature of it being a traditional cottage, to the attention of groups with this number of adults wishing to stay.
Thank you again for your comments and recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing