We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Kinsale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Kinsale”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed for 1 night in the Trident. The hotel is a little tired, with a late 70's feel to it, but the rooms were large and clean and the staff helpful. Good value for money, but not a very memorable stay. Right on the water, view of the harbor is through the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentEater666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear FrequentEater666,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that you stay was not more memorable. I am, however, glad that you felt it was value for money and that the staff were helpful. I am surprised that you found the view of the harbour was through the car park as our rooms are above ground level and offer excellent views.

I hope that you have a more positive experience should you return to Kinsale in the future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    334
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
162
500
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful. A short walk into town and right on the bay. We sat in our room and watched to fishing boats unload and restock. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was good. Our room was clean and bright but starting to show it's age. Would choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Susan H,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel and that you took the time to appreciate the views from your room - it can be very relaxing looking out over the harbour. I am also pleased that you found the food good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Having read some reviews about this hotel I couldn't beleive how good it was. Everything we encountered was simply wonderful. The picture window in the room overlooked the bay, The restaraunt food was tasty and well presented, the staff were a delight, and the bar food was good too. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FluffyTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear FluffyTBear,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel and your very positive comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to your liking.

I hope you will return again soon to the Trident Hotel.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and would defiantly recommend the trident rooms nice and clean nice ensure. Some parts of the hotel could do with a bit of a face lift, looking a little tired and outdated but would still recommend it. Good breakfast and dinner. The pool is located 5mins away in sister hotel Actons which is a disappointment and brings down the hotel I feel. Went only once as pool was extremely cold especially when you have children. The sauna steam rm was out of order and lockers for your stuff were broken. We would stay here again but not for leisure facility's

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badger982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Badger982,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the dinner and breakfast good. I am sorry that you did not find the leisure facilities to your liking in our neighbouring hotel but hopefully this will be addressed when the planned refurbishment is complete. I do know that there was a heating issue with the pool which has now been addressed.

Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we will see you in the Trident before too long again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Had a great view overlooking the bay (room 220). The staff were friendly and very helpful, I would agree that this hotel is a little tired looking, and I probably wouldn't class it as a 4* but it was clean and the beds were comfy. Good choice at breakfast, great location,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear KDDIreland,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Trident and that you appreciated the view from your room. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and food and the comfy beds.

Hopefully we will see you back in the Trident before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore East Co. Waterford Irl.
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

the food is good or there are alot of restaurant s near by which are all excellent.Kinsale is a place to chill out and wander through the little streets full of interesting little shops and art galleries

Room Tip: ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I can not say enough about this hotel, the staff, the food, the service, the view, the rooms. Everybody was so friendly and helpful. You wont be sorry if you stay here

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest opinion ... o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing