We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cottage Great Location beside Cafe's & Restaurants”
Review of Coachman's Lodge

Coachman's Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coachman's Lodge
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Coachmans is a beautiful old stone cottage with solid timber beams situated off a cobbled stone courtyard. It right in the heart of the town with Cafe's, Restaurants and bars within 1 minutes walk. The River Moy is only 2 minutes walk. The Cottage is clean and cosy.

Room Tip: Ballina Swimming Pool 3 minutes walk from cottage. Excellent pool. Kids play park 5 minutes walk ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2000barc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the coachmans cottage during Easter 2012. When we arrived it was cold and dirty. There were no towels we had to buy some despite having been reassured by the owner that there would be some. Most of the heaters were broken. The kitchen was filthy with some very dangerous electric appliance arrangements. The bathrooms were filthy and the top floor shower did not work.
The bedding was old and the blankets stank.
I think the owner(who I believe is the brother of former president of Ireland Mary Robinson) should be exposed for the extremely shoddy landlord that he is. It's disgraceful to take hard earned cash from families for this kip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This cottage does not have the advertised fireplace. The oven was filled with grease and mold was growing in the greasy pans. The bedding was stained and dirty as well as smelly, Many of The heaters and lights did not work. This cottage was the low point of our entire trip, we dreaded going there at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Check reviews before you book and trust what you read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Coachman's Lodge is dirty and uncared for. It is an insult to rent it to people on holiday. The lighting in the living area was so poor it was impossible to read. The electric hob is to near to the sink to be safe, there is no rear exit from the building in c case of fire, mould on the kitchen wall, the upstairs showerhead is cracked, the furniture is old, dusty and uncomfortable. I could go on and on but will just say do not believe the website re old world charm and cosy cottage. We had to leave after two weeks to find alternative accommodation even though we had paid for 4 weeks rental for the coachmans lodge. In future contact the Tourist Board to check the accommodation is registered with them - we found excellent, superior accommodation very reasonably priced serviced by a most amiablie landlord and only one mile outside of Ballina town. (Needless to say the Coachman's Lodge is not registered with the tourist board).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brpaulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The lodge is a good base for west ireland but I would definietly not recommend it as it is dirty. 2 bedrooms had very dirty sheets and dirty tissues under the pillows. The living area is not big enough to accomodate 8 people without enough seats.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.5 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,366 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
510 reviews
6.5 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
531 reviews
3.2 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.9 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Lodge

Address: Sycamore Lodge Sycamore Lodge Old Bond Store | Dillon Terrece, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ballina
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing