We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Sophie's Bar & Bistro
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Shannon
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Pleasant bar area, good food and pleasant staff. Reasonably priced and competitive for area. Used by locals and visitors alike.

Thank skippy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Una_McMahon_Mng, General Manager at Sophie's Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you like our hotel Bar. Sophie's Bistro is very popular for it's food and service and I am glad that you like it. Our staff aim to please all of our guests even on the busy mornings and I am glad to read that they were helpful and polite to you. The hotel is ideally located 2 miles from Shannon Airport so convenient for your first or last night. Due to it's central location it is the perfect base to tour the Wild Atlantic Way. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2017

Warm wrap sandwiches, good size serving of chicken wings, Guinness, fireplace, comfortable chairs, quiet & peaceful---don't miss this escape from the rigors of travel

Thank valerie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Una_McMahon_Mng, General Manager at Sophie's Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear Valerie115
Many thanks for your lovely review and for choosing to dine at the Oakwood hotel.
Our hotel Bar Bistro offers a relaxing location to dine and our head chef has created an excellent menu to suit all tastes and is available until 9.30pm daily. As we are situated just a few minutes drive from Shannon Airport we are an excellent location to stop for something to eat if you have catching a flight or have just arrived into Shannon. Do drop by again soon we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017

We've left a review for the hotel bar dining in our review for the Oakwood Hotel, Shannon. Not bad for a hotel food.

Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Una_McMahon_Mng, General Manager at Sophie's Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for leaving your review on our hotel's tripadvisor page. it was very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous dinner for us all
Thoroughly enjoyed
Very Friendly & Helpful staff
Thanks Oakwood Hotel........

Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Una_McMahon_Mng, General Manager at Sophie's Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for joining us for Easter Sunday lunch Jackie and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. All our staff work very hard to make sure that all our guests have an enjoyable time with us and that they offer a friendly and efficient service. We serve a Carvery Lunch every Sunday from 12.30-3pm so we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017

good for eating solo or meeting friends or family or colleagues. Friendly staff who are there when you need something but otherwise let you get on with it.

Thank Atlantic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Una_McMahon_Mng, General Manager at Sophie's Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine with us on your recent visit to Shannon. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and that the staff here provided good service. The great beauty of our bar is the design of our private dining booths so your can feel comfortable if eating alone, yet there is still ample space to accommodation a small group of people. Our Bar Bistro menu has an excellent choice from starters ,main courses to desserts. All our food is cooked to order and our head chef likes to source his ingredients locally so that only the best is used in his dishes. We cater for a lot of family events here from christenings to special birthday parties. Our Spruce room is a beautiful location for a private family meal and it also has it own private bar. Our newly refurbished ballroom can cater for 300 guests for a banquet and is an ideal location for weddings and corporate events. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie's Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Shannon, County Clare
Shannon, County Clare
 
Shannon, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Sophie's Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;