We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The true meaning of hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oldchurch House B&B
Ranked #2 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
2 reviews
“The true meaning of hospitality!”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Frank and Helen have created a lovely facility that can boast to some of the most beautiful views of the area. They sit right on Kenmare Golf Course, as well as being just minutes from the town center. You are greeted with a warm welcome and immediately feel right at home. We loved resting in the sitting area and listening to traditional Irish music - looking out their back door at incredible scenery. And if we had questions or requests, all were graciously answered/met. We would definitely make a return visit!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were a family of seven, including three teenagers, and we stayed for 5 days at the Oldchurch House in Kenmare. We could not have picked a nicer, cleaner and friendlier place to stay. Helen was always helpful and had good advice whenever we had a travel
related problem.

It was such a pleasant place to come home to after long and tired days of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

After a nightmare journey caused by flight difficulties we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. I was taking my Mum for a birthday treat and Helen and Frank couldn't have been warmer or more welcoming to her. I have stayed at the Old Church House on a number of occasions and would definitely recommend it as a base for travelling around this part of Ireland. It is situated within walking distance of pretty Kenmare and an easy drive to the Ring of Kerry, Killarney and the national park. Our rooms were comfortable and immaculate, breakfast was lovely (full Irish, toast, fruit, cerials) and with a wonderful view across to the hills. Mum loved her room, her stay here and holiday and is keen to come again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterinaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walthamstow, London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I have been staying at Oldchurch House for over 10 years (pretty much since the B&B opened for business) and have enjoyed each of my many stays enormously. The location is superb (12-15 minute walk into Kenmare), the house is bright and welcoming, the rooms are well appointed, the Irish breakfast is full and hearty, and the price of a night's stay is excellent value for money. But, the overwheling draw for me and my friends - we are all repeat vistors! - is the friendliness and hospitality of Helen (the owner) and husband, Frank. She is welcoming and attentive, without ever being intrusive, and her helpfulness in advising on places to visit or dine is always much appreciated.

I have recently stayed with Helen in September 2010, to celebrate the 80th birthday of a friends' mum, and again in December 2010, to celebrate the 70th birthday of another friend's mum! Both were hugely enjoyable and memorable occasions.

For us, Oldchurch House is now very much our Irish 'home from home'!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwdhamLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We ahve been staying with Helen for a number of years, and there is only one place now that we would stay in Kenmare.
Friendly and personable service, Helen and Frank welcome you to their beautiful home overlooking Old Church and a golf course.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the breakfast is of a very high quality. You have to choose the full Irish breakfast. This will set you up for days out on the Beara Pennisula and the Ring of Kerry. Kenmare is also well situated for the Killarney National Park, and for a slightly further afield day out, the Diungle Penninsula.
Kenmare is a pretty town, with an array of good rerstaurants and pubs
I guarantee you will enjoy your stay at Oldchurch House, and will want a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is a hidden gem in Kenmare and well worth a visit. Helen gave us a very warm welcome. She made life very easy for us during our time with her. She helped us plan our day trips to see the local sights and get in some excellent walks. The bedrooms and dining room are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was hearty and set us up very well for our walking trip. We all thought it was a home away from home and have already booked another trip for October.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleblacksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This B&B is a lovely house situated in the heart of kenmare. Our room was clean, comfortable, decorated very nicely, bathroom was clean and roomy and the breakfast was delicious. Private parking - walking distance to Kenmare and the house is situated on a golf green with great scenery of the mountains and the historic church ruins across the street. Helen, the hostess, was a delight, warm, friendly, informative, and cheerful. A definite recommend!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DestinDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.0 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
909 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.4 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 km away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldchurch House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldchurch House B&B

Property: Oldchurch House B&B
Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldchurch House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Oldchurch House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing