We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a superb location and accommodation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Anahorish Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anahorish Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Anahorish Cottage
Vaulted ceiling with skylight in kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Wood burning stove
Master bedroom and en suite
Double shower
Clifden only 5 mins away
Kingstown Bay North side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alison J
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a superb location and accommodation!”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A very beautiful location and lovely house too! All that you could need inside and lots more.

Beautiful clean linen and towels. Plenty of crockery, pots, pans etc. Heating if you need it.

Take midge spray if in season

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting right on the edge of the sea. Wonderful aspect.”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were blessed with good weather but regardless this would be a great place to stay and enjoy the area. Close enough to the town to use the amenities, and still enables you to get the best of the rural setting, so very close to the sea.
The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and served us very well during the short stay we had there. Gaining access was trouble free. Mary communicated everything to us that we needed to know and left a number in case of any queries, but we didn't need to trouble anyone as it was so well set up.
I'd definitely recommend it and hope to use it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks Shaun delighted you had a good stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We loved it and will return”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for eight days and loved it. The cottage is in a beautiful and calming spot, and the online description is accurate. The owner (Mary) was available via email or telephone before and during our stay, and she was always helpful.

The cottage has all of the basic household items that you will need for your stay. We were able to prepare and enjoy our meals on the days that we didn't go out for dinner. Dinner and a glass of wine or Guinness, overlooking the bay at sunset. Perfect!

On the days that we did go out, it is a15 minute drive to Clifden, using the picturesque Sky Road. The road is narrow and winding but the view is spectacular. There is a pullover stop on the Upper Sky Road where you can stop to enjoy the view and take pictures. Clifden is a fun town with lots of good shops, galleries, restaurants and pubs. And because there is no washer/dryer at the cottage, we used the launderette on Church Street and they were great! Same day service at a fair price.

This trip was our 4th trip from the US to Ireland.
We loved this cottage for its location and comfort. We plan to return next year with more family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5025emy
Forest, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Get Away!”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

My son and I stayed here In August and enjoyed every minute. It was perfect for what we where looking for which was quiet and visiting the country side. We were close to sightseeing and spent time hanging out playing games and relaxing. The view from the house is completely amazing- pictures don't do it justice. Some nights we lost track time due the long daylight and we were playing Uno late!! :) The owner was quick to helped us out when we first checked in and was confused about the key. All worked out. The house's design, furnishings & location could not have be better. I would recommend to friends and we hope to return. My son in particular loved the sheep and I made a friend with the cow across the way on the farm field. I am sure the farmer thought we had never seen animals before- ha ha. We took a lot of pictures. Hope we can return someday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Delighted that you had a good experience would love to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great service”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I stayed recently for 10 days, and absolutely loved it. Fabulous location right on one of the Atlantic inlets, with huge wall to wall picture windows giving 180 degree views. The interior has lots of lovely personal touches too - a string of lights along the windowsill, tea lights etc - which make it feel like home, not a holiday rental. And although the owners live 90 minutes away, we were very grateful to their local 'handyman', who was round in 5 minutes and immediately fixed a slight problem with the shower!

We loved the cottage so much we only ate out twice in Clifden - both times at Mitchells, which was excellent (booking's recommended, and for the best atmosphere get a table downstairs). Marconi looked lovely too, with a similar ambience to Mitchells, and we noticed that customers who Mitchells had to turn away were sent round the corner to Marconi.

Mary & Fergus, many thanks for helping to give us a fabulous holiday. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This beautiful cottage is in a gorgeous location, the view of the water from the picture windows was a constant draw and we were more than happy to settle in and absorb it all on the couple of very rainy days we had. It's a lovely cottage to relax in, rather than just being a 'base'. I don't think we have ever felt so relaxed in a holiday rental, this was a combination of the views and the cottage itself. Its a 15 min car trip into Clifden, with some lovely cafes and restaurants. We did a lot of cycling and running and it's a great location for exploring from in this respect. There is enough to do in the area if you can tear yourself away from Anahorish!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the cottage - a lot of love and attention has gone into it's decor and design (i.e. the picture windows onto the water view).
Liked least: Leaving, we felt quite sad!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing