We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
0
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
0
0
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at the coachmans cottage during Easter 2012. When we arrived it was cold and dirty. There were no towels we had to buy some despite having been reassured by the owner that there would be some. Most of the heaters were broken. The kitchen was filthy with some very dangerous electric appliance arrangements. The bathrooms were filthy and the top floor shower did not work.
The bedding was old and the blankets stank.
I think the owner(who I believe is the brother of former president of Ireland Mary Robinson) should be exposed for the extremely shoddy landlord that he is. It's disgraceful to take hard earned cash from families for this kip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This cottage does not have the advertised fireplace. The oven was filled with grease and mold was growing in the greasy pans. The bedding was stained and dirty as well as smelly, Many of The heaters and lights did not work. This cottage was the low point of our entire trip, we dreaded going there at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Check reviews before you book and trust what you read.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Coachman's Lodge is dirty and uncared for. It is an insult to rent it to people on holiday. The lighting in the living area was so poor it was impossible to read. The electric hob is to near to the sink to be safe, there is no rear exit from the building in c case of fire, mould on the kitchen wall, the upstairs showerhead is cracked, the furniture is old, dusty and uncomfortable. I could go on and on but will just say do not believe the website re old world charm and cosy cottage. We had to leave after two weeks to find alternative accommodation even though we had paid for 4 weeks rental for the coachmans lodge. In future contact the Tourist Board to check the accommodation is registered with them - we found excellent, superior accommodation very reasonably priced serviced by a most amiablie landlord and only one mile outside of Ballina town. (Needless to say the Coachman's Lodge is not registered with the tourist board).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brpaulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The lodge is a good base for west ireland but I would definietly not recommend it as it is dirty. 2 bedrooms had very dirty sheets and dirty tissues under the pillows. The living area is not big enough to accomodate 8 people without enough seats.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews