We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
186
40
22
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
40
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomapple brandywalled gardenroaring firetasting menuworking farmblackwater rivervegetable gardenlambdining roomhome grownafternoon teahampleasure of stayingrolling countrysideoutstanding foodsteeped in history
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 257 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

As guests at a fairytale wedding at Longueville we were totally blown away. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with views over the valley. Food is amazing - all either from the garden or locally sourced wherever possible and you can taste the difference - vegetables taste like vegetables, Longueville sausage rolls tasted like no sausage rolls ever had before!
Staff and service were exceptional - the whole day set amongst smiles and warmth that made every guest comment on their professionalism and enthusiasm.
Longueville truly is a special place for a special day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was a true highlight of our trip. The views, service, gardens were fantastic. But the dinner and breakfast were unforgettable. The best part was touring the vegetable garden before dinner. The raspberries and lettuce were to die for. Then waking up in the morning to the most incredible views! The amenities in the rom were a bit outdated but I didn't really want to dry my hair anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzBob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We got married at Longueville House last week and it was perfect. Longueville is an idyllic country setting in the Blackwater valley, with stunning views and beautiful grounds which were great for an outdoor champage reception with lively jazz, for foormal and informal wedding photos and for children to explore and play. The house itself is grand yet welcoming, homely and relaxed. The conservatory was the perfect place for the wedding dinner and speeches, with views outside, and inside decorated to perfection. The food and wine at Longueville were beyond compare, William O'Callaghan is a culinary genius with his fresh produce from the farm. The service really made the whole experience for us and for our guests. Everybody spoke about how well looked after we all were, the staff (especially Evelyn who organised everything so well) were truly incredible, anticipating our every need and being so friendly and professional. We really could not have asked for a better wedding venue in terms of value for money, location, setting, food, wine and the staff at Longueville, and would recommend it to anyone as a perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ireland186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2011

A family luncheon for 20 was held in the conservatory this afternoon. The food and wines were excellent: all gourmet quality. Several small grandchildren were beautifully looked after by the kindly staff. A birthday dessert was served up with great panache. My wife was absolutely thrilled and delighted by the whole, memorable experience.++++++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkfish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Popped down for a short overnight stay as we felt in need of a bit of R&R. Must say made an excellent choice.
Only little hickup was they did not seem to know we were coming as there was no record of our booking, but this was quickly sorted out. Rooms are not ultra modern but warm cozy and with character. They are also as quiet as the grave and pitch black so a good nights sleep is a given.
The food is excellent with a very attentive but discrete service, delph and glass ware spotless. These guys are big into their apples, sort of a case of apples for everything but do try their homemade cider good stuff there I can say. Was not a big fan of their apple brandy though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews