We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely hotel, food ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, food ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for 1 night at the ice house recently and enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern and very nicely decorated. The bedrooms have a beautiful view onto the river. We had a double room with an extremely comfortable bed. Unfortunately there was no bath in the ensuite but there was a great walk in shower. The hotel is well maintained. The areas off the reception that are the lounge areas are small and one feels like a bit of a walk through area and therefore we didnt feel it comfortable to sit there to relax. We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next morning. The food here we feel needs some work for the prices that are charged in comparision to other establishments. There was nothing to complain about with the food but equally nothing to write home about. All in all, a nice hotel with great staff but food just needs a little work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    271
    140
    53
    33
See reviews for
117
799
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights combined hotel/spa break. Nice big modern bedroom overlooking river. Restaurant and bar are good. Spa was comfortable. Staff all over were nice, helpful and very friendly - would stop and chat about the area and themselves. We were there at a slack time and it looked as if they had cut back a bit on staff - for our one dinner and two breakfasts we ate alone. Doesn't get 5 stars because all over it was relaxed to the point of casualness and there were tiny things (eg bedside light didn't work) not quite right. Having said all that lovely location and staff make it a definite for a second visit. Note: for all 2012 there is 5% off everything to celebrate their 5th birthday.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the modern wing have lovely views of the river estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

After receiving a Blue book voucher we decided to stay in the Ice House for two nights in April. Upon arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome a free glass of bubbly. We booked a standard room, probably had the best view of any hotel I have stayed in, although the room itself was very nice it was slightly lacking compared to the feel and quality of the rest of the hotel.
First thing we did was go down to the Spa as we had booked a treatment each, the Spa is small but adequate for the size of the hotel, the outdoor hot tubs are fantastic. Myself and my wife both really enjoyed our treatments, The Spa staff could not of been nicer, again treating us to a complimentary glass of bubbly after the treatment. I could of sat in the chill-out room all day watching Nature go by….
We had booked for dinner that night in the restaurant, we had a pre-dinner cocktail from their extensive cocktail menu, bar staff were very nice and engaging. The overall experience of Dinner was a little disappointing, we had expected a lot but felt it under delivered, our main complaint was that the food was luke warm.
Later that night while in bed the people next to us returned and started to play music and chat very loudly, we were surprised how easily we could hear all this. We put up with this until 12.30 when we rang down to reception to complain, they instantly rang the room and asked them to switch off the music which was great. Unfortunately the noise began again at 6am, we could clearly hear the people next door talking loudly which we felt came down to the soundproofing rather than the people being excessively noisy.
After our very nice breakfast, we complained to reception about the noise levels between the rooms, without hesitation we were offered an upgrade (only room available) told to go out and enjoy our day and the staff would look after our bags, upon our return we were put in a much better, quieter room with a little note to apologise and a complimentary bottle of bubbly which was a very nice touch.
The next night we ate in a local pub, which was lovely, went back to the hotel for a couple of very enjoyable and relaxing cocktails in the bar.
The overall experience was great, there were some problems but the worth of a hotel comes when things go wrong and the Ice House could not of dealt with oor problems any better, we look forward to staying again.

A small note, we filled in the 'how was your stay' card in the room we noted the above points which the addressed in a mail, they also posted some items I had left in the room, again great service.

Room Tip: The standard rooms have the most stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We booked the hotel for one night as I had been given a Blue Book voucher by my colleagues when I left work and the Ice House appealed to us as it looked that little bit unique.
When we arrived we we very warmly greeted by the receptionist and immediately advised that we had been upgraded to a suite. We were then handed a glass of bubbles each to drink while enjoying the lovely views and surroundings. What a lovely welcome!

Our suite was marvellous - we had a separate living room with floor to ceiling glass wall right on the river's edge. The bedroom was equally as comfortable with a great big bed and the same glass wall leading out to a lovely balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom was very luxurious - we particularly liked the big bath, circular 'wet-room' style shower and the quirky washhand basin. (the candles are a lovely touch if you want a romantic soak!). There was a brillaint Apple entertainment system which provided a fantastic choice of music which played through the surround sound system all over the suite - including the bathroom. The room and the hotel is very subtly illuminated which created a lovely ambience and all the staff were very attentive and friendly. We had use of the spa - I only used the steam room but it all looked very nice with great treatment rooms etc. I spoke with another guest who had just had a great massage.

Waking up to the lovely views and ducks swimming up to your room was so nice. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in our room ( the hotel encourage this so you can enjoy the views and the wildlife) but those from the restaurant and bar are equally as nice. Lots of other nice touches like 2 great Tvs, robes, slippers to add to the experience. We were so sorry we were not staying for longer and would definitely love to go back. Go and experience!

Room Tip: Book a river view room (most of them are).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We visited the Ice House for a special occassion recently and enjoyed our night here! The food in the restaurant was excellent and definately worth the money! Our room was lovely and overlooking the river and we even got some sparkling wine and strawberries for our anniversary (nice touch). The staff were very nice and the service was excellent. The only complaint I have was when we were booking the room we were told that we had to book for 2 nights as it was the weekend! With rooms costing €200 a night we would not be able to afford 2 nights! They did however eventually reluctantly take our booking for the one night! Despite this we did enjoy our stay and I would recomment this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Had originally booked a room with a view of the river but ended up in one of the 'old' rooms which overlooked the road! A bit disappointing after seeing the other suites. The restaurant was very nice, food was exceptional and I'm not sure why people were complaining about.

The spa has a lot to be desired, there is no wow factor whatsoever & the hot tubs are not that hot, it's also quite awkward when people eating their dinner are looking at you hopping out in your swimwear to get in.

The staff are very friendly & the place seems very well run but just needs a bit more attention, I would definitely ask for the new rooms, unless you like to sleep in the 1800's....

All in all ok, the restaurant & friendly staff are without doubt the best part.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reviewer4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My b'friend & I stayed at The Ice House Htl for 1 night over the May Bank Holiday wkd. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from check in to check out! On arrival we were warmly greeted by the receptionist & swiftly checked in. Another lady helped with our luggage to our room without even asking! Our room was one of the Riverside Suites - which speaks for itself! Absolutely stunning location! Our room was spotlessly clean & beautifully decorated. It could do with some repair though- one minor flaw - the leather on one of the lounge chairs had a huge rip in it & should be recovered as it was a little off putting - it was the first thing we noticed on entering the room. As part of the package we booked we were brought 2 glasses of champagne to our room & it was really nice! We dined in the hotel bar. Waitress was warm & friendly & happy to recommend some other bars to try out in the area. Breakfast the next morning was superb! One of the best we've had! Gorgeous fresh fruit platter, prunes, selection of cereals, natural yogurt with fruit and nuts, warm scones, pasteries with jam and a separate hot breakfast menu - with had eggs benedict & smoked salmon with scrambled egg - delicious! Before check out we tried out the spa. The hot tub is just heaven, steam room & sauna were lovely. One regret - wish we could have stayed for another night! This hotel has everything cracked - topclass service, attention to detail, delicious food & most importantly - really excellent & knowledgeable staff! Wishing the hotel many more years of business, keep up the good work. We look forward to coming back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuggybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
7.6 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.7 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.9 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
9.1 km away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Property: The Ice House Hotel
Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing