We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT GET AWAY, WILD, WONDERFUL AND PEACEFUL”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oyster Bay House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jill & Reilly
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Jill & Reilly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TonyandPa...
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT GET AWAY, WILD, WONDERFUL AND PEACEFUL”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

2nd stay at this cottage - we will use again. The cottage is ideally situated if you are looking for peace and quiet, but is only a few miles from a lovely little town Called Belmullet which provides everything you need. The beach near the cottage is absolutely amazing, almost like having your own private beach - Wild and Wonderful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you so much for your ‘perfect’ review of Oyster Bay House.
I would like to send my appreciation of your care of my house during your stay and for leaving it in such a tidy condition
You will be welcome back anytime
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckennedy...
Cahir, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect private getaway, shared only with seabirds, seals and otters.”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Once we realised we had to drive on a beach to access the island, it made our escape all the more real. The fresh mayo air was very kind to us and we had plenty of walks, rockclimbing, skimming of stones on the various beaches around the island. Sometimes only heading back to the house at eleven at night. One evening we spotted large seabirds diving into the sea for fish. Then we went to appeared to be the highest spot on the island to get a 360 degree view. There is plenty to see and do in Belmullet and especially on the Erris peninsula. We have promised ourselves we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you for this review and you will be welcome to return at any time
Regards

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, isolated spot, peace and quiet”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This bungalow was beautifully fitted out and there was everything there that we needed for a super holiday - towels, teacloths, peat logs, kitchen essentials, even a dozen duck eggs on arrival. Anne greeted us on arrival and sorted out a car repair for us at a local garage. She lives more or less a couple of hundred yards away so is always there for queries. The bungalow is located on a small island a hundred yards from the beach which is beautiful.

On arrival we were unsure whether or not we could cross the beach in our car as the tide was coming in, this was actually no problem as we found during our many days in and out of the bungalow but it may be a bit hary for some inexperienced drivers.

The only downside was that it was a bit chilly at times, even though we had lit the log burner, but it was March so to be expected, they supplied all the peat we could burn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and how well equipped the bungalow was for our every need at no extra cost
Liked least: It was a bit chilly at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oisin h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect balance of peace, beauty and adventure!”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and myself stayed in Oyster Bay House for three weeks while we worked on our final projects for our Master degrees. It was a perfect break from the busy city life we normally lead and it provided us with a distraction free environment to get our work done.

Claggan Island, the house and the beach's are amazing! On a clear day the view from the house is breathtaking and you would struggle to find a nicer beach in Ireland.

The greater Erris bay area is full of beauty with amazing coastal walks and drives. Having spent three weeks in Oyster Bay house we explored the area in depth and loved every second of it. I would recommend this cottage to anyone; families, couples, young / old, individuals..

We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Views, Animals, Beach
Liked least: We loved everything..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Haven of Tranquility”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very special place to stay. The beaches and coastal walks are amazing. The cottage is beautiful with everything you might need included. With fabulous views, you can watch the tide come in and out from the window. It is the most peaceful place we have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Hi Judy

Thank you for your positive response - it was a pleasure to have you as our guest together with your lovely dogs.
You will be very welcome whenever you return.
Regards

ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful and relaxing place I have ever stayed in !”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me my partner and 2 year old daughter stayed in oyster bay house and absolutely fell in love with it will 100% be returning to it for another holiday the location and views is breath taking so beautiful I could not say one bad word about this house we felt at home staying there

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielrob...
1 review
“The essence of a Irish cottage, with two great kite surfing spots at the end of the drive.”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was my families second visit to oyster bay house – the appeal is a retreat to a location that surrounds you by nature and great beaches that provide the children with a safe place to play and experience nature. Oyster bay house provides us with a great base with clean, and simple facilities. The kitchen is of a good size allowing meals to be prepared for a family of five with ease.

The other key appeal is the beaches there are two great kiting spots, on the inside of the bay is flat water and on the opposite side of the bar a beach providing small but play full waves. Grass spots to rig up and take down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: The driveway
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing