We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful house, wonderful food....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longueville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful house, wonderful food....”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Badly in need of a reviving break, we stayed for one night at Longueville House and it was marvellous in every way. A beautiful room in the centre of the house, very welcoming staff, a wonderful dinner in the President's restaurant followed up by an equally fantastic breakfast and exploration of the grounds before we left.
It was the little touches that really made the difference - for example, having found out that the excellent black & white puddings served at breakfast were sourced by Longueville from a butcher in Kanturk, I mentioned that we were thinking of going out of our way to drive to Kanturk to buy some only to be offered instead some black & white pudding from Longueville's own ktichen, saving us the journey back to Kanturk. Now that's what I call service!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N16Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    35
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
95
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were attending a family wedding and after checking in we requested the lunch menu.
A selection of sandwiches was on offer that day and we ordered sandwiches for two people. We received six triangles of very poorly filled sandwiches, no presentation or garnish and when we received the bill we were charged Euro 15.00 for 3 slices of bread and some filling. We had two(small) glasses of house wine and these cost Euro 14.00.
The surroundings and hotel are very nice. Bedroom lovely and a very nice selection of food at breakfast, however the cooked food was cold at the self service table.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fem_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My partner and I had a magically romantic weekend at Longueville. Great setting and fantastic food. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranquilityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This family-run manor house hotel, with a five star restaurant, cannot be beat for value or experience. From the roaring fire in the sitting room, to the exceptional cooking, to the lovely grounds with acres of room for strolling, great rooms, there's just nothing be praise for the place. Its only an hour from two of Ireland's great golf courses (Old Head being one), has a nearby river for salmon fishing, a wonderful vegetable and herb garden, and a gaggle of friendly dogs willing to head out on walks. All of the food used in the restaurant are produced on site, including pork, beef, lamb and chicken, which roam on land far from the hotel. The owners are wonderfully welcoming, and the house has a story right out of Irish history well worth discovering. If you are in or near Cork or Kerry, you should seek Longueville out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

myself and my partner david have been staying here for years. aishling william and the team are fantastic. great food service and value for money. have never had a complaint to make even when they are really busy. top class , thorough professionals.imelda

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunting1Carlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

As guests at a fairytale wedding at Longueville we were totally blown away. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with views over the valley. Food is amazing - all either from the garden or locally sourced wherever possible and you can taste the difference - vegetables taste like vegetables, Longueville sausage rolls tasted like no sausage rolls ever had before!
Staff and service were exceptional - the whole day set amongst smiles and warmth that made every guest comment on their professionalism and enthusiasm.
Longueville truly is a special place for a special day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was a true highlight of our trip. The views, service, gardens were fantastic. But the dinner and breakfast were unforgettable. The best part was touring the vegetable garden before dinner. The raspberries and lettuce were to die for. Then waking up in the morning to the most incredible views! The amenities in the rom were a bit outdated but I didn't really want to dry my hair anyway!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzBob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleville Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charleville
689 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville House Hotel

Property: Longueville House Hotel
Address: Killarney road N72, Mallow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Longueville House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Longueville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Hotel Mallow
Longueville Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing