We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cows being milked charlie the dog central heating short drive wonderful hospitality open fire the perfect host home away from home our honeymoon her husband location is great anne ireland hosts town hostess
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 63 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Six of us stayed here and found it perfect.
The cottage was spotless, very spacious, and more than well equipped with everything you need. Lovely to see the chickens; scruffy the dog and the kittens. The cottage has wifi and an open fire. There is also an outside seating and bbq area.

There is a children's play area to the front with a slide, swing, and basketball hoop.

We would highly recommend Doire Farm Cottages and will definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

What a find. Lovely comfortable cottage which was plenty big enough for my family, Anne the owner was lovely and even baked us a cake! My kids loved seeing the cows being milked (nice touch) and collecting the fresh eggs every morning. Highly recommend this cottage. Lovely!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Myself, my husband and our young toddler recently returned to Doire Farm Cottages for our second stay. We stayed for one week and wished it had been longer! Anne's friendliness and hospitality, and that of her family's, are second to none. The guests staying in the other two cottages were lovely and our children would play together outside some evenings.

We were staying in Pa's Cottage and it had everything - and more - than what we needed. Downstairs, there is one double bedroom, a bathroom, utility room, sitting area and kitchen. Upstairs are two double bedrooms, both en-suite. There is a private enclosed garden at the back of the cottage complete with seating. Anne has equipped the cottage with everything you need including washing powder, towels, cleaning products, pots, pans etc. etc. On arrival, she had even left a variety box of cereal, biscuits, and milk in the fridge. One evening after a lovely day exploring the local area, we arrived back to a beautiful fresh cream sponge on the counter!! Where else would you get such hospitality!

There is a small area for children out the front of the three cottages (swing, slide, basketball hoop, tractor). Our daughter fell in love with Anne's hens and they would come to the door each morning looking for their porridge. She also enjoyed collecting the fresh eggs in the morning for breakfast. One evening Anne arranged for us to go and see the cows being milked which was a lovely experience for the children staying in the cottages. The cottages are about a five minute drive to Kenmare and Anne and her family only live up the lane if you are ever in need of anything.

A truly relaxing and memorable stay and we hope to return again in the future.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed in one of the cottage units and it was very nice, very clean, and had all the amenities we needed. We made full use of the washer and dryer (laundry soap nicely provided). Anne is a sweetheart, providing coffee for the first morning, milk, freshly baked scones one morning, fresh eggs one evening, and even getting vanilla from her sister for us when we asked if we could borrow a little for our french toast. She also gave my husband and daughter a tour of the dairy operation. A very accommodating accommodation! Great location too, only about 7 minutes outside Kenmare.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank McCarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2014

My husband, my 19 month old daughter and I stayed in Tom's Cottage at Doire Farm for four nights in September. Our only complaint is that there was no availability to stay longer! Anne was the perfect host, so welcoming and went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed during our stay. Even prior to our stay, Anne was very prompt with responding to my emails.

The cottage was spotless, very spacious, and more than well equipped with everything you need. The little extras made all the difference and things like having milk in the fridge and a packet of biscuits when you arrive are lovely touches. We also came back one evening to freshly baked scones, very thoughtful! The open fire is lovely and makes the cottage very cosy in the evening. There was also a great enclosed seating area at the back of the cottage which had a table and seats and also a BBQ.

There is a children's play area to the front with a slide, swing, and basketball hoop and our daughter had great fun running around each evening after our day's adventure. Also, she got very attached to the hens and socks the cat!

We would highly recommend Doire Farm Cottages and will definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews