We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doire Farm Cottages
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Just came back from our holiday over Easter with our friends (H0lly72), who stayed in one of the other cottages. We spent a wonderful time in Ireland with the family and friends. The house we stayed in was fully equipped with everything, we didn't miss anything. After a couple of days in the house, it felt like being at home. The kids loved playing with the chickens, the cats (the good one and the bad one ;) ) and the dog. When Anne invited us to see the cow farm it was of the best experiences I have ever had for a long time. The kids were delighted and we were very happy. I would definitevely recommend it to anyone who wants to have a relax holiday. Hopefully, we will come back in the future.

Room Tip: well-equipped cottage, relax holidays, family holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esanchezros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Tom's Cottage for a week in April and had a great time. The cottage was spacious, even with 3 adults and 2 kids and it's lovely to have a bathroom for each bedroom. Very well equipped with everything you'd need to make yourself at home. The washing machine, highchair and travel cot were ideal when travelling with kids and saved having to bring as much baby stuff. The outdoor space was wonderful for my 2 year old. He had great fun on the play equipment and absolutely loved going to meet the cows at milking time and getting his egg from the chicken each morning.
The location is ideal. We flew into Cork airport and it was just over an hours drive. Kenmare itself is beautiful and only a 5 minute drive away and has a great selection of restaurants, shops etc. Just outside of town is a Lidl, Aldi and Super Valu where you can do all your grocery shopping - very handy.
A bit further away is Tralee where the Aqua Dome is. This was a great day out as it was pretty much empty and we had full run of the swimming pool and slides.
Overall a great place to stay and we hope to return soon.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Just came home from a week stay at Doire Farm holiday cottages, over Easter. We went with another family as well and rented two of the three cottages at the farm. Both cottages were fabulous - had everything a family needs from washing machine to store of toys and ride on tractors in the garden. Anne even sorted us a travel cot and high chair which saved us lugging them from home. The cottages were well maintained and beautifully finished - Internet, Freeview telly and DVD player for rainy days. Kenmare is the local town, five mins down road so not too far for take-always on nights no one wants to cook. Also plenty of places to eat and drink there - plus Lidl, Aldi and SuperValue super markets. Everything worked - was a great place to stay and explore from. Highly recommended - and would be very happy to find myself there again one day!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank H0lly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Just returned from the most relaxing holiday ever. The Cottages have everything you could want and more. Nothing is left to chance, excellent facilities and very clean with such comfortable beds. The hostess Anne and her family were very welcoming and could not have done more for us. They were very kind and went out of there way if we needed anything. The town of Kenmare and all the beautiful areas in Kerry left us with a renewed feeling of positive energy on our return home. Thanks Anne, Paddy and family best wishes Ann and Alan

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank hilda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Six of us stayed here and found it perfect.
The cottage was spotless, very spacious, and more than well equipped with everything you need. Lovely to see the chickens; scruffy the dog and the kittens. The cottage has wifi and an open fire. There is also an outside seating and bbq area.

There is a children's play area to the front with a slide, swing, and basketball hoop.

We would highly recommend Doire Farm Cottages and will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

What a find. Lovely comfortable cottage which was plenty big enough for my family, Anne the owner was lovely and even baked us a cake! My kids loved seeing the cows being milked (nice touch) and collecting the fresh eggs every morning. Highly recommend this cottage. Lovely!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Myself, my husband and our young toddler recently returned to Doire Farm Cottages for our second stay. We stayed for one week and wished it had been longer! Anne's friendliness and hospitality, and that of her family's, are second to none. The guests staying in the other two cottages were lovely and our children would play together outside some evenings.

We were staying in Pa's Cottage and it had everything - and more - than what we needed. Downstairs, there is one double bedroom, a bathroom, utility room, sitting area and kitchen. Upstairs are two double bedrooms, both en-suite. There is a private enclosed garden at the back of the cottage complete with seating. Anne has equipped the cottage with everything you need including washing powder, towels, cleaning products, pots, pans etc. etc. On arrival, she had even left a variety box of cereal, biscuits, and milk in the fridge. One evening after a lovely day exploring the local area, we arrived back to a beautiful fresh cream sponge on the counter!! Where else would you get such hospitality!

There is a small area for children out the front of the three cottages (swing, slide, basketball hoop, tractor). Our daughter fell in love with Anne's hens and they would come to the door each morning looking for their porridge. She also enjoyed collecting the fresh eggs in the morning for breakfast. One evening Anne arranged for us to go and see the cows being milked which was a lovely experience for the children staying in the cottages. The cottages are about a five minute drive to Kenmare and Anne and her family only live up the lane if you are ever in need of anything.

A truly relaxing and memorable stay and we hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.8 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
989 reviews
22.1 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
0.1 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.1 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doire Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doire Farm Cottages

Address: Upper Clontoo | Kilgarvan, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing