We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect Irish country retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An Bothan

An Bothán
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Bothán
Muiríoch beach Blasket Island Beauty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
An Bothán
Muiríoch beach
Blasket Island Beauty
Comfort Zone
Cook's Domain
Sweet Dreams
Snooze Time
Summer Frolics
Rugged magnificance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A perfect Irish country retreat”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was perfect, very clean and comfortable on Dingle Peninsula.
The kitchen was very adequate for meal preparation and the fireplace warmed us nicely after long rainy hikes.
Elaine went out of her way to make sure our needs were met!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and the privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachMac06...
New Tazewell, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical, Relaxing, Step back in time”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had been thinking of making a trip to Ireland, we are from the U.S. (Tennessee). We planned our trip relatively last minute, but we were able to reserve the cottage fairly easy. I loved everything about this house from its old charm, to the hardwood floors, to the scenic beauty of the surrounding farms with grazing sheep and cattle to the view of the Three Sisters (cliffs and the ocean) in the distance. To me the location is perfect, I got to wake in the country every morning, but Dingle Town is only 10 minutes away offering numerous Pubs/restaurants/shops and traditional music for entertainment in the evenings. The perfect mix of relaxation and quiet with fun and entertainment. We spent 8 nights here and found ourselves entertained everyday and night, even in October. We hiked Mt. Brandon, toured the Crean's Brewery, explored Dingle Town's shops and St. Mary's Church, made a day Trip to Kilarney National Park (drove the Gap of Dunloe), explored Minard Castle and coast, drove the Slea Head Drive (breathtaking), and explored the Connor Pass on to Brandon Point. My husband is a fan of Traditional Irish music, so spending time listening in the pubs each night was definitely a highlight and we met many wonderful people who gave us exploring tips. We made so many memories.

I cannot forget to mention Elaine (who we rented from), who was so helpful in providing suggestions of activities to explore and music to see. She ensured we had everything we needed. We were truly greeted with true Irish hospitality and a bottle of wine!

If you are worried about having WiFi . . . don't . . . there is free WiFi in almost every pub, just ask for the password if you do not connect automatically. This is how I communicated with family, without receiving overseas charges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The character of the Cottage. It had an old time feel.
Liked least: I had to get used to the oil heating, but it was not really a big deal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolcoco
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful, clean, tastefully decorated and restored house in a beautiful area. The owner is both friendly and helpful (without begin intrusive in any way). The house has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere - a real 'get away from it all" space. A cosy stove if needed.

The location is a short drive to Dingle but is a short walk to a beach and some pubs/restaurants.

We can't recommend enough

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W
Germering, Germany
2 reviews
“Far away from every day life in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in the An Bothan Cottage in early September 2013. The weather was beautiful most of the time and we enjoyerd very much to stay in the cottage. The cottage is clean, spacious and well furnished. In the evenings we loved to sit near the fire reading or playing cards. Elaine provided us with a lot of useful information, indeed there are many things around to be explored. Our children loved to touch the stingrays in the Ocean World Aquarium, to see the baby seals being fed in the Seal Sanctuary and to watch the dolphin "Funghi" near the port of Dingle. It is worth to climb on Saint Brendan mountain from where you have a beautiful view over the peninsula. Our favourite place for tea and scones was a small café near Slea Head - with a terrific panorama over the coast. There are wonderful beaches nearby, the temperature of the sea was around 15 degrees - so don't forget your wet suit! We had a great time in An Bothan, far away from every day life and felt very relaxed when we returned home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charming cottage
Liked least: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the location, everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and authentic feel
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monaghan
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing