We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Kenmare Bay Hotel, the staff were very friendly and the food was fabulous, The room was spacious and very clean, will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazoct1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    335
    156
    52
    22
See reviews for
369
420
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this hotel for a short break (too short unfortunately) and we were very pleased with our choice.

Excellent family bedroom on the second floor, in a modern hotel. Poor wifi should be addressed though.

Staff were all very welcoming and obliging.

Leisure centre attached to the hotel is very good and looks well run, with a 20m pool, kids pool and gym. As it was school mid-term holiday, there were lots of families availing of it.

We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and it was fantastic for us, as they have a kids play corner,so our 5 year old was kept busy for the whole time and we could relax - a great idea. Obviously, I'm not sure if it would be ideal for a romantic getaway but I must say the staff were most helpful.

Normally I don't like eating hotel food but the meal served to us was really good, I couldn't fault it. My tomato soup was very tasty, and the perfectly cooked steak had an excellent pepper sauce with it. Even the Kids cod goujons weren't the standard fare. The only issue was the length of time between starters and main course but we just had an extra bottle of wine to pass the time (!). in fairness, the restaurant was very busy, which is a good sign nowadays, and if we had to wait to get good food like that, then it is a bit more understandable.

Overall, we look forward to returning to this hotel, and for a longer time next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My sister had her wedding reception here last year and everyone was delighted with the result.

As family members we were upgraded to a superior room and it was a very nice room. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for two nights and it was very relaxing after the tiring first day of the wedding.

The lobby is nicely furnished and relaxing, a lot of the wedding party occupied the lounge for the weekend.

The function was an outstanding space for a large wedding with stunning views. The service at the bar was excellent despite being under pressure. You could tell that the hotel had been refurbished in recent years, and this was to a very high standard.

The swimming was great place to unwind and it was very family friendly. The breakfast in the was very nice.

It was also very close walking distance to the town of Kenmare which is full of beautiful bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel room I could not really fault, but the restaurant was definitely not worth eating in. It was way over priced you get a small portion of veg to share between two. I ordered duck and the lady told me I had to have it cooked medium as the chef would not be willing to cook it any other way for me. there was no ambiance in the restaurant we sat down to eat our food at half 7 and there was a girl setting up tables for the breakfast beside us and once anyone finished their meal she stripped the table too so there was tables randomly being set for breakfast around the restaurant at half 7. We also got the waffels to finish which were cold and inedible without a knife and fork they were so hard. with no starter or wine our meal was 66 euro for two bad courses your money would be better spent in a restaurant in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AchillIslander1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Good:
The staff: Courteous, helpful & genuinely friendly.
The food: We had breakfast and bar food, all of very good quality
The pool. This is the first hotel pool in Ireland where it was comfortable to stay in the water as long as you wanted without risking hypothermia!
The price: For a family of four it was unbeatable value.
Not-so-good
Our mattresses. The youngest had a fold-up and it was the comfiest. The mattresses on the two other beds were very firm.
Food delay. We had no schedule and were in no rush but 40 minutes from taking our food order in the bar to delivery seems poor. We didn't complain at the time as the food quality was worth waiting for. I wonder though if someone was really hungry if they should have gone elsewhere.
Cannot comment on childrens activities as this was December and not a weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer wing. Noise-proof from functions!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virtual-inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just returned today from a Weekend break at the Kenmare Bay and overall we enjoyed the hotel.However I purposely booked a Superior room as it stated on the hotel's website that all of their Superior rooms had wi fi.This is not the case unfortunatly.I was unable to access the internet all wkend and after seeking advise on numerous occasions from reception I was informed that the firewall on my own computer was the problem.Very annoying as I have never had a problem in any other hotel in Ireland!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Okay hotel!
not that great but I did in joy it!
Choose the higher rooms(bottom room views are dreadful!!!!)

Room Tip: Choose the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
2.2 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.1 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.0 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
20.8 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing