We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely cosy place ,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely cosy place ,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

really friendly , clean, cosy and great location. I loved it and would very happily stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefultraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
41
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Spent two nights at The Hideout last week and I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to the Dingle area. Chuck was incredibly knowledgeable about the area (as well as other areas around Ireland), and gave us some really great tips about exploring the area. He was very friendly and made you feel like you were right at home. Beds are comfortable and getting free breakfast in the morning was a treat (since no where else we stayed offered it). We will absolutely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed at the Hideout Hostel at the tail end of a 2-week trip, so we were a bit budget conscious at that point. A woman at the pub recommended the Hideout, and it was perfect. We had a large, spacious, en suite double for a very good price (considerably below what we paid for a double anywhere else in Ireland). It was off-season, but still...The room was very clean and had a roomy shower with plenty of water pressure. The owner and the other guests were friendly and laid-back - exactly what a good hostel should be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We thought this place was terrific value considering the location right near the centre of town and the facilities. Parking is on street so may be hard to come by in the busier months. Nice and quiet, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I personally loved this hostel.it was very homey with excellent service and staff and a quiet , clean, friendly environment . It has a great location, just one block from the harbor and downtown dingle. I strongly suggest choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmasontravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I had a nice few nights here. The hostel was very homey, the staff was helpful, and the other guests were friendly. I got good recommendations for a hiking trip and a biking day trip. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssun4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

The new owner of this hostel is the best! He gave us great advice on renting bikes and biking around the dingle peninsula.

The place itself is very clean and cozy. It definitely feels more like a B&B than any other hostel I have ever stayed in. The common room was a great place to meet fellow travelers and relax with a book by the fire or watch some tv.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Student_Traveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.7 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.3 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 km away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 km away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#12 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Property: The Hideout Hostel
Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing