We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel, wil stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitzgerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, wil stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed during the low season, weather wasnt great, but the hotel was a great price. We were shown to the room, and was great, and brought extra pillows! Beds were comfy, and the room was perfect temperature, with a nice view to the sea, bathroom was good and staff were excelent, i guess the owner was doing the breakfast cooking and was very nice and the food was cooked to perfection to get us started for the day,and very attentive. Hotel decor was different and very cosy, will definitely stay again when in bundoran.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    42
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
63
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Well... I just lost my review thanks to a browser anomaly. I'm always forgetting to copy and paste my review into notepad before I click submit in case something goes wrong. This review will be shorter now. The hotel is in the main street in bundoran. We were on a surf trip so were not bothered about the hotel once it was cheap enough. We were thus pleasantly surprised. It's was a small hotel and we seem to be the only guests. The room was a lovely big size and had a nice bay window overlooking the seafront. We enjoyed a bottle of vino here before going down for dinner. It was very nice. Gray and wet outside, but held a certain charm. The furnishings and fixtures in the hotel are dated. I would guess it has not been decorated or refitted since the mid 90s. It was clean though. The bathroom was again very dated (and small), old tiles/lime-scale old shower fitting over the bath etc. but.... the water was hot, and we were cold to the bone from the wet cold weather so it was perfect. scorching hot water.
The owner was a lovely man and we had a nice chat with him. There is a bar and restaurant in the back that opens from 6 till late. He told us to come early if we wanted to eat as it might be busy. The hotel was empty though, we saw no other guests. It turns out the little restaurant is very well run and attracts many locals. A good sign. The service and food were delicious. It's a quaint little bar/restaurant. They had no table immediately but this suited us, as we enjoyed some wine while perusing the menus. Breakfast the next day is not in the same restaurant. I get the impression the restaurant and bar is leased to someone else who runs it. Breakfast was in a small dining area to the front of the hotel. It was very B&B. It was ok. We were the only ones there. The food was average. toast egg coffee etc. I would stay again though if on an outdoor trip like last time. nice restaurant for the evening time, and large room with nice views. Dated, but cheap and friendly.

Room Tip: The owner is a lovely man, just ring and ask if you can have a room with a seafront view. I'm su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcgon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed as a group, 4 adults and one child in September 2011.
Cant fault the place. Efficent check in, rooms good standard, good service and atmosphere.
They have free tea and coffee in the stair lobby for all guests which is a handy touch.
They have secure off street parking.

The rooms to the front of the hotel will have great views over looking Donegal Bay.
We dined in the hotel one night and had a fantastic meal but please check with the hotel as I am sure if the restaurant is open ever night.
Will certainly stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macbunKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed there just one night, but would happily have stayed longer and done day trips from here. I think we were the only ones there, as the season was over and they were about to close for a short time to do repairs and painting, though where we could not see, as everything seemed very clean and well kept. We were given a huge bedroom ,with large modern bathroom attatched, right over looking the bay with breakers coming in. There was a road inbetween, so in the summer with lots of traffic it might be a bit noisy, but right now it was very quiet. Gerry "with a G" provided a lovely hot breakfast for us the next day. There was a lovely lounge that we wished we had time to relax in. When we arrived we asked to see the room, and he said they did not do that, but would refund the cost if we did not like it, which we thought was odd, but when we saw the room we were more than happy with it. Would glady stay there again.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the road right in front, and across the street was the open ocean, with a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked a table for 2 at Fitzgeralds on a Thursday night at the end of October. We were half expecting to be the only people in there as at this time of year Bundoran is very quiet. I had never been in the hotel prior to our meal and I was pleasantly surprised, it's a very warm and welcoming atmosphere as soon as you open the door. The gentleman that took our order could not have been any more informative/pleasant, from the specials on the menu to the wines available he was a wealth of knowledge. The food was absolutely delicious and if you are looking for a personal service and a fabulous dining experience, this is the place to go. The service and standard of food combined would be worthy of a Rosette.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Management and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful room overlooking the beach, the room itself was spacious, and cleaned to perfection.Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, don't hesitate!
Free parking at the back, breakfast tasty and plenty

Room Tip: if they are available, ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

On arrival, we found the staff were very friendly and courteous. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and any requests were acted upon by the staff with a very pleasant manner. The food in the restaurant was the best we have had on our staycation in the North West and we were pleasantly surprised by the wine list and selection of drinks at the bar. Staying at the hotel has restored my faith in holidaying in Ireland and we look forward to a return visit and have recommended to our friends.

Steve

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.3 km away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.6 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.0 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
9.2 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
26.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzgeralds Hotel provides 3* accommodation overlooking the picturesque Donegal Bay in the North West of Ireland. The comfortable and spacious bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi access; most enjoy spectacular sea views. The hotel’s Bistro restaurant has an excellent reputation for good food and fine wines at reasonable prices. Bundoran is the ideal base from which to enjoy sight-seeing and touring holidays of Donegal and the North West, including Counties Sligo, Leitrim and Fermanagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fitzgerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Bundoran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing