We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenmare Hotels: Forget the rest - this is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kenmare Hotels: Forget the rest - this is the best!”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

If you are looking for a town centre hotel that is modern, clean and inexpensive, yet providing excellent service, situated in the very centre of Kenmare with live traditional irish music being performed in the hotel restaurant every night, then this is the place for you!

I've just stayed here for four nights d, b & b and I was knocked out by the warmth and friendliness of the staff, the quality of food and accommodation plus the overall ambience of the place! It's a fantastic find and I'll certainly be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Noise isn't an issue unless you wish to retire to bed early, i.e. before 11.30pm, in which case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    78
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
104
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you want to get any sleep, then DON'T STAY HERE! Our room was situated on the 2nd floor of the hotel, and overlooked a skylight from which music and noise from the attached bar carried directly into our room until approximately 2.am. By the way, I'm a relatively heavy sleeper and my pregnant fiance was wearing ear plugs. Neither of us were able to get a wink of sleep until the hotel bar closed up.

The response of management to our subsequent complaint was completely bewildering. The people who run the Coachman's definitely do not believe that the customer is always right - we were actually made to feel like we were making our experience up. It's worth noting that the hotel's 'reception desk' is actually a small corner of the pub's bar (and hence the reason we didn't fancy heading down there in the middle of night's festivities). We found a family waiting on the front step of the hotel in the morning as no one had arrived to check people out - if service is important to you, this is not the place to stay. They've blatantly ignored correspondence with us since our leaving and we cannot fathom how their accommodation business continues to run.

In terms of the room itself, it could only be described as underwhelming, and especially for the price we paid - the bed was comfortable enough (not that it mattered in our case) but the heater was broken, there was no soap in the bathroom and the shower seal was hanging down to the floor. In general, it was pretty much one of those places that you wouldn't want to look too closely at anything.

Given our experience that fateful night, our below par room and the subsequent lack of concern shown by management, I can without say hesitation that this is the worst accomodation experience that I have ever had. I'm totally amazed that this place advertises itself as "luxury 4 star accommodation". I wouldn't give this place 1 star!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobsx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel2travel2
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The best accomodation in Kerry by far and away Siobhan and Padraig are the best hosts you could ever ask for the rooms food staff and entertainment are the very best always

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Room 24 was quite exquisite. Very large twin beds. Lots of space. Quiet. Coffee/tea equipment available. The full Irish breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for room 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo65-LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Myself and my husband stayed for 3 nights recently. Great location to tour Beara Peninsula, Ring of Kerry and the Islands. Very friendly, helpful staff (even reminded us to phone them if we got lost when we were going on a long walk and they would find us). Spacious clean rooms with comfortable bed. Great food both breakfast and dinner, fantastic entertainment musicians/singers. I have no hesitation in recommending the Coachmans and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rustic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The staff was fantastic, especially Siobhan, the manager who helped us out. We arrived late and hungry and they kept the kitchen open to feed us. Furthermore, they threw in some bread with our meals for free. Our room was immaculate and the shower was one of the best I had on my two-week backpacking trip. My two friends and I are all recent graduates from university and definitely don't have that much cash to spare, but every cent was worth it at Coachmans. We also got front row seats to a mesmerising traditional music session with one of the best rhythm guitarists I've ever seen. They lit the place on fire! It's also a decent location to start a clockwise tour of the Ring of Kerry.

A potential downside is that it's not exactly budget accommodation, but considering the other options in Kenmare, it's certainly one of the cheapest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Coachman's in Kenmare while touring the island. Siobhan, owner/manager, greeted us warmly and explained the key card system, as the rooms are quite secure from the main floor pub/restaurant/ lobby area; note, there is also elevator access is needed. Although our room was at the back of the building, it was HUGE, quiet, comfortable beds, with a shower ensuite and all expected amenities.

Entertainment in the attached pub was terrific, with locals and visitors alike mingling and listening to Michael O'Brien & his band perform live! The bar service was friendly and fun.

Breakfast was balanced and filling. Great value in a distinctive Irish town - would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrooks76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.7 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
0.1 km away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
930 reviews
18.6 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,167 reviews
0.0 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachmans Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachmans Townhouse Hotel

Property: Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Address: 8 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachmans Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kenmare town center, The Coachman's Townhouse Hotel is a popular choice. Great value luxury accommodation upstairs, combined with the renowned "Coachmans Dining & Music Experience" in the restaurant make The Coachmans a unique and very special offering. A stay at The Coachmans is memorable and 1 night is simply not enough. The rooms are spacious and elegant with King Size beds, plasma TV, underfloor heating, elevator, air con, baths and power showers. Free parking and free WIFI. The hotel is run by Padraig & Siobhan Jones and they invest careful attention and energy to every detail of their business and most of all to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coachmans Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing