We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
58
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cows being milked short drive self catering wonderful hospitality lovely cottage the perfect host home away from home our honeymoon anne ireland hosts hostess
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 62 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed there a few years back.
Very enjoyable. Clean rooms.
Ann was such a gracious hostess. Fresh eggs and biscuits in the morning!
Loved Scruffy, the Randle's dog.
The close proximity to Kenmare and the Ring of Kerry, was a big plus!
Best Day: Buying fish, cheese, and olives ( and champagne) at Kenmare's market day, and spending the rest of the drizzly day seated in front of the fireplace, munching and sipping champagne.
I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coop7nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed in johns cottage for a week in March 2014. After spending weeks searching the internet for a place to stay I landed on Doire farm cottages near to Kenmare.
We are really impressed with johns cottage, and so glad we chose Kenmare as a base instead of Killarney.
Johns cottage has everything you could possibly need, the rooms are large and very well furnished. The quality of kitchen equipment and utensils is very good, not the usual cheap stuff or cast offs found in some holiday rentals. The place was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The cottage has a lovely open fire, jacuzzi bath tub and soft lighting for a romantic evening in.
The wireless internet also works well.
But without doubt the one thing that makes this place standout is the hosts. They are so friendly and helpful, plus good fun. We have been given fresh milk from the dairy cows, fresh eggs from the hens, fresh home baked scones with jam. On arrival there was breakfast cereals, milk, biscuits etc ..exceeded our expectations.
Finally, the cottage is about 5 minutes drive from kenmare. Kenmare is really nice with plenty of drinking and eating establishments. In our view heaps better than the larger Killarney (20-30 minutes away).
Highly recommended. Thanks Anne & Padraig

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulandLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a great base to spend a week touring Kerry and West Cork. The location, about 6 km east of Kenmare, off the road to Kilgarvan, is very scenic and quiet -- lush green pastures and beautiful hills. Our three children and one grandparent had plenty of room in our 3 BR cottage. The owners, Anne and Patrick, are warm, friendly and kind. Everything we hoped for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When we decided to go to Ireland, I spent weeks online looking for the perfect self-catering cottage....I found it at Doire Farms. The facilities are tremendous....Best we've had anywhere in the world. We stayed in Pa's cottage with three bedrooms and three baths. We are a family of four, so the kids each had his and her own space, but it would also work for three couples. Each room and bath are set away from the other two.

More than the facilities, the pleasure of Doire Farms is the wonderful hospitality provided by Anne and her husband Patrick and kids Maria and Padriac. We got in late in the day and exhausted from our overseas flight. Anne had milk, cereal and homemade baked treats waiting for us...as well as a recommendation for dinner at Foley's in Kenmare.

Patrick took us on a great tour of the farm (even though we hadn't brought our Wellies.) Maria shared her school paper on a nearby abandoned castle (see photo).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HooksGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to come back after a hectic day of sight seeing this is it. There were five of us staying in a three bedroom double storey cottage. We had our 3 year old grandson with us and toys suitable for his age group were there waiting for us. Hospitality was great with lots of ideas to fill in our days. Each night was just like coming home. Free range eggs added to the farm stay.

Room Tip: Just mention what your needs are and you will be accommodated.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews