We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home”
Review of Harbour View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour View
Ranked #40 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

A lovely B&B, extremely clean, friendly landlady and excellent breakfasts. It has a lovely view but is about 3km from Kenmare. However well worth it

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    11
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

When they say "Harbour View," they aren't kidding. The views from every front window of this lovely abode are simply breath-taking. Maureen is delightful (as is her breakfast). While in Kenmare, be sure to dine at Prego, too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Harbour View. The view from our bedroom window was spectacular. Maureen was a wonderful hostess. She gave us lots of good tourist advice and went out of her way to find a gaelic football game for us to attend. The breakfast was wonderful in a beautiful sun room looking out over the bay. I would recommend this to anyone staying in the Kenmare area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We were surprised by how luxurious this B&B was considering the reasonable price that we had paid. Breakfasts were as beautifully presented as they were delicious and the dining room is in a conservatory that makes the most of the light. Maureen offered help with suggestions of where to go and where to eat (Sailor's Bar doesn't look like much from the outside, but has fantastic food...don't miss their fish & chips and homemade ice cream). The rooms were average-sized, but beautifully decorated and the bathrooms seemed brand new. The family photos in the cozy lounge made it seem like home too. We felt like old friends who had dropped by to spend a couple of nights in Maureen's lovely home, which happens to be just across the street from a lake. It is a short drive into Kenmare.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

I live in the US, my friend lives in the UK. We decided to travel to Ireland for a long weekend to get away from the humdrum of everyday life. My parents had stayed at Harbour View a couple of years ago and they recommended that we stay here. We were not disappointed. Maureen is a lovely lady and she made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and couldn't be faulted. Whilst we were a few miles out of town, we loved the tranquility of the location, coupled with the amazing views over Kenmare Bay. We had no problem with driving into town each night for dinner - Maureen is a font of information on the locality. I thought I would not feel too comfortable with staying at somebody's home. But there was no problem there - Maureen was always at hand to offer us any help if we needed it, but we never felt that we were intruding in her own home and this was important to both my friend and I. Maureen's breakfast were fantastic, served in a beautiful conservatory overlooking the harbour. We will definitely return to Harbour View and will recommend it to all!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Harbour View - we had the best breakfast in all of Ireland there. Maureen was very nice and warned that we might prefer the downstairs rooms since my husband and father are around 6 feet tall, but we enjoyed the view from the upstairs windows. That being said, if you are not familiar with the inconveniences of rooms with dormers (ie the ceiling slopes in some places), take Maureen's advice and a downstairs room! The price on the internet said 30-40 Euro/pp, and the actual price - which Maureen gave me over the phone when I booked - was 45 Euro per person. The location is lovely on the Beara Peninsula and walking distance from a very good restaurant. The inside decor could probably be updated a bit, but the rooms are comfortable and sizeable.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Decor - some of the wallpaper was peeling in the bedroom - it just looked like it was time to refresh.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fellowtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2007

This was a lovely house and sparkeling clean. We were greeted by Maureen McCarthy, the owner. She was most gracious and friendly. She served a wonderful breakfast. The best we had in all of our 11 day travels. Lovely location.

  • Liked — The at home feelling, decor, food and friendliness of owner
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wyleday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
3.1 km away
SheenView B&B
SheenView B&B
#24 of 60 in Kenmare
46 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#18 of 60 in Kenmare
131 reviews
6.4 km away
Arthur's Lodge Wood
Arthur's Lodge Wood
#30 of 60 in Kenmare
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 60 in Kenmare
355 reviews
7.8 km away
White Heather Farmhouse
White Heather Farmhouse
#9 of 19 in Kenmare
42 reviews
5.8 km away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View

Property: Harbour View
Address: Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 diamond award winning luxurious seashore home with panoramic views over Kenmare Bay. 2 minutes walk from restaurant/bar, serving fresh seafood, and from Star Sailing Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing