We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
189
87
20
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
87
20
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne marie main street great location poached eggs with salmon middle of town hot breakfast local pub one night stay twin room central location large bathroom lovely room full irish visit dingle spent nights b and b dingle pub
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 305 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

I am still praising this place to my friends as it is an absolute gem . I stayed there last weekend for the races and it was perfect . The rooms were really spacious with nice little touches like chocolates on the pillows and water in the room , the beds were so comfortable and even been right in the middle of the street on a busy weekend we didn't hear any noise , the bathrooms were lovely , fab showers with fresh towels and beds made while we were there, I loved the different style breakfast compared to the usual full Irish -the waffles are to die for ! Annmaire was very nice and the gentleman serving breakfast was lovely , Will def return next year, 5* for me

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank fifiglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Charming, clean bed and breakfast in the heart of Dingle. Ann Marie was a great host and breakfast was delicious! It could be noisy being in the center of town, but you have the advantage of walking everywhere. Great restaurant next door for dinner.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeanne303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Stayed one night, we were attending a wedding nearby. This b & b is ideally located in the town centre, with free parking (always a plus!), very comfy beds, large modern bathroom, but best of all, EXCELLENT waffles for breakfast! Forget the full Irish - with these, some fresh fruit and a little maple syrup, you'll be set for the day!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Good:
Clean
Comfy Bed
Great shower but tray was blocked

Bad:
No Toiletries!! Though the staff did give us a bottle of shower gel when we asked for some.
Threadbare Towels
Wardrobe locked so nowhere to hang clothes.
No Parking
Worst breakfast ever in an Irish B&B. Had poached eggs with salmon but really surprised they didn't have an Irish breakfast. The cold breakfast was minimal and not restocked at all when things ran out.
11am Checkout seems a bit early. Never stayed anywhere that checkout was before 12.

Would I return? Definitely not considering the many other options in Dingle.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank iccna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear guest,

Firstly, we are sorry that our service did not live up to your expectations. We always strive to provide the best service possible and we pride ourselves on the many compliments we receive regarding same.

Regrettably we were unaware at the time of your stay that the shower in your room had not been draining efficiently, though the guests who stayed after you did kindly point this out to us, and it has since been rectified.

We renewed our towels earlier this year and so we were surprised to hear that you found those which were provided to you to be threadbare. We do apologise for this and we are thankful that you have pointed this out. I will certainly investigate this issue and ensure that it does not occur again in the future.

The wardrobe in your room was unlocked when you stayed, and the door simply needing pulling in order for it to open. The corresponding key had sadly been taking by previous guests and was missing during your stay, though it has since been replaced. Perhaps this may have caused you some confusion, and so we we do apologise.

We do not provide toiletries in our rooms, only soaps. Though shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel are available from our reception upon request.

Unfortunately we do not have adequate space for our own car park as we are favourably located right on Main Street. Though free parking is available in front of our bed and breakfast, as it is on all streets in Dingle town.

Our check-out time is 11am, though we are quite lenient on this and often allow guests to stay on longer when possible. Regrettably, if we were to introduce a 12pm check out time, we would find it quite difficult to have all of our 10 rooms adequately cleaned in time for check-in at 2pm. We are highly rated for our cleanliness and do strive to keep these standards. Our check out time also enables us to accommodate those who may require an earlier check in than 2pm, as you did during your stay with us.

We are disappointed to hear that our breakfast did not meet your standards, as guests are usually very complimentary every morning. Though we do inform guests when booking that our breakfasts are not traditional, you regrettably seemed to be unaware of this. As we understood that you were upset, we reminded you that you could still opt for our reduced room-only rate, and that there were a number of lovely cafes in the vicinity who offer an Irish Breakfast, although you did decline this offer.

To clarify, we always have a fresh bowl of fruit out for our guests, as well as grapefruit/pear segments. Our buffet table also consists of a variety of different cheeses that are very popular with guests and freshly baked bread as well as four varieties of cereals, milk, orange juice, ham, greek yoghurt, and muesli. Nutella, peanut butter, marmalade and strawberry/raspberry jams are also on offer. We do keep an eye on our buffet table throughout the breakfast period and replenish it whenever we get a chance. On the morning which you had breakfast with us the ham was in high demand and so we were unfortunately unable to replenish it more that twice, and we are sorry if this caused you upset.
Our cooked-to-order breakfast consists of poached eggs on toast with or without smoked salmon, our very popular creamed mushrooms on toast, scrambled eggs with or without smoked salmon, and our homemade Belgian waffles served with creme fraiche, fresh berries, and either maple or golden syrup.

We do like hearing from our guests on ways to improve service and comfort as we do strive to achieve high standards. We appreciate you taking time to point out areas where your standards were not met .

Thank you for staying with us and we note your comments

Best regards,

Anne-Marie
The Lantern Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

You could not ask for a better place to stay in Dingle. The B&B is right in the middle of town, easy walking distance to a number of pubs, shops and the beautiful shoreline. Parking is easily available nearby (and free). Rooms are very comfortable and quiet, and the place is newly updated and extremely clean.

We've stayed at many B&B's in the US and Europe, and it seems to be a growing trend for nice accommodations, but bad breakfasts. That is certainly no the case here! The breakfasts are great, with local food and variety of options -- and they serve late enough that you don't have to rush in the morning to enjoy it.

Finally, don't miss out on introducing yourself to the owners. They are both extremely hospitable and very knowledgeable of the area (including great pubs and sights only locals would know). Strike up a conversation, and I can guarantee they will make your trip a great deal better!

Room tip: Owners are excellent resource for local tips and sights.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Knox_TN_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews