We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing although staff were very friendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Lisburn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing although staff were very friendly!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I write this review sitting in a very warm comfortable hotel room, Fortunately it's not the grand central hotel but the Raddison!!!!!! We got a groupon deal to stay for 3 nights at the grand central hotel, with our 10 week old and toddler, to find a COLD dated family room. We had to carry the pram up 3 different blocks of stairs ( all 5-10 steps) and down 2 in order to access our room which was shameful considering it was family accommodation!? we stayed the first night after layering up for bed and the next morning we headed for Sligo! I was disappointed because Bundoran has so much to offer in regards to the beach, amusements, dizzy dens, the farm and park etc but next time we'll not go by the pictures on a website which were clearly 10 years old but from word of mouth! I hope you find your experience a lot better I'd love to have liked it as I'm normally a positive individual. Staff however were very helpful & chatty!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    92
    58
    52
    92
See reviews for
96
138
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed in the grand central hotel for a weekend with my boyfriend following a voucher we purchased on groupon. On arrival there was a mix up with our room with someone already checked in under my name ans had signed under all my details. We were quickly given another room which initially the key card didnt work, so had to go back to reception. After finally getting into the room, it was Baltic cold as the windows had been left open. The reception was helpful enough though offering us another room if we were unhappy. We decided to stick it out as the heat was turned on. The room was so out dated with poor decor. The bathroom had a faulty shower which only seemed to have scalding hot water and a musty shower curtain. All be it the room was clean, you would have better comforts at home. The breakfast was adequate, limited selection. Not much buzz really about the hotel either. Overall this hotel was very average. We knew that we would not be getting 5 star or anything seeing as we got our weekend break via groupon but I was disappointed generally with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzlestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

had stayed previously at this hotel, it was ok. This time we booked five rooms for our party.
all rooms clean and very spacious the only complaint i had was the lift wasnt working and our rooms were on the six floor so we had to get an older members room changed as they were not fit for the stairs.
overall a good experience, i would definitely be back

Room Tip: top floor definitely to rule out noise. my mum was on the front on 2nd floor, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We went for 2nyts bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal.

At first glance we were not impressed, but once inside it was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is nice and cosy with a lovely bar, with really lovely and friendly staff.

We were told on arrival that the lift was not working and with a room on the 4th floor it was very daunting. The staff offered to bring our bags up to the room, but as 2 twenty something's we were more than able! The fouth floor was not that far, e.g. between the 2nd and 3rd floor there is only 4 stairs, so the lift not working was not a bother, and really we prob still would of took the stairs if it had of been working!

The room was a bit dated but was nice and comfy. Only bad thing was that the windows were decades old and let in a breeze as they did not close 2 well, but honestly not once were we cold durning r stay even thou there was gail force winds and rain outside... on a few occasions we opened the windows to let in come cool air.

We ate in bar that night and the food was delicious, would definately recommend to eat there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our bedrooms were all fresh and clean and newly refurbished. The tea tray was well stocked. The breakfast was good, plenty of everything.
We would definately stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveGalloDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is a little gem in my opinion. Our party of 12 booked 6 rooms with them for a weekend golf break. Despite this hotel being exceptionally cheap to stay in, it definitely punches above it's weight with a nice tidy hotel and rooms and with excellent friendly staff who were very accommodating. The morning breakfast was excellent also. Overall definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismagee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

we stayed here 25aug for 2 nights and cannot fault this hotel. Lovely Louise checked us in and was very helpful, heard her receommend the bar grub to someone and boy was she right !! the chicken wings are to die for as is the chicken goujon salad !! lovely and very fair priced ! Staff all over hotel were friendly and we were able to get glasses and jugs of ice whenever needed for our room !!
Central location, right on the main street and if you come main door and take 1st right takes you straight to the coast !! What more can you want ! our double room 303 had a double and single bed and was so comfy we did not wanna leave it !!
toilet was lovely and bath fitted 2 comfortably !!! ha ha
over all a lovely romantic break and a real nice hotel !
would visit again !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozza1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.6 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,035 reviews
0.1 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
359 reviews
0.1 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
22.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
22.1 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing