We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect choice for a large group”

Review of Sunnybank House

View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room Drawing room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room
Drawing room with open fire
Main hallway
Stairs leading to the first floor and 8 upstairs bedrooms
Library Room with integrated computer desk
Television room
Television Room
Dining Room- with 15ft Antique dining table which can seat 20
Kitchen- 6 ring hob- 3 ovens - 2 dishwashers- Ice machine
Kitchen pantry and utility room - with american fridge and freezer
Ensuite bathroom - Room 8
Pool and Sauna at dusk
Table and chairs outside back kitchen door near giant Weber bbq and herb bank
Gateway to Sunnybank House
Steps down onto Church Hill - 2 mins walk to the town square. 3 mins to private leisure centre
Driveway from the front door
Side gates, Tennis court and Car park from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne F
Watertown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect choice for a large group”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having often searched over the years for houses to accommodate an extended family, Sunnybank House is at the top of my list. The location is ideal, just steps down the hill from the lovely town of Clifden, within easy reach of groceries and shops. The owner, Shane O'Grady, maintains the house at a high standard--each of the 11 bedrooms and baths is equally comfortable, well furnished and scrupulously clean. The kitchen is well equipped in appliances, cooking equipment and dishes, intended to serve a large group easily. The living spaces are generous, the pool heated--in all, it is a house of great good spirit. Doirin Hickey of Connemaracooks prepared super meals, and 17 of us left feeling that we would return in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy H
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Wonderful vacation house!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had 20 old friends staying at Sunnybank, and we were amazed at how comfortable we all were. It is a great location, with a short walk to the village. Plenty of parking, tastefully decorated, and extremely comfortable,. Shane, the proprietor, was very responsive and always ready with help or answers. We also arranged catering with Gillian, and it was excellent. Clifden has plenty of shopping and is a great location from which to explore Connemara. We could. It have been happier!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayaseye
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for the week with a very large group. Shane was an excellent host, his wife had their baby the day we arrived and he made sure everything was ok at the house and checked in on us through out the week. The house is beautiful! Very close to town, it's maybe a 1-2 minute walk into town. Walking home is a little longer because of the hill, but it's beautiful! The rooms were all very nice, every room had a private bathroom, the beds were comfy, the kitchen table was perfect for games with the family. The kitchen was large, and it was nice to be able to cook dinner at the house. I know some of our group used the pool, it was a very nice looking pool. The landscaping is all beautiful and it's just so relaxing and charming.

The town is gorgeous and the people in the town are wonderful. We made great life long friends on this visit. We had excellent food everywhere we went. We stopped in Guys Bar as it belongs to Shane and the food was fantastic! One of the people in our group exclaimed that the fish was the best he'd ever had and we'd been traveling in London prior to Ireland. There is a little breakfast place on the hill going to downtown that has awesome crepes. I can't remember the name but it's the only breakfast place on the hill. Lowry's was a fantastic place to meet and chat with people it became our home away from home, and J Conneely's had wonderful music every night.

The house is perfectly situated, close to everything, just know that the climb up the hill from town is a killer after a few pints. We walked from the house to the Clifden Castle, the views were amazing. I would absolutely recommend this house and this town to everyone I know. Some of the kindest, warmest people I've ever met.

Thank you Shane for a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Completely beautiful, clean, separate bathrooms for each room, large kitchen table, enough space in the house for all 20 or so of us to be there without feeling like there were that many of us in the house.
Liked least: What I liked least would have to be the climb up the hill, and it's really not that bad, it's the only negative I could think of.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchie6...
Michigan
1 review
“Luxury, convenience and beauty with very charming hosts!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Eighteen of us stayed in this beautiful house that accommodated us perfectly. We could gather in groups in the many common areas or retreat to one of the eleven en suite rooms for some private time. However, there was so much to see and do in the area, that most of the time we were home was for sleeping, eating, a shower or a quick rest between trips. But how wonderful to have the luxury and convenience of this well furnished home and the town of Clifden a quick walk away for shopping, a meal, entertainment or banking. Highly recommend this house for the quality and the owners who were very easy to do business with and charming hosts as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: One dryer for all our laundry but we mentioned this and I believe they are working on it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was big enough that 18 people had plenty of room...LOVED that all bedrooms were ensuite...that sold us on stayiing there...all the comforts of home!!
Liked least: Wished our stay was longer!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendy E
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Amazing Time in Clifden at the Sunnybank House”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We just returned from our vacation in Ireland with a large groups of friends celebrating a 50th birthday. The Sunnybank house was perfect for our group. The house is extremely well appointed with everything you need for a great stay. Quick walk to town for all the great local restaurants, shops and pubs. We had wonderful weather while we were there and my husband actually used the pool! The house is also in a great location for day trips to all the "must see" places on the west coast of Ireland -- Cliffs of Moher, Kylemore Abby, Ashford Castle and Aran Islands. Shane was a wonderful host and we wish he and his wife the best with their new baby!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing