We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We stayed only one night at this b&b, but it was definitely a plece we would return to. The room was clean, the owner was friendly and extremely service-minded. The b&b is situated in a quiet residential area, but it is still only a short walk to the centre of the town. As seemed to be the rule rather than the exception in Irish b&bs, the shower was not at all good. There was only an on/off button, no way to increase the pressure. And the pressure was so low, it was like having someone pee on my head (this was really a challenge as I have normal long hair, and so we did not have time for breakfast). And it was difficult to find a comfortable temperature, it was either very hot or very cold water.

  • Liked — it was clean and quiet, with a service-minded and friendly owner
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpolkadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We were lucky to get this reservation on Easter Weekend. Great place, rooms were tiny but neat, and bathrooms fine. Breakfast was great, and met some new folks. Perfect for what we needed. Liked Phil and Molly her dog! Recommended.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mag121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Having got to Danabel we were very happy. Accomodation is in a very quiet residential area of kinsale. we had a lovely family room, quite small bathroom but no big deal..Although the first morning we got up for breakfast we had to share a 4 seat table with another couple, which was kind of strange.

now for the problem. i was suffering with walking difficulties, and booked this accomodation with the 3 minute walk into town reviews, ...no one mentioned the three minute walk was down a vertical hill!! once down the hill, everything was great, but i really think people should be warned about how steep the hill is. i would not recommend it to any elders put it that way!!...the upside is you can get a cab for 5 euros, but that is beside the point.

Anyway, although the place and the owners are lovely, i would pay the extra and stay in a b&b in the actual village around the marina as there are plenty.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — hill
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

While the location of the Danabel House is okay, just a short walk from town, that was really the only desirable thing about the property. The room was small, the bed was uncomfortable, and the only curtains in the bathroom were thin, lacy and see-through. It wasn't a really comfortable experience taking a shower feeling like we were on display to the neighbors! The owner was very stiff, unlike most Irish people we met, and we almost felt like we were imposing on her. On check-out, we were told we would have to pay cash for the room, despite the fact that the owner advertised both on her website and on her window that she accepted credit cards. This might have been a problem if we had not brought extra euros with us, and it definitely left us with one final bad taste in our mouth. In general, Kinsale was the least friendly place we visited in Ireland. Other than Charles Fort, which is just outside of Kinsale, we felt this stop in our vacation was not worth the time we spent. There is so much tourist business already that the restaurants are hard to get into, and the serving staff appeared rushed and unwelcoming. We won't bother visiting this town again.

  • Liked — The location was only a few minutes walk from town
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable bed and the unfriendly hostess.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandtravelin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kinsale hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2005

We loved the location of this B&B -- walk down a little pedestrian walkway and you're in the heart of Kinsale. The room was very clean with a comfy bed, but tiny! Just a bit of room to walk around the bed -- no where to set your luggage! The view from our window looked out over many roofs and trees, but we could see the tiniest bit of the harbor. The bathroom was clean but tiny and a little outdated. The biggest trouble with the room was that we couldn't get anything but piping hot water from the shower! We ended up skipping the shower altogether. Breakfast was fine and Phil was polite but not exactly friendly. Maybe we caught her on an off day.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2005

Danabel on Featherbed Lane, Sleaveen area of Kinsale, is elegant with cloth napkins & printed menus at the delicious daily Irish breakfast with so many choices. Phil (Philomena) Price was consistently gracious & helpful. We stayed with Mr. & Mrs. Price May 15 thru May 19, 2004. Without a doubt, we would return to this B&B.

Helpful?
10 Thank MGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2005

This is a great bed & breakfast that sits on a hill within walking distance of the downtown if you can make it up the hill after a visit to one of the pubs in town. It is run by a woman named Phil (Philomena) who keeps the place spotless. She serves a great breakfast, and is a gracious hostess with lots of good ideas for your stay in Kinsale.

We would definitely stay her again.

Helpful?
14 Thank nomar5955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 km away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#35 of 53 in Kinsale
166 reviews
8.1 km away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.6 km away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#10 of 53 in Kinsale
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
0.6 km away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
174 reviews
0.2 km away
The White House
The White House
#18 of 53 in Kinsale
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danabel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danabel Bed & Breakfast

Property: Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Address: Danabel 16 Featherbed Lane | Sleaveen, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Danabel Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Danabel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing