We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, amazing staff.”
Review of The Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Landmark Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2015

This was a present from my two sons for our join 60th. birthday present. What a lovely time it was.
Room, location, view, food, value, were all great. However, there support and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. It is only when you have an issue that you really find out now good a place is, and having spent some forty years travelling the world both on business and pleasure I should know. I unfortunately had a punctured tyre on my hire car (these things happen and had nothing to do with the hotel). The desk staff immediately phoned the maintenance guy (Aden) who immediately changed the wheel over, and advised me where to go and have the vehicle repaired, and would not take and money from me for this service. What a service, I was so pleased, I could have kissed have kissed him. Both the wife and myself really enjoyed our time there, and please try the Thai Steak starter..............it is to die for.

Room Tip: Front room with great view across the Shannon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

262 - 268 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2015

Stayed 1 night in The Landmark Hotel. Front of house staff excellent. The girl from Manchester (sorry can't recall Name) was fantastic. Check in swift, rooms I feel need updating. They look a little tired at this stage. Breakfast was lovely, again woman fronting breakfast room was great. So friendly and welcoming. Although the rooms really need updating, I would stay here again due to friendliness and welcoming staff on site and location is great.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MCR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Staff - The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. They allowed me to check in early at 9am which was a blessing as I am suffering from morning sickness. All the staff we met were lovely, friendly and helpful and we could not fault them at all.

Room - We were checked into a family room - it had a double bed, single bed and a sofa bed. Room was clean but needed updating as did the bathroom - cracks all around the bath with water pouring onto the floor while using the shower and shower curtain. The bath/shower is tiny even to stand, I was unable to take a bath due to the narrowness of it. The room was absolutely freezing - reception turned it on once requested but then it stopped working again. There is only 1 power point besides the tv and kettle - there is no power points beside the bed so needed to ask for an extension lead to do some work on laptop.

Sleep - As we were beside a connecting room, we could clearly hear the couple speaking and hear the television also during the night which is not ideal when you have to go to meetings early the next morning. As the weather was bad, the wind was whistling around our window which drove us mad trying to sleep.

Food - Very limited choice for breakfast if you are a non meat eater and have allergies. Very little fruit choices and no choice of milks. As for juice, water, grapefruit and orange.
Bar food was overly priced for what it was and not a lot of choice - Quality of the food is average. The menu is the same and never changed so when you are here for 3 nights plus, you should really walk down the town for something different and less expensive.

Wifi - The internet connection in rooms is dire, thankfully I brought my own portable wifi. Don't rely on this if you need to get some work done.

Overall, I wouldn't return to this hotel as I have stayed in places much nicer for less money and better quality food. The only plus this hotel has is that the staff are very welcoming and caring. With some TLC to the rooms and more food options, this hotel could be a great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Attended a wedding in the Hotel on Valentine's Day and have to say it was a fab venue from start to finish! Obviously the bride and groom put a lot of thought into the food and the atmosphere of their day - but the way the hotel delivered it was brill! On arrival, there was the usual reception of tea, coffee, scones/jam/cream and biscuits....but also an added treat of champagne, a bottled beer or a hot whiskey! Other nibbles included sandwiches, wraps and slices of pizza - all of which were lovely! The meal itself was brill! I've been to a lot of weddings and it is the 2nd best meal I ever had at a wedding (1st being down in Clare). The starter was boxty on a bed of cabbage with a potato and black pudding crocheqette, followed by the smoothest and tastiest vegetable soup. Main course was a choice of stuffed chicken or stuffed sea bass...some of our table got chicken with majority getting the fish. The fish looked fantastic and I'm told was delicious. I got the chicken and it was fab! Good size portions and plenty of wine! There was a trio of desserts and tea and coffee. Loved 2 of the 3 desserts and that's the only reason why this meal is coming 2nd to the one in Clare - it was a tight call! Staff throughout were professional and helpful -white glove/silverspoon service. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Gmt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

What a place to have celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Family and friends. Local Hotel. Everything from drinks reception to meal to private bar for an almighty sing song that lasted a long time. Thanks Ann Murphy for giving us exactly what we wanted. Thanks to kitchen for wonderful meal.Thank you Paul for your music.Thanks to everyone that sang (free)Anyone reading this will have no idea the night we had.It was incredible

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

This hotel in s a good place to stay if you are visiting Leitrim or on your way to Sligo etc and want to stop and linger on your way. It is a newest hotel and has a good coffee shop, bar and restaurant. The rooms are of a good size and well furnished. Decent sized bathroom towels too!!! The coffee shop is a sun trap, and there is a good choice on the menu in the bar. Breakfasts cooked to order, which makes a change from luke warm buffets. Staff seem to be local so very helpful re directions and things to do etc. Town small but busy and there is, of course, the option of boat trips on the Shannon. Can get busy at week ends

Room Tip: Second floor with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lynda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I have been to this hotel a number of times so had no hesitation in calling again last week however I was disappointed this time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are lovely however the food on tis occasion was really disappointing and tasteless - how they can describe a few leaves of lettuce and half of a tiny tomato as a side salad is beyond me. The food was expensive and the quality poor

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Cathrynol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.3 km away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
470 reviews
0.1 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#5 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
166 reviews
5.4 km away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
897 reviews
36.1 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,293 reviews
39 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Hotel

Address: The Landmark Hotel Dublin Road, Carrick-on-Shannon N41 N9W4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $172 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Hotel is a boutique, elegant property, situated on the banks of the river Shannon in the picturesque town of Carrick on Shannon. The hotel is an independent family owned business established in 1999. It is a multi-award winning venue and popular with weddings, conferences, concerts and other events. It is also known for its excellent food offering and has a restaurant and cafe both open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Carrick On Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing