We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with Lovely Hosts”
Review of The Olde Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Bakery
Ranked #11 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Olde Bakery B&B in Kinsale for a night on our road trip through Ireland. Kinsale is a neat harbor town, albeit a little sleepy when we were there. It makes a perfect overnight spot, particularly if you are going to play Old Head (less than 20 minute drive from B&B) or head on to Killarney or Dingle. This B&B is centrally located near the restaurants and harbor (less than 5 minute walk). We didn’t use our car when we were there, so as other reviewers have mentioned, though B&B doesn’t have private parking, we found a spot within a few blocks of the B&B and it was a non-issue.

As for the B&B itself, it is run by an exceedingly warm, interesting older couple (Tom & Chrissie) with two friendly, little dogs (that are not allowed in the rooms or the kitchen). While it is in town in a very convenient location, it is on a quiet street, which makes for undisturbed sleeping. Our double room was large, clean and with a sizeable ensuite bathroom. A nice hairdryer was provided, which I always appreciate.

I agree with other posters that it feels like you are staying with relatives in their home. That atmosphere was a nice break for us, as it provided a personal touch and road-tripping in a different country can be a bit stressful. Tom provides solid restaurant recommendations, and they had by far the largest, best breakfast spread of anywhere we stayed! In sum, I would absolutely choose to stay at this B&B when passing through Kinsale again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Tom & Chrissie made us feel right at home. Chrissie welcomed us and found us a parking spot close by.Due to a cancellation, we were able to stay in the large room downstairs, which saved us carrying our bags up to the 2nd floor! The location is an easy walk into town and Kinsale has much to offer. We joined other guests in the kitchen for a delicious full Irish breakfast cooked by Tom~excellent fresh eggs and bacon and homemade breads.
Good value, can recommend you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the big room donstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed one night in a very cozy comfortable room. There was no parking but the owner moved his own car so that we could have a close parking space! There were no en suite rooms but we had our own bathroom down the hall that we used. Our breakfast was fantastic around one table where we chatted with our fellow travelers and the owner. He was such a character and a fantastic person to talk with!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinkgirl831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We sat around with Chrissie the first night there and learned all about her family and she was also interested in ours. It was like being with family. Our room was great and breakfasts were outstanding- all kinds of choices. It was an easy walk into the charming town of Kinsale. Also loved the dogs. You didn't even know that they were there. We would say it was in our top 3 bed and breakfasts on our 13 day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Great location just a few blocks from town center. Farmers market in town during the season with local fruit, veggies, cheese and more.
Good breakfast included with stay and hospitality is the key with Tom and Chrissey
Thanks Olde Bakery for a great stay in Kinsale !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcwilco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here only one night. Chrissie helped us park our car right in front and welcomed us in, even though she was rather busy with a group of guests. There is not a parking lot, but they 'save' spots for guests. Because of a reservation snafu, she did not have the rooms we had reserved (low floor and en suite bath), but gave us an excellent rate reduction to compensate. The rooms were on the top floor, but were a nice size and had lovely antiuqe furnishings and a good view out of the dormer windows. One was en suite and the other had a private bath in the hall; and 'dressing gowns'/plush terry robes were provided; so, no problem. The water pressure wasn't the greatest, but was adequate. Very comfortable beds. We arrived too late for the history tour, but the ghost tour was recommended, and we really enjoyed it: history and entertainment! We had a delicious meal at one of the recommended pubs and enjoyed wandering around Kinsale. The breakfast was delicious and ample, and the homemade scones were the best we had on the whole trip. You can order a cooked entree, as well as help yourself at the buffet. We enjoyed being at the table with other guests. The dogs and living area were pleasant and welcoming, and Tom gave us excellent directions to leave town. The location is very convenient, and not very far up hill. We were very pleased with this stay!

Room Tip: Book early, but be flexible. I think all rooms are probably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcarpe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Agree with every post so far. Gathered for breakfast around the large table, we met others form 5 different countries. Conversation was helped along by Chrissies introductions and took on a life of its own after that. The Olde bakery proves the maxim that "its the people who make it great" and Tom and Chrissie certainly do that. Convenient, convivial, central and cosy... all in all a highly recommended stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
997 reviews
0 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
0 km away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
0 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bakery

Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $101 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olde Bakery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing