We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longueville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a family wedding at Longueville House hotel, Mallow, Co Cork and the entire weekend was a pleasure and runaway success thanks to Evelyn Lenihan and her team.
The dining menu is in season and fresh from the hotel farm including garden fresh vegetables, succulent spring lamb and the most exquisite desert selection. The cellar is stocked with every wine the palate could ask for and Longueville have recently added home made cider, jams and chutneys and these can be ordered from the contact details on the website http://www.longuevillehouse.ie/
The dining rooms, conservatory and series of regal reception rooms are perfect for weddings, birthdays, get togethers or corporate event. The basement has great acoustics for music and dancing the night away along with its own fully stocked bar and seating areas.
The accommodation holds true to the original character of the O'Callaghan home. Each room is individual and has views across stunning walled gardens and paddocks. Furnishings are antique and in keeping with the period of the house with all the trimmings and luxury you'd expect from a 5 star country estate. Bathrooms are large with double baths and power showers, linens are crisp and fresh with double thread count. Room temperature and toiletries are all up to standard.
Longueville is made for couples, families, get togethers, occasions, corporate events or individuals seeking a quiet relaxing break guaranteed to rejuvenate the mind and senses.
Longueville House offers game shooting, fly fishing and walks around the wooded estate grounds. The nearby Boggeragh and Nagle mountains offer hiking, mountain biking and hacking. The Duhallow hunt is one of the oldest in Ireland and the UK and visitors to Longueville can join meets throughout the season. There are point to point meets in the area off season.
The hotel is less than 30 minutes from Cork city and airport, Mallow race course is nearby and while visiting this area I would recommend visiting the Mitchelstown caves, Gougane Barra, Ring of Kerry, Lakes of Killarney and Gap of Dunloe.
I would highly recommend Longueville and would entrust Evelyn Lenihan and her team with any personal occasion or corporate event.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Blackwater suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Longueville House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you want to treat yourself to a special stay in Ireland, this is one fine place for it. The staff at Longueville House believes all the guests are royalty, and they are treated accordingly. We only had one night here, but could have stayed several, just relaxing and touring the grounds. The rooms and furnishings are simply grand, and the service is of the highest class possible. Wi-fi is included, as is breakfast. The grounds are beautiful, and there is plenty of room to just wander around. We had a wonderful evening meal, with drinks beforehand in the drawing room, in front of the fireplace. It’s difficult to imagine how anyone could find a more comfortable and luxurious surrounding. If you are not accustomed to this sort of lifestyle and cringe at the thought of spending as much on a meal as on an expensive hotel room, lighten up a bit and give it a try now and then. You will certainly come away from Longueville House satisfied with the experience.
I generally rate places on a more or less relative basis; you can’t compare a moderately priced B&B with a luxury hotel, although you can give either a 5 star rating. You can measure this one against Four Seasons Hotels, Adare Manor, and Ashford Castle. And be assured, Longueville House measures up quite well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at this magnificent Home last month. I term Longueville House as Home as this is how the proprietors, Aisling and Bill O'Callaghan made us feel. The accomodations are fantastic and the food is magnificent. I spent the 3 days exploring the grounds and photographed to my heart's content. The property goes down to the Blackwater River which in combination with the moody Irish skies are a photographers dream. I would encourage anyone traveling to Cork to spend at least one noght here to acclimate and rejuvenate. Michael and Cheryl Malone

Room Tip: View over the front of the house
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelm508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent hotel
Excellent staff, best customer service experence in Ireland
Food was just amazing so fresh and full of natural flavour and very well presented.
Service was amazing we felt like we were the only customers in the room, such attention to detail.
The breakfast was the best we had in any hotel - it was amazing

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

excellent house and grounds - loved the walk around. Maybe November'itis but no-one available to advise of walking route.

The Hotel room is best booked via blue rooms with dinner booked seperately as our combined 'offer' of 1 Night BB + dinner was more expensive than seperate bookings.....very frustrating.

Also watch the bill and tally as cusory maths are missing from the staff - perhaps they are too used to taking several 100's of euros and dont bother learning their own prices. We needed to correct then twice. The only staff available on checkout was a very junior waitress and lacked in confidence - despite asking for 370 euro for a one night stay.

Drawing room and Dining room service was excellent and food very good - a nice meal with very good ingredients indeed. Scones are a pleasure, as is the cider.

We would stay again but with no recent awards this house-hotel may be trading on better days and are taking their eye off the ball & detail.

Room Tip: The House is old and our room was very draughty - We expect that from a period house but we opted fo...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I have driven by Longueville House many times. We finally found an opportunity to spend a night. We attended there mushroom hunting weekend. And it was magic.

The house and grounds are all you could expect and more. Large, gracious and comfortable drawing rooms and dining rooms. Afternoon tea mad us feel like we had returned to a bygone era. The food and service were excellent.

Our room was magnificent, Twice as large as most hotel rooms with a wonderful view of the Black Water Valley. Rolling green fields with horses and mountains. It could have been a movie set. A lovely bathroom with an oversized tub for my wife and a great shower for me. Adult level sink and a table to set our gear on...something sadly lacking in many other hotels.

Dinner and breakfast were perfect. The food is really exceptional. Aisling O'Callaghan, the owner took the time to welcome us to her home and we were impressed with her warmth and that of of all the staff.

If you can find a way to visit Longueville House, do it.



We are already thinking abou

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrelandTourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I are just back and enjoyed a fabulous stay at Longueville House from start to finish. We also had our 22mth old daughter with us who was most welcome despite the fact that her little paws could be potentially damaging to all the lovely soft furnishings! We were made to feel 110% welcome....we even had one of the reception rooms to ourselves which meant our daughter could watch some TV and we could all relax without worrying about a toddler disturbing other people's experience. The house itself is really beautiful, a very relaxing place. The owners and staff could honestly not be any more friendly or accomodating, we were blown away. The place has a real sense of grandeur and homeliness without the "pomp" that some places of this standard often have. The food was spectacular, a real treat. The grounds are perfect for long relaxing walks. We will be back soon, very soon I hope.

Room Tip: We upgraded to suite as we had the little one with us....well worth it. The bathroom was big enough...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz_d1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
31.4 km away
Springfort Hall Country House
25.3 km away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
34.5 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
29.9 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,429 reviews
39.7 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville House Hotel

Address: Killarney road, Mallow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price Range: $312 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Longueville House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Longueville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Hotel Mallow
Longueville Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing