We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“hidden gem...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riversdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riversdale House
Ranked #8 of 9 Boyle B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

..something very special and unique about riverhaven! We booked four days here and were sorry we werent staying the week!
Cabin was very comfortable, extremely clean and well-equipped - great attention to detail. Quiet and peaceful setting but still very near Boyle, Carrick, Lough Key - loads to do within minutes.
We all loved it and will be back! Thanks again for everything John and Tina! Karen, Limerick (2ad 2ch - 10 & 12)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenk2011aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've just returned from a blissful one week stay in one of the log cabins at Riverhaven. The owners John and Martina (& son Martin) are warm, welcoming, informative, nearby (if needed) and genuinely keen to help you make the most of your holiday. The cabins are fabulous. Everything you need, high quality throughout, the location is idyllic near the river and lake with forest walks and access to a boat if you so choose. Lough Key forest park and activity centre is 5 mins away with great activities for children (and teens, especially Zipit!). Riverhaven is central to both Boyle and Carrick-on-Shannon when you feel the need to shop (or see people). Small shop (for essentials), lovely pub and authentic Italian restaurant all within walking distance. Overall, a fabulous location for a family/friends break. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire3027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Beautiful log cabin, exceptionally clean and of very high standard. Capable of sleeping 7 adults. Pity that it rained so much when we were there. Located about 10km outside Carrick on Shannon and probably a little shorter distance to Boyle. Very nice accommodation but very isolated. Playground was a slide and two swings which for my little girl was a little disappointing as she being only aged two could not go on either without my constant supervision. Would recommend this break for someone who needs a total break away from all the hustle and bustle of daily living and needing to wind down. For us, just a little too isolated and just not enough for the kids....no internet access was a bit of a downer too....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We went here with a few friends and stayed in a log cabin for the weekend. The atmosphere in the cabins is great with log fire. Martin brought us out on the lake, and we went to a cool place with a castle. Great hosts. Great cabins. Great weekend :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Pieux
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

'As welcome as the flowers in May' is exactly how each and every one of us felt in this hidden gem in the spectacular west of Ireland. Tina, John, Nora and Martin couldn't do enough to make our stay very special. Their attention to detail in the quality of their welcome is reflected in their fabulous accomodation. Only minutes away from Lough Key, with its boat hire, walks and activities for adults and kids alike, within walking distance of the pub/restaurant, Knockvicar village,with its grocery and post office, the houses are original, eco-friendly,beautifully-decorated, cosy (the wood burners are great) spacious and well-equipped - a real home away from home. We loved every minute of our stay and plan to go back on a regular basis. We can't recommend Riversdale enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

5 of us stayed for 3 nights at the Riverhaven Self catering village as a base for a couple of days fishing.

The Scandinavian style accommodation was clean, well presented and everything was provided that we could have hoped for. John and his wife Tina went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable and enjoyable.

The recommendations we received for local fishing and eating out were just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithmcilwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The log cabins are an absolute luxury. All amenities (shops, pubs, restaurants, etc) are a walk away, as is the wonderful lake. Rental of cabins include a boat for visitors to visit Lough Key. An ideal location for a family break with a childrens' play area outside. other great attractions and shopping areas are a short drive away. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. I've recommended this to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boyle hotels
1.9 km away
Forest Park House B&B
4.8 km away
Lough Key House
Lough Key House
#1 of 9 in Boyle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.2 km away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#6 of 9 in Boyle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
5.5 km away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
6.9 km away
Amber B&B
Amber B&B
#7 of 9 in Boyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale House

Property: Riversdale House
Address: Knockvicar, Boyle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing